Consumer Electronics Nokia E63 - Good or no good?

• Thread starter Thread starter tandino

I'm looking for opinions on the Nokia E63, for a potential purchase. You know, this phone:

nokia-e63-e71.jpg

(the one on the left, you may remember it's brother on the right, the E71)

I've read all there is to read about this phone on the interwebz, But god help me, I'm after opinions from someone I can trust. Specfically, someone who's used it for over 5 minutes. Anybody have/used either of these phones (because for all intensive purposes, they are as similar as the iPhone and the iPhone 3G) and can give me a heads up on what they are like? Web, email, messaging, keyboard, battery life, multimedia, camera, you know the works.

Hey mate,

I have one with MSN messenger+email, all works pretty flawlessly. Was able to take pictures at the footy and be able to read the scores from across the ground with it (yeah yeah i have no camera). Keyboard is average, curved buttons make it a bit easier to type with atleast. Also battery life is quite rediculous, best part about it.

If your not some tech freak who always must have the best latest phone and just want something good and cheap i'd get it.

I'm thinking about getting one of these Nokia phones, and maybe through Virgin Mobile? Virgin seems to be quite a lot cheaper than other carriers? Does anyone know if the service through them is pretty poor, even for decent phones like E63 or E71?

Really good phone.

OK web browsing.

Annoying how u have to download heaps of stuff though.

Good camera.

V good email.

Key board keys a little small but managable.

Only major disadvantage is less than average battery life

Extreamly good for its very suprisingly low price tag

8.5/10

Friend has one and said it is great. I am looking for a phone as well. I think Virgin is good (it runs on the Optus network). They currently have a 3 month free deal online for $29 plans. The E63 is on a $19 one.

You may want to wait till Christmas + the E72 is being released in a week or so (so prices should come down).

Good news all around then.

I'm pretty much after it for the usual stuff. Phone calls and messages, email, internet, facebook, applications, possibly tethering while i'm at work.

It's sitting at $199 prepaid at 3 and Virgin, it's probably as low as it's going to go at the moment. Looks like some lucky guy will make an easy sale tomorrow.

Thanks guys.

(Chieftain, I think this concept has legs.)

The E71 is great, can't believe how long the battery life is, lasts me most of the week and I use my phone a fair bit. Web browsing is average, and the keyboard is alright.