Norm Smiths Top 10

Norm_Smith

Draftee
Sep 29, 2006
1. Bryce Gibbs - Carlton will be a laughing stock if they dont pick him and he becomes the champion he's bound to be.

2. Scott Gumbleton - Exactly what Essendon will be looking for in the coming years. A versatile big man who could slot in at either end of the ground when Fletcher and Lloyd retire.

3. Lachlan Hansen - The next best avalible. This kid will be a star.

4. James Sellar - I can see the Lions taking this kid. Exactly what they need really with no key back of note now Michaels gone and can help Bradshaw up foward.

5. Matthew Leuenberger - Will become one of the most devestating ruckman in the league in years to come.

6. Leroy Jetta - This is my pick im not sure about but i reckon Hawthorn need someone like Jetta to top off their midfield. They dont really have a flashy, gamebreaking midfielder and Jetta could be the man.

7. Mitchell Thorp - A CHF/FF combination of Hawkins and Thorp in the future will be to enticing for Geelong to ignore, Although im not sold on Thorp. To much like Mark Bolton for my liking.

8. Joel Selwood - Exactly what the Pies will be after and will be stoked when he falls this far. Will be a marquee player of the future.

9. Nathan Brown - St'Kilda will take this kid beacuase of their ageing spine. Will be a great replacement for Maxy Hudghton. A great contester in the air.

10. Jack Riewoldt - Collingwood are extremely keen on this boy trust me. They will be hoping like hell St'Kilda dont take him at 9.

Norm_Smith said:
1. Bryce Gibbs - Carlton will be a laughing stock if they dont pick him and he becomes the champion he's bound to be.

2. Scott Gumbleton - Exactly what Essendon will be looking for in the coming years. A versatile big man who could slot in at either end of the ground when Fletcher and Lloyd retire.

4. James Sellar - I can see the Lions taking this kid. Exactly what they need really with no key back of note now Michaels gone and can help Bradshaw up foward.

5. Matthew Leuenberger - Will become one of the most devestating ruckman in the league in years to come.

6. Leroy Jetta - This is my pick im not sure about but i reckon Hawthorn need someone like Jetta to top off their midfield. They dont really have a flashy, gamebreaking midfielder and Jetta could be the man.

7. Mitchell Thorp - A CHF/FF combination of Hawkins and Thorp in the future will be to enticing for Geelong to ignore, Although im not sold on Thorp. To much like Mark Bolton for my liking.

8. Joel Selwood - Exactly what the Pies will be after and will be stoked when he falls this far. Will be a marquee player of the future.

9. Nathan Brown - St'Kilda will take this kid beacuase of their ageing spine. Will be a great replacement for Maxy Hudghton. A great contester in the air.

10. Jack Riewoldt - Collingwood are extremely keen on this boy trust me. They will be hoping like hell St'Kilda dont take him at 9.

Id expect us to take one of proud or armitage if they are available at 10

Hells K1tch3n said:
Id expect us to take one of proud or armitage if they are available at 10

I think you'll take 1 mid and 1 tall with your first two picks. If you get Selwood wit pick 8 I'd be surprised if you didn't go for a Riewoldt/Brown type.

Norm_Smith said:

Errr...... Wrong

Selwood may drop to 8 only depends on what brisbane and geelong do.Brisbane might pick up him up or go for a kpp like sellar or Thorpe because they have to cover the loss of leppitsch and michael.Geelong don't really need selwood but they might pick him up because they picked travis varcoe last year who is simialr to Jetta.However if geelong don't pick up Selwood the Pies will definately will pounce .Cretain players may slde depending on what each club needs.

Norm_Smith said:

I think the gap between Gibbs and Leuey going number one is getting closer and closer. I'll be happy with either to be honest.

Norm_Smith said:
Errr......Right. I no they've spoken to him at least 3 times.
Silly boy, you can't even spell KNOW

Oh and by the way, no you don't, you just made it up to try and make yourself look half intelligent

Murray said:

Oh and by the way, no you don't, you just made it up to try and make yourself look half intelligent

What are you? A bloody english teacher?

So you know that Collingwood arn't keen on him?

BTW I thought it was a really good top 10, pretty much on the money.

Norm_Smith said:
If the cats did make this selection I think they might (at least initially) be looking at him as a long term CHB prospect. That would give them the center line, after harley and scarlett retire, of

FB: Matthew Egan
CHB: Mitchell Thorp
C: Jimmy Bartel / Gary Ablett / Paul Chapman (well someone like that in the guts anyway)
CHF: Nathan Ablett
FF: Tom Hawkins

That doesn't look too bad, if potential is met, so would just need to get the players to go around them.

mad-saint-guy said:
I think you'll take 1 mid and 1 tall with your first two picks. If you get Selwood wit pick 8 I'd be surprised if you didn't go for a Riewoldt/Brown type.
two mids, no riewolt.

Norm_Smith said:

i would have thought J. Brown would have been adequate

Murray said:

Well d*ckhead i do KNOW for a fact. I am very good mates with him and KNOW for a fact they have called him at least 3 times.

So shut your mouth until you put yours up

Norm_Smith said:
Well d*ckhead i do KNOW for a fact. I am very good mates with him and KNOW for a fact they have called him at least 3 times.

So shut your mouth until you put yours up
Yes, of course you are :rolleyes:

*PAFC*13 said:
What are you? A bloody english teacher?

So you know that Collingwood arn't keen on him?

BTW I thought it was a really good top 10, pretty much on the money.
obviously english isn't one of your strongest subjects :rolleyes:

Murray said:

Murray, pull your head in.

Why would this guy make up something about Riewoldt? He is the only player he is claiming to have inside knowledge on.

Just to get something clear, you know nothing about the Pies recruiting strategies, so dont you claim you do.

The attack on the grammer was a cheap shot because you aint go any more material.

Murray said:

Mate, seriously, what is the deal with constant pessimistic/glass half empty point of view on every single topic that appears on BigFooty?

People should be allowed to vent their views without you attempting to shoot them down for it every single time.

It's getting a little repetitive.

Decent top 10, but...

Collingwood will not pick up Selwood at 8 because he won't be there. Will go before pick 6. One of the best in the draft. I hope he is there...

Collingwood will not pick up Riewoldt at 10 if still there.

Leuenberger will be picked up in top 3, maybe even number 1 according to some who seem to know.

Murray said:

Go jump back in the pit you came from scum. I am very good mates with him and i'll b happy to send you photos to prove it.

Getting back to the footy with ackland now at carlton could leuenberger be a chance to slip down the order???

David_Brent said:
Murray, pull your head in.

Why would this guy make up something about Riewoldt? He is the only player he is claiming to have inside knowledge on.

Just to get something clear, you know nothing about the Pies recruiting strategies, so dont you claim you do.

The attack on the grammer was a cheap shot because you aint go any more material.
Is that because posters never make stuff up on Big Footy?

And it's "haven't got" not "aint go"