Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Flat Track Bully said:
Matt Trewhella has re-signed with Mansfield, as has Josh Walker despite nibbles from some O and M clubs.

Chris Atkin's is believed to be weighing up an offer from Wangaratta.

Lachlan Veale to be unveiled as a Shepp Swans recruit within the fortnight.

Atkins will be playing with kyabram this year, he will play the first couple of games, take off oversees for a bit and will be back with 5 or so games tog o in the year.

Duff Man said:
Speaking of Shepp Swans, has anyone got any news on other signings they are likely to secure for next year.

There was heaps of talk about a month ago that they were securing some big names with the assistance of Crazy Johns, but nothing seems to have happened.
Did I read somewhere that Crazy Johns were going to be major sponsors of the GVFL? If so, how are they able to sponsor an individual club like Shepp Swans, is it a conflict of interest, are the league trying to help out the "other" Shepparton side that has a lower profile than United & Shepparton?

No Heart said:
Thats a tough one there to answer Aussie dude because it comes down to a couple of things,1st you can only spend what your budget allows you to spend, and 2nd what the players are willing to play for.this is a very touchy subject and as much as we all read clubs are throwing money here there and everywhere it is not all ways the case. Dont be surprized if seymour 2005 premiers and euroa paid just as much money in 2005 as a couple of teams that finished of the pace ,its a known fact that most the bullant boys followed stevie d up to seymour and played for less money so they could all stay together and try and win a flag.Euroa is in the same boat again Clayton , janz , sage all they wanted to do was play in a good comp and play with there mates,Janzy had every club in melb chase him but at the end of the day it wasnt money that won, it was the chance to play in a great comp
with freinds.So if you can get the right people in the right high places they will bring the right players for the right money and then when you do all that, then you will be told by everyone around that your [throwing the money around] its a shame that clubs dont get the credit at times that they deserve,and im sure neither of the grandfinal teams spent $150,000.

here here. very well put and very true.

Chris Atkins is going back overseas for the first half of the footy season, not thinking of going to wangaratta. He will be back to play for ky then

TuskenRaider said:
Did I read somewhere that Crazy Johns were going to be major sponsors of the GVFL? If so, how are they able to sponsor an individual club like Shepp Swans, is it a conflict of interest, are the league trying to help out the "other" Shepparton side that has a lower profile than United & Shepparton?
My understanding is that Crazy Johns take on various footy players as employees and then tell them where there going to play. ie - if you want to work for me then I'll tell you where your playing.

The head dude at Crazy John's then works out a deal with clubs to flog his mobile phones to their members / supporters etc, and then tells the player thats where he's going.

This sounds hard to believe, but I heard that Jeremy OBryan (Bears) was told by Crazy John he would be going to Swans in 2006. Swans then completed the 'notice of intention to interview a player' and the Bears cracked it big time. The Bears then said if your gonna do that, then we'll fill out 10 notices to interview 10 Swans players.

In the end, the notice was withdrawn and OBryan will stay at Bears.

I agree that it is a weird arrangement to sponsor the league and then try and place these 'employees' at one club.

Duff Man said:
My understanding is that Crazy Johns take on various footy players as employees and then tell them where there going to play. ie - if you want to work for me then I'll tell you where your playing.

The head dude at Crazy John's then works out a deal with clubs to flog his mobile phones to their members / supporters etc, and then tells the player thats where he's going.

This sounds hard to believe, but I heard that Jeremy OBryan (Bears) was told by Crazy John he would be going to Swans in 2006. Swans then completed the 'notice of intention to interview a player' and the Bears cracked it big time. The Bears then said if your gonna do that, then we'll fill out 10 notices to interview 10 Swans players.

In the end, the notice was withdrawn and OBryan will stay at Bears.

I agree that it is a weird arrangement to sponsor the league and then try and place these 'employees' at one club.

Plenty of holes in that theory champ. Isnt Jezza an employee of the GVFL?? Therefore how could the guy who runs crazy johns possibly tell him where to play? Bit far fetched...

fat back pocket said:
here here. very well put and very true.

Of course they spent that much. There is no way they could field those sides for anything less than $150,000.

a.k.a. said:
Plenty of holes in that theory champ. Isnt Jezza an employee of the GVFL?? Therefore how could the guy who runs crazy johns possibly tell him where to play? Bit far fetched...
Correct - Obryan is an employee of GVFL and it is a hard story to swallow. But I can tell you that Eric Bott was also involved in the discussions once things got a bit heated at the Bears.

If you know anyone at the Bears, they will be able to tell you that the Swans wanted to interview Obryan and it was all driven from some arrangement whereby he is also linked with Crazy Johns.

bradrowe#32 said:
So they spent about $300,000 then? :D

Is that the amount rochy has spent over the past 150 years? :p

Thats probably too much.

Although they did have Johnny Mac for a year there. He would have swipped half of that. The son of a bitch.

Couple of Rumours:

Brown - expected to go to Rochester, NOT Happening, staying put.

Swans - recruited 3 VFL players as a package, 1 from Williamstown and 2 from Coburg.

Tige19 may be able to fill us in on some names there.

Digby Morrell signed with Mooroopna. That's the word comingout of the Cats camp today. Now they have certainly forked out some cash if that's the case. Someone has suggested up to five blokes on more than $1000. That's Mansfield like.

Be interesting to know how true the rumour is.

Have not heard this about the cats, although i did hear that singh is making his decision by the end of the week, stay with the cats on the money he wa son last year, or leave. Cats are not going to bow to his request for more money.

If singh falls through maybe morell could squeeze in, if singh stays, no chance with morell.

centreman said:
Digby Morrell signed with Mooroopna. That's the word comingout of the Cats camp today. Now they have certainly forked out some cash if that's the case. Someone has suggested up to five blokes on more than $1000. That's Mansfield like.

Thats big news. I thought maybe he could have had ties with Euroa or someone associated with the Bullants boys. Also would know Clayton from his time at North.

He would do well as a CHF/FF in the GV.

fat back pocket said:
Couple of Rumours:

Brown - expected to go to Rochester, NOT Happening, staying put.

Swans - recruited 3 VFL players as a package, 1 from Williamstown and 2 from Coburg.

Tige19 may be able to fill us in on some names there.

First on Singh, Moroopana have told him he has to take a bit of a paycut to stay at the club, with Normo taking a massive chunk out of the bank for the cats. Morrell has no chance what so ever of playing footy with Moroopana unless Singh goes and Balkey Campbell takes a pay cut, Morrell would be a gun in the GV and would command 1300+ a game plus his sign on.

RE Shepp Swans - Good mates with the Lochy Veale and he is just about over the line with the Swans i think just waiting on some confirmation with work but 99% sure he will play there (after knocking back my advances to get him to Tatura). With the Coburg boys i can pretty much say that it wont happen, although im not involved with the club anymore i pretty much know all the boys and am sure i would have heard something.

Stay tuned with Tatura, all the talk about Moroopana and Swans signing a few blokes, expect an avalanche when Tat decide to release names to the paper.

cheers lads

tige19 said:
Stay tuned with Tatura, all the talk about Moroopana and Swans signing a few blokes, expect an avalanche when Tat decide to release names to the paper.

cheers lads
Tatura are "talking the talk" but how about they start naming some of these brilliant signings they are supposedly getting for next year. I consider ex AFL players to be big signings, not a few duds out of the EDFL.

And Lochlan Veale well he's spent two years on AFL lists and then one in the VFL and never played a senior VFL game, plus had an injury history, he deserves a bit of luck and hopefully it works well if he heads up to Shepparton but he could be an overpriced signing if they haven't been careful.

centreman said:

Look at this link from Oct 27th and tell me if the rumour is still true or not.

http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=235478

footyman said:
Tatura are "talking the talk" but how about they start naming some of these brilliant signings they are supposedly getting for next year. I consider ex AFL players to be big signings, not a few duds out of the EDFL.

This is why i ask the question about money. im from the EDFL and Tatura are offering some of my mates big money to play there in 2006. These blokes were VFL players, and good players, but not worth the money they are being offered. One bloke is arron willaby, the tatura offer is massive and he is only worth $350 in my league. I heard the Tatura offer was more like 500 plus sign on.

If these clubs are playing these blokes, this type of money, they must pay $150,000+. Maybe Seymore dont but i reakon Mansfield and Tatura do.

tige19 said:
First on Singh, Moroopana have told him he has to take a bit of a paycut to stay at the club, with Normo taking a massive chunk out of the bank for the cats. Morrell has no chance what so ever of playing footy with Moroopana unless Singh goes and Balkey Campbell takes a pay cut, Morrell would be a gun in the GV and would command 1300+ a game plus his sign on.

Cats should tell Harbajan to hit the road obviously he aint a team player, I sure do hope to christ that $1300/sign on talk is much much over the odds. Again I say with disappointment, clubs that continue to shell out coin like this are contributing to the demise of country footy - soon 17-18 year old kids will have their hands out before they commence a pre-season.

tige19 said:

Cats should tell Harbajan to hit the road obviously he aint a team player, I sure do hope to christ that $1300/sign on talk is much much over the odds. Again I say with disappointment, clubs that continue to shell out coin like this are contributing to the demise of country footy - soon 17-18 year old kids will have their hands out before they commence a pre-season. I guess the days of loyalty and the love of the game or more importantly one's club are gone forever :(

footyman said:

Would have expected something more out of you than that pathetic dribble mate. And the duds out of the EDFL are quite handy 1 of which played only 1 season there a few years back in a premiership, the other is playing the summer in NTFL in Darwin, hardly duds mate.

Next time i want to know something about a young player coming through the under 18s ill ask there regional manager not some "dud" who "thinks" he knows if there any good.

cheers

fat back pocket said:
I can tell you for a 100% fact that Seymour did NOT spend near that much!

What is your official role at Seymour other than player?

fat back pocket said:
Is that the amount rochy has spent over the past 150 years? :p

Thats probably too much.

Although they did have Johnny Mac for a year there. He would have swipped half of that. The son of a bitch.

Haha, sounds about right. I never got to see big Johnny Mac, which is a shame.

Interesting about Brown. I heard just over the weekend that the move was still on.

tige19 said:
Would have expected something more out of you than that pathetic dribble mate. And the duds out of the EDFL are quite handy 1 of which played only 1 season there a few years back in a premiership, the other is playing the summer in NTFL in Darwin, hardly duds mate.
cheers
Hahaha, the low blows from tige19! Ouch they hurt.

I'm sure Tatura will do well with what they get from the EDFL don't get me wrong, and the players I'm aware of will be good GV players, but I hardly expect them to create "an avalanche when Tat decide to release names to the paper" as you said tige. The paper would be more interested if the list of names includes some VFL or ex-AFL experience.