Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Not upset at all. I just think your logic is hilarious.

Allow me to give you some examples:

1. Maragatang don't pay any players, except for one bloke who lives an hour away. They decide to give him $30 for petrol money. Guess what? They are buying flags!

2. Inverloch pays all their players $40 per game. The players usually pay it back to the club over the bar anyway. Guess what? They are buying flags!

3. Portland decides to throw a testimonial for a 300 gamer. He has never taken a cent in his life and no one else in the team gets paid. But guess what? They are buying flags!

You're just carrying on now.

So what's your cut off point before clubs are "buying a premiership" Brad? 5? 7 players? Have you worked out the exact number? Because you seem more than sure of yourself when it comes to this matter.

I wouldn't be calling too many clubs an embarrassment to the competition if they're down for a few years either. Every club takes their turn over time.

I think we all know it's pretty obvious when teams are doing it.

1. Maragatang don't pay any players, except for one bloke who lives an hour away. They decide to give him $30 for petrol money. Guess what? They are buying flags!

2. Inverloch pays all their players $40 per game. The players usually pay it back to the club over the bar anyway. Guess what? They are buying flags!

3. Portland decides to throw a testimonial for a 300 gamer. He has never taken a cent in his life and no one else in the team gets paid. But guess what? They are buying flags!

Brad, suck it in mate!

Go for a walk around, take deep breaths, phone a friend.

Your replys are starting to waver a little bit.

Brad, suck it in mate!

Go for a walk around, take deep breaths, phone a friend.

Your replys are starting to waver a little bit.

Get used to it sparra. Most of Brads replies fall into this category. All he ever does is bag out clubs that recruit from outside their local area and pay them. He just goes round and round in circles to the point of getting dizzy.

I have no doubts you are referring to the likes of Seymour Brad. The club endured one of its lowest periods on field around '02 & '03. A group of passionate committee and supporters decide to do something about it so they go out and recruit a number of players to compliment the local guys that were getting ready to play elsewhere as they were sick of getting flogged each week. All of a sudden the club becomes successful and potential new recruits want to come and play for Seymour.

Don't see too much wrong with the direction Seymour has taken but hey, you're the guru of recruiting and paying blokes Brad so I'm probably wrong.:rolleyes:

Had some beers with a few Tatura boys over the weekend and word out of the kennel is Malcolm Knoble is quiting as coach, apparently he has lost the support of everyone. Paul "Hair" Serra will be taking over the top job.
From reports i have heard has never had the support from day one when he was bought over with alot of promises and was given no support from the club

Doesn't Portland pay coaches?
Not sure why you mentioned the other 2 because clearly Inverloch pays their players, Maragatang seems to pay as well. It doesn't matter what you call it, petrol money, incentive, its still playing.
Do you smoke too much grass Brad?
Seems you dont know how to draw a line!
Ill put it simple for you. It doesn't matter how little or how few a club pays players or coaches, the fact that they pay something means they are paying. And when someone is paying for something whether it be an item or service its is buying, not giving (your the one who brought up charitry).
As Ive said before it also doesn't matter if the intentions for the club is to win a Premiership this season or in the future, by spending money on players and coaches they are trying to buy a Premiership.
Pay to improve your clubs chances to win a Premiership = buying a Premiership.
Every club does it Brad, stop carrying on like a fool just because anouther club does it better than yours.

I think you have missed the point. We arent worried about it, we are having a laugh about it. Let them spend up and in the small window they have to win a premiership, go for it.
GVFL has to be sustainable to all clubs. Is this level of spending sustainable? In the short term probably but long term not a chance.
I
What comes around goes around for all clubs Giggly Girl.
Not sure why you would laugh at Seymours spending up?

If the points system was introduced this year or next year, how many clubs palying list would be under 38 points?
Based on 4 points for an AFL drafted player, 3 points for a VFL player, 2 points for a player coming from a major league to major league and 1 point for a local? Minor league to major is still 1 point.

If you look at the points system being introduced in the next few years, the number of recruits would have to be less to the league but the quality could be higher as you could potentially have Either a Licuria or a Clement. Probably not both unless everyone else is local.

I think what some us of are trying to say is that GV Footy is still local footy.

PS _ Based on points system I would think with Lenny, Loughman, Whitsed, Ash Watson ( local so not sure where this would fit in) and a couple of others Rochester may have recruited that they would struggle to fit under the points system at present.

I honestly think the points system will be introduced sooner than later or we will end up with an English Premier League scenerio where the strongest 4 clubs are always contesting the finals and they are the same 4 clubs every year.

If the points system was introduced this year or next year, how many clubs palying list would be under 38 points?
Based on 4 points for an AFL drafted player, 3 points for a VFL player, 2 points for a player coming from a major league to major league and 1 point for a local? Minor league to major is still 1 point.

If you look at the points system being introduced in the next few years, the number of recruits would have to be less to the league but the quality could be higher as you could potentially have Either a Licuria or a Clement. Probably not both unless everyone else is local.

I think what some us of are trying to say is that GV Footy is still local footy.

PS _ Based on points system I would think with Lenny, Loughman, Whitsed, Ash Watson ( local so not sure where this would fit in) and a couple of others Rochester may have recruited that they would struggle to fit under the points system at present.

I honestly think the points system will be introduced sooner than later or we will end up with an English Premier League scenerio where the strongest 4 clubs are always contesting the finals and they are the same 4 clubs every year.
So is Giggly Girl now saying further to you quote "GVFL has to be sustainable to all clubs. Is this level of spending sustainable? In the short term probably but long term not a chance." will be sustainable long term?

Im not sure I agree with the points system there GG. The larger towns would have an advantage with towns like Euroa and Rochester strugling to have the home grown tallant to fill the majority of the list?
Too many floors in the system as well.

Hang on. A couple of people suggest that you are 'buying flags' even if you spend just a couple of dollars on a player, and I show it to be as stupid as it really is, and I'm the one carrying on?

Interesting.
Sorry bud but I must agree with them. Spending money, even little amounts does mean buying.
Its a fact, you cant win a premiership without buying one and all teams want to win the Premiership.

Re: Move interstate to QLD ??

Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle which includes playing for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership. One of the top 5 clubs Australia Wide for players drafted.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which have now been resolved but have found ourselves slow out of the blocks from a recruiting point of view. The club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level and would like to take the oppurtunity to live in QLD and play in the AFLQ.

You guys financial again?

Euroa are holding a night series with Benalla, Wangaratta Rovers, North Heidelberg, Bundoora and Vermont all involved. Starting the first weekend in March.

Somebody up there keep us all posted with dates, times etc please, would be worth a look I reckon

I hope your not talking about Portland in the Mt Gambier compitition because if you are it shows how little you know about football!

Get used to it sparra. Most of Brads replies fall into this category. All he ever does is bag out clubs that recruit from outside their local area and pay them. He just goes round and round in circles to the point of getting dizzy.

I have no doubts you are referring to the likes of Seymour Brad. The club endured one of its lowest periods on field around '02 & '03. A group of passionate committee and supporters decide to do something about it so they go out and recruit a number of players to compliment the local guys that were getting ready to play elsewhere as they were sick of getting flogged each week. All of a sudden the club becomes successful and potential new recruits want to come and play for Seymour.

Don't see too much wrong with the direction Seymour has taken but hey, you're the guru of recruiting and paying blokes Brad so I'm probably wrong.:rolleyes:

Incorrect. Pay some attention.

I'm not specifically talking about any teams. I used Seymour, Swans and Tatura as example to illustrate how ridiculous the notion is that all teams are 'buying flags' when they pay players. In my view, Tatura are no-where near buying flags, but just because they pay some players, people on here think they are. That just doesn't make any sense at all.

[/B]

I hope your not talking about Portland in the Mt Gambier compitition because if you are it shows how little you know about football!

I have no idea what those 3 teams do. I merely used them as examples to show cases where locals teams pay small amounts of money to player, yet are still classified as 'buying flags.'

BTW, I won't be backing down from any comments I make. I may not be popular here, but I have an opinion and I will voice it whenever I want. I regularly include evidence or examples in my posts and try to provide a reasonable argument.

I don't refer to people as 'Giggly Girl' when it's clearly not their username either.

I'm looking forward to the 2008 and the ensuring discussions. If you don't like what I say, then simply don't reply to me.

Had some beers with a few Tatura boys over the weekend and word out of the kennel is Malcolm Knoble is quiting as coach, apparently he has lost the support of everyone. Paul "Hair" Serra will be taking over the top job.
on the money toquick was told it was on 98.5 today not sure if it can be confirmed, with a two year contract with the club where does this leave the club and coach

Malcolm Noble seems even less likely to remain in Tatura, as of yesterday he was no longer managing the Sportspower shop in Tatura.

Rumours suggesting he is moving on seem to be gaining strength

Im not sure I agree with the points system there GG. The larger towns would have an advantage with towns like Euroa and Rochester strugling to have the home grown tallant to fill the majority of the list?
Too many floors in the system as well.

Some of the Rugby League comps up here introduced the points system, there were different versions of it. I dont think anyone still has it and if it is still in use in some comps, you never hear of it been enforced.

on the money toquick was told it was on 98.5 today not sure if it can be confirmed, with a two year contract with the club where does this leave the club and coach

Don't like the chances of the club retaining Timmy Little. Watch this space a ruckman might be up for grabs fellas.

What comes around goes around for all clubs Giggly Girl.
Not sure why you would laugh at Seymours spending up?

Hey Cocko Dickliker. Its a cycle and when Seymour finishes, Echuca will take over. The funny part is the teams paying a fortune for little results.

PS_ I reckon my abbreviation of your user name is better than giggly girl. Keep trying though champ or maybe you could phone a friend?

Brad its Manangatang and they payed plenty, dont know where you got your info but your way off the mark