O'hailpin

Big :thumbsu::thumbsu: to the big fella

In only his 6th game as our key forward, he's delivered on the big stage in a big game

His advantage is his mobility at ground level for a big man. Sensational

I'm a fan because you never know what to expect, five goals or five air swings.

Amazing that Carlos can play key forward after several spuds have grown up playing AFL, been drafted and bitten the dust.

Especially since he started as a full back.

If you recall what O'hAilpin was like when he first started, then supporters should back off from knifing a 20 year old Henderson.

Amazing that Carlos can play key forward after several spuds have grown up playing AFL, been drafted and bitten the dust.

If you recall what O'hAilpin was like when he first started, then supporters should back off from knifing a 20 year old Henderson.

Not a truer word has ever been posted :thumbsu:

Love the bloke. Love his passion.

Just wish he would stop giving me heart attacks!

This is the best thing about him.

For mine, he's one of the most entertaining players in the comp. Reminds me almost of Richo in that he can be brilliant, and a minute later be almost comical with a simple error. Part of a great package. :thumbsu:

*bump*

Did alright yesterday the big fella...

ohailpin-v-pies-246a.jpg

Loves that navy jumper :thumbsu:

If you could choose any player whose personality you most relate to, I'd choose the big Irish.

Oh, wait, I can.

I love his passion for the game - I scream on the couch, rip and tear at my scarf, jumper and lanyard with my plastic membership card wallet when things don't quite come off, pump when they do, but ultimately and unashamedly let that flash of sensation flow through me uncensored. That's why I love this game and why, when Setanta shows those things, I well, kinda, erm, choke up a bit.

When he kicked his fourth on Sunday...

Oh god, it sounds like I want his babies...

Gold. :thumbsu:

would be so much further developed if we hadn't been soft on fev with all his discretions and instead stuck him in and let him develop

His talent as a KP forward is MASSIVELY underrated. Not surprised he kicked 5. He's a natural forward, and it was a mistake to try to make him into a defender. It's not his natural instinct.

He's a brilliant athlete, and is learning how to use that ability to advance his game. He sets up heaps of goals for others with his close in work i.e. an intercept, tap-on, quick hand-ball etc. Sometimes it doesn't come of, but he'll be the first one in having a crack, making a contest or busting open a pack while everyone else is watching. You'll often see him running through the middle trying to catch a small mid. We've got ourselves an awesome forward KP.

Right now he BADLY needs support. Waite's return is very timely. Reckon those 2 could cause some serious headaches for opposition defenders.

:)

I can't remember which one of his goals it was yesterday, but I loved the way he ran through the Collingwood defenders little mini huddle they were having after he kicked the goal and the ball was going back to the centre, it was priceless.

i love setanta. on here alot he is refered to a previous player because they both dont have the best skills but give 100%. im only 18 so i dont remember alot about carton before 2000. if someone could inform me would really appreciate it.

Earl Spalding was our CHF when Sticks was at FF. Wasn't a great footballer in a vacuum but was the perfect spoil for Sticks as he continually created contests and provided a target.

Who has only played 21 games, 15 before this year.

Some people need to relax and let the kid get the experience and 100 games under his belt before we start seeing the best of Henderson.

Side Note: Henderson is not Fev!!! People need to accept that!!

The best thing about him is how he keeps his feet!

I think we need to trust him more and move the footy to him quicker, in the first half we didn't want to goto him and turned it over with too many sideways handballs through the midfield.

He is no superstar, but he's the best we've got and we have to have faith that he can provide a contest for our small forwards.

Just keeps presenting does Irish. Is also a very good mark on the lead under pressure, just needs to hold more above his head.
As long as the little guys keep involving themselves Setanta is quite valuable. We just need Hendo or some other KPF to get involved as well.

Regardless of result, I reckon this experiment will be an extraordinary story like stynes. Just improving at a rate of knots last twelve months,and just seems to think he belongs now. Could be a gun. Kudos Carlton
I had a Pies supporter in today telling me all about this FF who can't kick and joking about Setanta.

Later in the same conversation he was telling me that Cloke is getting back into near All Australian form.:o

Life would be dull without Pies supporters. Can't wait until September again. :D

Its sad that the anti-Carlton media can't start reporting on genuine footy stories like this.

He ISN'T a convert from Gaelic footy, but Hurling. For him to be competing as a FF/CHF at senior level and doing well in nothing short of incredible..........but all they can do is joke about how excited he gets when he kicks a goal (which now he is kicking quite a few he has backed off a bit).:D

I had a Pies supporter in today telling me all about this FF who can't kick and joking about Setanta.

Later in the same conversation he was telling me that Cloke is getting back into near All Australian form.:o

Life would be dull without Pies supporters. Can't wait until September again. :D

Its sad that the anti-Carlton media can't start reporting on genuine footy stories like this.

He ISN'T a convert from Gaelic footy, but Hurling. For him to be competing as a FF/CHF at senior level and doing well in nothing short of incredible..........but all they can do is joke about how excited he gets when he kicks a goal (which now he is kicking quite a few he has backed off a bit).:D

Like Americans getting excited over our goal umpires and their flag waving. Never mind they've probably just witnessed a game like the 99 PF. :rolleyes:

If anyone said that Setanta would be the main forward 12 months ago that person would have been laughed out of the forum.

c_p probably was probably saying it 12 months ago and he kinda was laughed out of the forum (albeit for a different ludicrous comment).

To be fair though, no one would have seen it coming until Fev was heading out the door, after which many of us had faith in Carlos.

I still think Waite would be our main forward if played permanently inside our forward 50 (very big if), but failing that, Carlos was always going to be a more dominant presence than Lachie because of his mature body.

Never lost faith in Setanta. Knew he was a raw talent from day 1. The media nuff nuffs are slowly starting to realise this guy has some serious ability. The opposition coaches know he's very good. Helps when you're being fed by the most talented midfield in the AFL. We've only seem glimpses of Setanta's potential. He'll kick 50+ this year, and setup plenty more. Huge upside

The issue is he needs another KP forward to stand up and take some of the load. He's often wrestling with about 3 defenders now, including some instructed to block his leads.

The best thing about him is how he keeps his feet!

This is one of the areas in his game he has really improved. How many times did he beat his opponent against the Pies (and Geelong) just be keeping his feet?

I remember watching him in the last few seasons and loving his attitude and fire (especially when he was played in defence), but almost every game he played he delivered some facepalm moments. These moments are now few and far between.

He has now improved his workrate (for eg: back pocket one second then taking a mark in FF the next), his tackling & intensity, his reading of the play and the ball, and his kicking.

He's not a natural, but he's working hard and it shows.

Hope he can back up the last couple of weeks' performances with another one next week :thumbsu:

He has now improved his workrate (for eg: back pocket one second then taking a mark in FF the next), his tackling & intensity, his reading of the play and the ball, and his kicking.

He's not a natural, but he's working hard and it shows....

His work-rate has gone through the roof this year. He's starting to realize that this relentless running knocks the stuffing out of his opponents and provides more opportunity.

I actually think he is a natural forward. He has an attacking mindset, and the instincts of a forward. He IS NOT a natural defender though. Looked out of place back there.