O'hailpin

Had 7 shots on goal from ****ing disgraceful delivery.
I have a mountain of perspective up for grabs if anybody wants in.

Wasn't having a go at this game. :eek:

He was very good tonight. I was pointing out he has a red hot go every week and IF he has a 'bad' game (ie: no goals and few possessions), it wont be for lack of effort so I will accept it.

Love the big fella and his effort, refer to my comments #11 above. :D

i know im gonna get flamed and im not one who regularly bags the club/players and hate doing it (you can check my posting history if you dont believe me :) )..... but....

ive said for a few years, it wouldnt worry me if setanta never played another game for the blues. yes, he has passion and enthusiasm and kicked a few goals tonight, but he just isnt a very good football player, end of story.

and please, dont tell me "he is still learning the game". he's been on the list for 6-7 years and is 27 years of age. if he hasnt learnt by now, he never will.

sorry, just had to get that out.

He'll put it all together in one game of footy, and kick about 6. In both games for far this year, he could have kicked 5 on both ocassions, but he set shots on goal continue to be an issue.

I reckon that he will string it all together one day and kick 10 and hand off another 5...

i know im gonna get flamed and im not one who regularly bags the club/players and hate doing it (you can check my posting history if you dont believe me :) )..... but....

ive said for a few years, it wouldnt worry me if setanta never played another game for the blues. yes, he has passion and enthusiasm and kicked a few goals tonight, but he just isnt a very good football player, end of story.

and please, dont tell me "he is still learning the game". he's been on the list for 6-7 years and is 27 years of age. if he hasnt learnt by now, he never will.

sorry, just had to get that out.

Find it hard to disagree with 7 goals 5 in 2 weeks myself.

yes, he's kicked a few goals the last few weeks, and good on him. hey, if he proves me wrong this year, ill be happier than anyone. means we've filled a hole in the forward line.

but based on what i have seen over the past 6-7 years, he is not that good a football player. the only other clubs he might get a game for would be melbourne and richmond, and even that could be up for debate.

yes, he's kicked a few goals the last few weeks, and good on him. hey, if he proves me wrong this year, ill be happier than anyone. means we've filled a hole in the forward line.

but based on what i have seen over the past 6-7 years, he is not that good a football player. the only other clubs he might get a game for would be melbourne and richmond, and even that could be up for debate.
Not to mention Henderson sitting on a comfortable 5 goals now.

Working on his kicking needs to really be a priority for him.

Sorry HBF but I have to vehemently disagree. Kicking for goal is Setanta's least concern - compare him with some of our recent forward options such as Fisher, Wiggins and Russell.

His accuracy this year has comfortably exceeded even the great Fevola.

I know where you're coming from but he's never really had a decent go at it with Fev playing up forward. Incredibly hard to get a look in with such a dominant character (unless of course, you're arguably the game's best player in Jonathan Brown).

He's very rough around the edges but his disposal is better than what he showed tonight. His conversion is something like 65% over career and generally disposes of it well enough when he composes himself.

Sorry HBF but I have to vehemently disagree. Kicking for goal is Setanta's least concern - compare him with some of our recent forward options such as Fisher, Wiggins and Russell.

His accuracy this year has comfortably exceeded even the great Fevola.
Are you saying that you're content with the way that Setanta kicks for goal from set shots because it's better than that of Fisher, Wiggins, Russell and Fevola?

He was actually pretty decent at it last year despite the awkward style.

30 goals 14 behinds is pretty damn good over his career prior to this season. That's 68%. Some 8% better than Fevola over his career.

Not sure what's going on thus far this season but I put it down to the greater expectations placed upon him.

BTW, why doesn't mediumsizered close this thread and direct to the gameday thread like he/she has done with the threads about Ratten?
Can't you work it out?

After a loss we used to get all these "look at me" whingey threads covering broadly the same topic - ie losing. The coach was part of that, how a player performed on the night was another, game plan/tactics was another and so on.

It turned this bloody board into a circus after a loss, the mods are trying to stop that by locking the threads concerned and good on them for that.

Compare that to this thread - which is about an individual player and his general development. No issue at all with it not being locked from my perspective.

7.5 vs 6.10

I like Setanta in front of goals tbh :D and he will get better over the course of the year :D

7.5 vs 6.10

I like Setanta in front of goals tbh :D and he will get better over the course of the year :D
He certainly has made a promising start to the season and I hope he continues with it. :thumbsu:

BTW, why doesn't mediumsizered close this thread and direct to the gameday thread like he/she has done with the threads about Ratten?

Very simple, but maybe too simple for you to understand. This isn't a thread about tonight's game, it is a general thread about Carlos' progress/development. Surely you can see the difference.

I think that he will be fine and gain more confidence over the year and as the massive expectations drop from his shoulders...

Who really expected him to step up and suddenly become the next Fev and dominate.

There is going to be a day soon where he will completely dominate the game like Brown did against us.

I am looking forward to it.

7 goals from 2 games is a great return for a bloke who isn't a footballer.

Converting from hurling to footy is a great effort.

Just make sure he keeps hanging round the goalsquare, because he's not that reliable from a distance greater than 5 metres. :D

Would be mad watching him play hurling now.

[YOUTUBE]Fiyv9RmziLM[/YOUTUBE]

How would you stop him?

I actually think he is more reliable from 40 metres out than 20 metres because when he is further out he has to kick through it whilst closer in he stabs at it and sprays it constantly.

He's playing really well at the moment, doing a good job taking contested marks and bringing the ball to ground as well.

i thought he did well to bring the ball to ground in situations where he was outnumbered 2 to 1, however i was dissapointed by yarran and betts lack of roving off his contests.
To me, if they are in theteam as crumbing forwards, they must feed off O'halpin more.

I've enjoyed watching Carlos play the last two weeks, but I think he still needs to improve on three aspects of the game:

1. He needs to hold more of his marks.

2. He needs to stop trying to immediately play on everytime he takes a grab.

3. He needs a new kicking technique.

What the f*ck is the goal-kicking coach teaching this guy? He's been in Australia for years now and kicking a football is his full time job. I can kick a straighter set shot than him and I only pick up a footy a couple of times a year.

I don't think the blame lies with him. Someone at Carlton should be correcting this sh*t.

I've enjoyed watching Carlos play the last two weeks, but I think he still needs to improve on three aspects of the game:

I'm just happy that he kicked more than that new bloke the lions have running around

Yes the play on stuff is frustrating at times have thought in the past that it may of been on instruction to get the quick HB off but sometimes it's just madness

Can't fault his attack on the ball & in open play under pressure seems to kick better than with the short set shots, agree he brings the ball to ground & was disappointed in betts & cry every time I think we called out yarran before rich, not that I dislike yarran just think bam bam is a gun.

Overall thought setanta continued to show signs, henderson should o' held a couple of others he got to as well but is at least getting to some, warnock dropped a sitter directly in front which would of been very handy for us, if those 2 with kruz & vinnie can take the odd pluck inside 40 & kick the odd goal would assist setanta a load.

He will get better over the course of the year mate :)

Once he gets the hang of being one of our two main permanent forwards and realises that he is going to get a shitload of game time this year he will really start working on his kicking.

And as for a goal kicking coach... do we even have one? Shouldnt we get Sticks down there and help the guys out... he is the best person at the club to be helping out our forward line with their kicking...

A lot of good from O'hAilpin today but stuffed it up more than his fair share. Expected I guess, given it's the first time he's really been given a real shot at it.

Must be told to go back and not play on when he gets the ball as he just panics and doesn't know what to do with it. He's a decent enough kick when he's settled but was rattled in the second half today.

Very much agree.During the telecast the commentators suggested that Setanta had been instructed at half time to not panic. Whilst he still panicked in the second half I felt he was better than in the first half. He has so much going for him but still is finding his confidence. Think Fev going has been a big factor in his improvement thus far. Think if the Match Committee continue to support him that he will develop into a very solid option up forward.