Training OLEG'S DAD

The day you can blatantly punch your opponent - woops, sorry, Ty did - is the day we need a boxing coach.
I can understand a bit of boxing here and there in pre-season, but full-time.
Nonsense.
Nah, not suggesting that they actually box on (unless there's a full-on stink, then rip a few in for your corner).
It's the benefits of boxing training ... confidence, an aggressive attitude, fitness, hand-eye speed, not backing down, knowing how to defend yourself.
Letting other sides know that you don't put up with intimidatory tactics.
Don't want every campaigner on the team getting suspended. :cool:

Nah, not suggesting that they actually box on (unless there's a full-on stink, then rip a few in for your corner).
It's the benefits of boxing training ... confidence, an aggressive attitude, fitness, hand-eye speed, not backing down, knowing how to defend yourself.
Letting other sides know that you don't put up with intimidatory tactics.
Don't want every campaigner on the team getting suspended. :cool:
Letting other sides know that you don't put up with intimidatory tactics .
Another example of John's short comings.

Couldn't GAF if John's the boxing coach. But we should have one, IMO.
And, yes, if he can't help with that side of the training, get one who bloody well can.

What does that have to do with a boxing coach?

Couldn't GAF if John's the boxing coach. But we should have one, IMO.
And, yes, if he can't help with that side of the training, get one who bloody well can.

I know someone who has trained under Vickery and vouches for him.
I just don't see it as a priority other than pre-season and I'd reckon his influence on our players and selection is overstated.
But there's potential for conflict and that shouldn't happen.
Didn't Francis Bourke step aside from the club when his son came through?
PS If a boxing coach is there to breed aggression and toughness, Vickery has been an abject failure. But doiby he's the problem.

I know someone who has trained under Vickery and vouches for him.
I just don't see it as a priority other than pre-season and I'd reckon his influence on our players and selection is overstated.
But there's potential for conflict and that shouldn't happen.
Didn't Francis Bourke step aside from the club when his son came through?
PS If a boxing coach is there to breed aggression and toughness, Vickery has been an abject failure. But doiby he's the problem.

Agree that even a whiff of nepotism shouldn't be tolerated.
Oh, FFS, maybe it's just one of those salary cap avoidance things, just like Chins does all the time at the Pies.

Agree that they both may be on the chopping block. But still believe in the idea of having a boxing coach.

And a skilled martial arts coach as well. Every little kid on the street goes to martial arts training.

We need confidence, mate. Physical and mental.

Out of interest, what negative mail do you have on Vickery senior?
None. But you wouldnt think he would remain after the end of season cull. He and boy need to be moved on. Our guys look anything but tough, so what else does a boxing coach do? Surely fitness isnt his sole reason for drawing a pay cheque

you are aware he was there long before his son? or do you think it was a cunning plan to work for the club for years in order for them to draft his kid?

the guy is a boxing coach - nothing more

the conspiracy theories about the power and influence a boxing coach has at our club are beyond stupid

Which is exactly why we don't need him.
:huh:People critical of having Vickery's dad as our boxing coach, but those same ones wanting Markov's old man at the club now!
Question though: How many AFL clubs have a boxing coach??
Completely agree however if they were to pick him up Olegs skills relate to afl better, definitely not our first priorities to sort in the coaching staff

Interchange steward / guard

The value of boxing training lies in sharpness as well. And in a confident, aggressive, "don't mess with me" demeanour.

edit: any good trainer will do, not just Mr Vickery.

you are aware he was there long before his son? or do you think it was a cunning plan to work for the club for years in order for them to draft his kid?

the conspiracy theories about the power and influence a boxing coach has at our club are beyond stupid
I dont really care who was there first nor i am i concerned about any favoritism as we are supposed to be a professional organization but the fact his father and son are both employees working together in some role is a perception that should not exist in a professional organization. Its unfortunate but when his son was drafted it should have been goodbye Mr Vickery. Now if Ty's father worked in a role where it was non related then zero issue from me.

The fact our players seem to lack aggression on the field is another factor that should not be ignored in the clubs current review.

I would hope one, probably both should not exist on the payroll come end of year. God help us all if they both stay and we employ his girlfriend too........

I dont really care who was there first nor i am i concerned about any favoritism as we are supposed to be a professional organization but the fact his father and son are both employees working together in some role is a perception that should not exist in a professional organization. Its unfortunate but when his son was drafted it should have been goodbye Mr Vickery. Now if Ty's father worked in a role where it was non related then zero issue from me.

The fact our players seem to lack aggression on the field is another factor that should not be ignored in the clubs current review.

I would hope one, probably both should not exist on the payroll come end of year. God help us all if they both stay and we employ his girlfriend too........

Are yoy now saying the lack of onfield aggression is because of the boxing coach?

Seriously?

We have line coaches, development coaches, all sorts, but its the boxing coach who determines players attitudes on the field?

As for professionalism, what bias can ty get from the boxing coach? First choice of spit bucket?

Doesn't he monitor the interchanges as well?

The value of boxing training lies in sharpness as well. And in a confident, aggressive, "don't mess with me" demeanour.

edit: any good trainer will do, not just Mr Vickery.
crap footy clubs use boxing coaches to increase cardiac endurance without the wear and tear on legs .

Not really interested in that angle. We have enough people to take care of that.
Nah, talking more about confidence and aggression.

Not really interested in that angle. We have enough people to take care of that.
Nah, talking more about confidence and aggression.
you may not wish to use that angle but you are wrong to suggest clubs use a boxing coach to increase aggressio or confidence.

Get him, im on board. will be very good for oleg

ty is gone and id imagine he'll take his old man with him. will never forget his ko of Cox, and will always love him for this

Yep he will have a special place in the heart of the tiger faithful for that selfless act

"the guy is a boxing coach - nothing more"
Interchange steward as well ;)

"the guy is a boxing coach - nothing more"
Interchange steward as well ;)

Oh darn

Does that mean he let's ty cross the line first?

Ty doesn't have to run over, he goes on the ground and chairs him across with a trainer?

Ty gets to use a slim.dusty recliner to sit on?

The nepotism!!!!!

The OP to me would justify a couple of sessions at most during preseason. Fulltime gig...cant see the value... (just on Olympic polevaulting experience). I get the drive to succeed angle...that's a 1 hour speech. Footy clubs bring in guest speakers all the time.