Hva sher a

Cleveland Browns, Everton
I know there is another thread about Cam Wood but assuming most of us get our wish and Wood is delisted, what ruck options are available?

I'm basing my thinking on a number of assumptions:
  • Jolls has only one year left
  • We need a proper ruck to back him up if he goes down - not a stop gap like Lynch. While Q-Stick is ideal as a match day 2nd ruck, he can't be the no.1 ruck if Jolly is out.
  • Witts/Cegs/Gault are not ready in 2013 to carry the ruck on their own (but they will get time in the seniors). At the same time, we are banking on one or both developing well so we don't want anyone who will hold up their development.
  • We pick up someone cheap - essentially a back-up. However if by miracle we can have a Sam Jacobs-type situation I'd be happy with that too!!
I've also assumed that Wood will get delisted - why? he simply doesn't contribute anything and while some will say we have no choice but to keep him, the purpose of this question is to find out what other ruck options exist out there.

These options may be in interstate leagues or VFL. I don't get to watch these games so any ideas welcome.

To get the ball rolling I've listed a few (not in order):
  • Orren
  • Dawson Simpson (if delisted)
  • Joel Tippett...or Kurt even!
  • Daniel Archer (delisted by Saints - not sure if they'll re-rookie him)
  • Daniel Currie (ex Swan playing in SA)
  • Mark Seaby
  • Mark Blake (hmmm, maybe we aren't that desperate)
  • Jesse White.
any others? any VFL watchers who can suggest anyone

Not a Wood fan but the only one of that list I would put in front of Wood would be Tippett Kurt and he probabaly wont be playing next year. Maybe Currie but I dont know enough about him.

I'm confident that "not ready Ceglar or Witts" would put a better effort than Wood.

I'm happy with the ruck depth, it will be Ceglar 3rd season and he should have enough conditioning to at least debut next season.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/150379/default.aspx

Interesting tidbit in an article on afl site:
The Pies also have young ruckmen Jarrod Witts, Corey Gault and Jon Ceglar on their list, and have hopes for at least the former two to play seniors in 2013.

As well as comments on Wood from Eade:
Recently, Collingwood football and coaching strategist Rodney Eade evaluated Wood's season as "a bit of a disappointing year". "He had opportunities and didn't grab them, and his form at times in the seconds was poor," Eade told AFL.com.au. "He's got some good attributes, he's good at his craft, a good tap and a beautiful kick; he just needs to get that consistency at work rate."

Yeah, well, it could read that they are trying to light a fire under him, or they are just explaining why they are moving him on.

More interesting to me is that, if the first quote is clear, of the other three younger guys, Witts, Gault and Ceglar, Ceglar is the least likely to debut in 2013.

So he's the oldest of the three but third in line right now it seems. [Ceglar will turn 22 before the next season starts; Witts turned 20 last month; Gault turns 20 this week].

Yeah, well, it could read that they are trying to light a fire under him, or they are just explaining why they are moving him on.

More interesting to me is that, if the first quote is clear, of the other three younger guys, Witts, Gault and Ceglar, Ceglar is the least likely to debut in 2013.

So he's the oldest of the three but third in line right now it seems. [Ceglar will turn 22 before the next season starts; Witts turned 20 last month; Gault turns 20 this week].
I suspect that if a fire was lit under Wood that he would just let the flames devour him without raising more than a whimper. Perhaps he would make a good Buddhist monk in Tibet, where over 40 monks have burned themselves in protest to date this year.

Ooh, mate, that issue is pretty close to the bone for some of us.

But, I'm with you on Wood - if the penny hasn't dropped by now, I doubt anything else will cause him to harden up and grit his teeth.

What I find most interesting about that article is the fact the club see Gault as more likely to play senior football this year ahead of Ceglar.
Regular watchers of VFL have been saying that Gault was tracking very well towards the end of the season and they like his attitude a lot I think I read somewhere that Eade said he was a nice kid and a very good listener.Another thing is that feel he can put weight easier.

What I find most interesting about that article is the fact the club see Gault as more likely to play senior football this year ahead of Ceglar.
Regular watchers of VFL have been saying that Gault was tracking very well towards the end of the season and they like his attitude a lot I think I read somewhere that Eade said he was a nice kid and a very good listener.Another thing is that feel he can put weight easier.

Yeah, although I guess Gault's the second ruck/third tall type, right.

Witts, of course, is tracking to be a first ruck who can also play forward, while Ceglar sounds like another second ruck/third tall, at least until he can put on some more weight, or unless the new ruck rules allow him to rely on his good leap and height more in the ruck contests.

HvaS, i think of those you mentioned, retention of Wood is the best otion.

Re the younger brigade, I must admit to warming toward Gault, partly because of Knights recommendations i watched him closely in the VFL and i think he has the prerequisite athleticism and footy skills to develop into a dangerous 2nd ruck option.
We need to nurse Jolly through his 14ish games in 2013 and supplement with those at the club. 2014 is a different matter and whether we have to trade in a ruck will be determined by the development of the young rucks in 2013.

There is likely to be some FA options come this time next year, and we can take comfort we are an organisation that players want to join.

HvaS, i think of those you mentioned, retention of Wood is the best otion.

Re the younger brigade, I must admit to warming toward Gault, partly because of Knights recommendations i watched him closely in the VFL and i think he has the prerequisite athleticism and footy skills to develop into a dangerous 2nd ruck option.
We need to nurse Jolly through his 14ish games in 2013 and supplement with those at the club. 2014 is a different matter and whether we have to trade in a ruck will be determined by the development of the young rucks in 2013.

There is likely to be some FA options come this time next year, and we can take comfort we are an organisation that players want to join.

I see the argument for retaining Wood for now, but:
(1) is a one-year contract going to work? [What if he/his agent insists on two?]
(2) any idea who might be available next year?*

*Is there any reliable source of contract information for all sides like there is for other sports such as the NBA?

I see the argument for retaining Wood for now, but:
(1) is a one-year contract going to work? [What if he/his agent insists on two?]
(2) any idea who might be available next year?*

*Is there any reliable source of contract information for all sides like there is for other sports such as the NBA?

Max Bailey ?? 8 year player next year so free agent, not sure of contract status. Is finally fit, however not in best 22 for Hawks.

Fair to say we wouldn't get Stephenson.

If we were interested we would've tossed our fourth round draft pick Geelong's way in trade week. It's not as if we're going to use it for anything else. And it's not as if Geelong is flush with draft picks.

Reading between the lines of what Eade said about Wood they are not happy with him but it looks like they may have to keep him but unless something drastic happens with Wood,s attitude he is gone next year irrespective of what happens with Witts Ceglar and Gault.

The club will start looking at who is available early next season will chase them.

Max Bailey ?? 8 year player next year so free agent, not sure of contract status. Is finally fit, however not in best 22 for Hawks.

Lot can change over a Seaon

Fair to say we wouldn't get Stephenson.

If we were interested we would've tossed our fourth round draft pick Geelong's way in trade week. It's not as if we're going to use it for anything else. And it's not as if Geelong is flush with draft picks.

Why would we not chase Stephnson. Be good on a 1 Season Contract and gives us a Saftey Net

I agree, as I've said before ...

Because in Stephenson we would have a player who actually wants to play footy. He'd be busting his gut for the opportunity to play. And he wouldn't have any illusions that he would ever be anything more than a backup ruckman. He'd make sure that he's tiptop and ready for the callup at any time.

... but I reckon if the club agreed with me, they would have tossed a junk pick Geelong's way to get him.

That's OK but. Happy to concede that Hine & co know a bit more about this recruiting caper than I do.