chargers 09

Chicago Bulls, Baltimore Ravens
Hey everyone, I've been prescribed a drug called Oratane. Its basically a new and improved version of Roaccutane from what i've gathered. oratane has been prescribed by a dermatologist to me and im due to start in about 2 weeks.

After research I've learnt that you can not drink alcohol, (I have an 18th just about every week and my cycle will interfere with schoolies) I've also gathered that the drug can cause weak joints and fatigue and that weight training and contact sport is to be avoided. I play rugby, occasionaly a game of footy and I go to the gym 3 times a week.
Going out, rugby and weight lifting are probably 3 of my favourite activities and I dont know if having clean skin is a worthy sacrifice.

My question is to the GD brethren is if anyone has used it? If so how did you deal with it? Does it work? Is it worth taking?

Cheers.

I used Roaccutane about 10 years ago. Screwed my knee joints and my hips joints, im 25 and cant run, have trouble shagging sometimes and barely a day goes by where my hips arnt sore. People react differently I guess.

Played footy pretty seriously up until 16 - ruined that, tried to start again in my early 20s and kept breaking down. Only exercise I really do these days is cycling.

I used Roaccutane about 10 years ago. Screwed my knee joints and my hips joints, im 25 and cant run, have trouble shagging sometimes and barely a day goes by where my hips arnt sore. People react differently I guess.

Played footy pretty seriously up until 16 - ruined that, tried to start again in my early 20s and kept breaking down. Only exercise I really do these days is cycling.

Haha some great encouragement there. How are they allowed to prescribe this when although acne isn't a good thing it is by no means life threatening?

I used Roaccutane, finished about 4-5 months ago.

I still drank reasonably regularly although I did cut down a bit. Got trashed wayy easier than before and got sick more or less everytime. It was worse than your normal chuck as everytime I started getting sick I was an complete write off for the rest of the night, like i couldn't brush it off and keep going it was weird. So i'd recommend cutting down at least a bit if you don't want to go completely without, and just realise you won't be able to drink what you normally can. (In saying this you can still get ****ed and have fun on accutane, just know you'll be a lightweight.)

Also I was probably less physically active than what you are atm, but it ****ed me over for the footy season. Admittedly I didn't have a proper preseason but I only played about a quarter of the games for the year due to constant muscle tears (three srs).

Plus i had the dry face and lips etc. but that doesn't really prevent you from anything.

How long is your course? You should be about done by leavers surely. You're going to have to make some sacrifices and you might have to cut back a little on lifting and training, but in the end it is pretty sweet to be acne free. Depends how bad your skin is I guess. There's always the option of taking it later in summer when you don't have rugby, but on the otherside you'll probably have a shitload more events to get pissed at to go to.

The 6-9 months on it were pretty shitty at times but it's not that long in the grand scheme of things and I definitely don't regret doing it, feel a heap better now. Oh, and the depression stuff is BS.

G'luck OP.

haha, you asked! They warned me, but I had friends who had used it and had good results. Try tee tree oil products.

I'm seeing a dermatologist at the moment about getting on this. My brother used it and all he got were dry lips IIRC, but depression really does worry me as a side-affect due to my proneness

Yeh Go Griff, I agree my dermatologist is a real pain the ass to. Doesn't unserstand that when I go out i'll be drinking, school sport is compulsory to. Can't exactly say I cant play this winter because im on acne medication....

I agree though seems ridiculous, but I do want to clean my face up.

The side effects are bad enough just for 6 months, but some of that stuff is permanent. I never had acne that bad, but I doubt I would take it if in your position.

chargers 09 said:
Haha some great encouragement there. How are they allowed to prescribe this when although acne isn't a good thing it is by no means life threatening?

Some countries aren't.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oratane

I've made the decision that I'd rather accept minimal/moderate acne then take Roaccutane. Too many horror stories and I'm not willing to accept any long term health problems to cure acne.

I'm also 100% sure in 9/10 cases simply having a healthy diet will remove almost all acne. I know it works for me, but again I'd rather have acne then sacrafice fast food.

For most just improving their diet will prevent the need for this sort of stuff.

I agree mate, dairy is what gives me my pimples I reckon. But I need a high protein diet. Anyone know any good high protein alternatives to milk other than the obvious ones such as fish ect.

I was on roaccutane for a little while but I didn't have bad acne. I decided to stop after a few months, it will probably clear up for you eventually anyway.

I don't think I had any of the side effects from using it but didn't want to take the risk any longer. The permanent side effects are pretty worrying...

Drinking 20 glasses of water a day WON'T help btw. Diet does have a lot to do with it though, stay away from sugary and fatty foods and you'll be good.

I agree mate, dairy is what gives me my pimples I reckon. But I need a high protein diet. Anyone know any good high protein alternatives to milk other than the obvious ones such as fish ect.

Plenty of good sources of non dairy protein. Nuts are great because they are easy to snack on. Peanut butter is good. Ideally you're gonna get your protein from your main meals though (e.g. chicken & fish as the best options). Add things like spinach. If you really need the protein then buy some protein powder for shakes. You don't need to buy the expensive stuff, it's pretty much all the same. Not something to replace a proper diet but good if you need to get your numbers up.

Oratane is the same as Roaccutane - it's just a difference companies brand name for the drug.

And hopefully it clears up your acne for you, I know guys who have been on it and it made there face clear up perfectly.

I took roaccutane about 3 years ago, I had terrible acne on my back, my face wasn't too bad but we decided to do something about it. I now believe it was the best decision ever, it did dry me up immensely, Paw Paw cream became my best friend and still have some scarring from some bigger pimples... but now I barely get acne pimples, just the odd whitehead.

I was on roacatine when I was 15, i got the worst blood noses... One time during an exam, in a school hall with like 250 people blood just started pouring out of my nose like i'd been hit by mike tyson, needless to say was quite humiliating

It was totally worth it in the end though, I had acne all over my shoulders and it all completely dissapeared within a year, now I can go to the beach whatever and no one can tell.... If I had my time over again i would take it without hesitation

Was on it for a year.

Really isn't that bad. You just need to find a good water-based moisturiser to whack on your face after each shower. That and some decent lip balm. I found drinking alcohol while on it did nothing to me.

But everyone reacts differently to it.