OT: Help needed

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Stiffy_18 said:
I thought since we have a fair few intelligent and classy ladies on this board I might as well ask for a bit of help here.

Its been a pretty tough week and I want to show a bit of appreciation to the GF for being there for me and not kicking up a stink when I couldn't take her out to dinner of Valentine's day.

Any suggestions? :o
:eek: You didnt take her out for valentines day?!!?! Did you even get her a present? You gotta spoil the ladies on valentines day! Id kill my boyfriend if he did that!! :o

Condolences Stiffy, I'm pretty sure your girl would have understood about not doing the whole V-Day thing.

Myself I don't really care about V-Day, little over-rated if you ask me. But for yourself, many people say take her out. How about a night in? make her fave dish (even if you can't cook) or make something together. Candle light and all that.. Maybe a nice relaxing massage at the end of the night...had a hard week, its time to relax.

Sorry to hear that Stiffy.

wrt the date, a nice meal at your place.

macca23 said:
A first class choice Macca. Been there many many times. It's not the cheapest, but it would have to have the best Italian food in Adelaide.

Yeah it is pricey but i agree its the best Italian in Adelaide and you definately get what you pay for. Their Taglierini with the blue swimmer crab and chilli is my favourite pasta dish.

snap-shot said:
How about a night in? make her fave dish (even if you can't cook) or make something together. Candle light and all that.. Maybe a nice relaxing massage at the end of the night...had a hard week, its time to relax.

Yep, the night in can be very special - 'going out' is too often overrated.

My condolences, Stifler.

Thanks for the suggestion guys and for you kind thoughts.

I organised the flowers and a teddy bear to go in to her work on monday and I also booked a table for 2 at widny point for tonight.

She definetly understands and was great in that she took a couple of days off work to help me organise the funeral. One of the most heart-wrenching moments of my entire life. One minute we are sitting down having a coffee and just mucking around like we always did the next he is in my arms passing away and muttering final words "take care of yourself and look after my kids" :(. Hardest thing was telling his kids and then letting my dad and my uncle know who have been best mates with him for some 40 odd years :(

I would also like to thank all the people who send me PMs. Its greatly appreciated :)

NikkiNoo said:
I know a good site which does 2 dozen red roses and some other nice little touches in box for a pretty reasonable price - pm me for the details
Thanks Nikki but I have a florist in Norwood that always does a great job no matter what the occasion is :)

Macca19 said:
Why not take her out to dinner tonight instead? May i suggest Cibo at North Adelaide. FLowers would do the trick too. Find out her favourite flower and send her a bunch, or a nice bouquet with her favourite flowers.

Condolences for your loss as well mate.

macca23 said:
A first class choice Macca. Been there many many times. It's not the cheapest, but it would have to have the best Italian food in Adelaide.

Two macca's have style :)

Great place been there a number of times and I love the outdoor area. Great food too :)

RaDaR ReiLLy said:
You didnt take her out for valentines day?!!?! Did you even get her a present? You gotta spoil the ladies on valentines day! Id kill my boyfriend if he did that!!
No I got her a present and flowers and I had previously booked a place for dinner which I later cancelled. She was pretty good about it and the reason I wanted to do something to show my appreciation :o

She went to a lot of trouble to get me one of my presents and it really touched me :o

snap-shot said:
Condolences Stiffy, I'm pretty sure your girl would have understood about not doing the whole V-Day thing.

Myself I don't really care about V-Day, little over-rated if you ask me. But for yourself, many people say take her out. How about a night in? make her fave dish (even if you can't cook) or make something together. Candle light and all that.. Maybe a nice relaxing massage at the end of the night...had a hard week, its time to relax.
Mate if you honestly know how crap I am in the kitchen you wouldn't wish for me to cook even for your worst enemy:D

I am trying to say thanks not commit a murder :p.

Thanks for the idea it would have been great if I actually knew the first thing when it comes to cooking :o

Sorry about your loss Stiff......chin up bud......keep remembering the good times.

As for the GF......sounds like she understands given her support during the week.....but roses and Windy Point are browny points in the bank !!

Have a good night fella

Stiffy_18 said:
Mate if you honestly know how crap I am in the kitchen you wouldn't wish for me to cook even for your worst enemy
I am trying to say thanks not commit a murder :p.

:D

I know where you're coming from Stiffy.

I do manage a mean bacon and eggs personally - but that's the end of the culinary road. :D

snap-shot said:
try Rice, cheese, tomatoe, onion, beef stock......... and salami :o :confused:
I'm just about to fire up the Weber......Roast Lamb with Garlic cloves and Rosemary stuffed under the skin........YUM......I'll roast the veges as well - all I need to do is sit and empty some beer cans while it cooks.... :p

sorry in a bit late - sorry to hear about your loss mate - there isn't a good way to go but at least you were there for them !

for what it's worth I think you idea is pretty great so far - my only tip would be to leave something on her bed (eg flowers, chocolates etc )for when you get home from your date (obvoiusly dont tell her its there)

Mad Dog said:
I'm just about to fire up the Weber......Roast Lamb with Garlic cloves and Rosemary stuffed under the skin........YUM......I'll roast the veges as well - all I need to do is sit and empty some beer cans while it cooks.... :p

I'm yet to even put my BBQ together. Why do they all come in flat packs these days?

Moving out of home ..sure does make you try things as well as learn, and be come a lot better than you thought you would! Enjoy your meal MD :)

Um talking about hopeless cooks, my best friend is the WORST! Rice with those skinless tomatoes in a can, s tiny bit of cheese, some beef stock, water and FLOUR? What the hell was she thinking? And then when we made a custard tart at school and I foolishly thought she could manage the custard by herself while I did the pastry, she turned that into scrambled eggs, yum, and then did the same thing with the cheesecake a week later. It was interesting...

Stiffy_18 said:
Thanks Nikki but I have a florist in Norwood that always does a great job no matter what the occasion is

Hope you have a great night stiffy and that you both enjoy yourselves. I miss the parade :)

To the Two Maccas - have either of you been to Cafe Mondiali on unley road? That's if it's still going! I have only known 2 people to completely finish their main pasta meal there! I remember huge serves, great prices and their spirali mondiali - yum! but agree that Cibo's is very nice ;)

NikkiNoo said:
To the Two Maccas - have either of you been to Cafe Mondiali on unley road? That's if it's still going! I have only known 2 people to completely finish their main pasta meal there! I remember huge serves, great prices and their spirali mondiali - yum! but agree that Cibo's is very nice ;)

Yes, it's still there Nikki, but I haven't been there. Got it marked down for future reference though. ;)

NikkiNoo said:
Hope you have a great night stiffy and that you both enjoy yourselves. I miss the parade :)

Heard of it but havent been there before. Must try it out.

NikkiNoo said:

To the Two Maccas - have either of you been to Cafe Mondiali on unley road? That's if it's still going! I have only known 2 people to completely finish their main pasta meal there! I remember huge serves, great prices and their spirali mondiali - yum! but agree that Cibo's is very nice
Yeah it was a good night and tonight for thr footy. Time to check out that co-orporate box :D

I have been to Cafe Mondiali many times and there is no way anyone can finish main pasta dish in that place. The serves are HUGE and the prices are pretty resonable too. I am full after 2 thirds of the way through the entree pasta meal :eek:. Main would kill me off

i've only just read this thread - my condolences to you man - lets hope the Crows ease a tiny bit of the pain off you

johnnypanther said:
i've only just read this thread - my condolences to you man - lets hope the Crows ease a tiny bit of the pain off you
Cheers mate.

Just reporting back guys. Thanks for the ideas. Got some browny points today with flowers and teddy bear rocking up at her work place :)

Once again thanks for your help :)