Ottens

crows98 said:
Ben Hudson will step into that back up ruckman very nicely next season. But the club need to draft a quality young ruckman considering Clark is now in his last season (next season)

Yeah right.

So you want us to go into next season with Clarke, Hudson and some rookie from the draft. And then the following year with Hudson and a second year player. Gee, what a great ruck comination that will be. By far the worst ruck combination in the history of the AFL. And that's before losing any of them to injury.

Trading Biglands without bringing in a ready made replacement is a truly ridiculous suggestion.

Hey Gents,

I just want to get your opinion on something else. Is it just me, or have you noticed that more moderate Crows supporters ( "I don't really follow footy but I like the Crows ) have become more boistorous in their anti-Port/pro-Crows rhetoric this week?? If we can take any positives out of the PAFC maybe winning tomorrow it will be that we have a more passionate support base. Some of the anti-Port rumblings from the above mentioned types of people at my work place have been quite venemous.

You always have to look for the good in the bad.

Thoughts???

SpringChoke said:
Hey Gents,

I just want to get your opinion on something else. Is it just me, or have you noticed that more moderate Crows supporters ( "I don't really follow footy but I like the Crows ) have become more boistorous in their anti-Port/pro-Crows rhetoric this week?? If we can take any positives out of the PAFC maybe winning tomorrow it will be that we have a more passionate support base. Some of the anti-Port rumblings from the above mentioned types of people at my work place have been quite venemous.

Thoughts???

Interesting post but I think you've got the wrong thread.

mymansyd said:
226585.jpg

Rhett Biglands in his prime. Aaaahhh those were the days...

Rhett scrubs up alright in a red dress... :p I actually don't think we can afford to lose the big guy though. He is one of the few aggressive players we have on our list. I would love to see Clarke and Hudson doing the bulk of the ruck work and stick big rhett in a forward pocket next to Welshy. I think we will need some big bodies in our forward line next year to protcet the likes of watts and Hentschal why they develop. I also think we probably need to give Watts another year to develop, play him in 5-8 games.

SpringChoke said:
Should we make a play for Ackland then??? By the way, any ideas what Andrews is like. I see he got in the Bays best a couple of times and then faded away.

By the noise coming out of the AFC Brett Burton is not even up for trade discussion. This leaves the club being able to make one major acquisition and that will come through the Stenglein trade. Weather they trade that for a higher draft pick and try and get 2 quality kids in the top 10 (including our pick 8) seems out of the question, NC has stated more than once that they want a player of equal value for Tyson Stenglein not a draft pick, and Scott Thompson is the main contender to be involved in that 3-way trade

The only way the AFC can get Ackland would be via the pre season draft, port would not allow the AFC to win on a trade with them or anyone for that matter. Andrews is still a long way off, he was getting BOG in the bays magoos, not 1st

What valued players the club has got for trade will not even be discussed and what the club would want to give away no other club will even look at anyway. By the looks of it Tyson Stenglein is the only player going to gain us any thing this trade season

**** said:
Yeah right.

So you want us to go into next season with Clarke, Hudson and some rookie from the draft. And then the following year with Hudson and a second year player. Gee, what a great ruck comination that will be. By far the worst ruck combination in the history of the AFL. And that's before losing any of them to injury.

Trading Biglands without bringing in a ready made replacement is a truly ridiculous suggestion.

Brad Ottens for Rhett Biglands

SpringChoke said:
Hey Gents,

Thoughts???

Agreed - it's flushed a few our way.....but it's equally pleasing to see a few fence sitters being flushed to the Dark Side..... Don't come humpin' my premyership cups no more...no sir !
I'm fed up with this "we're all South Australians" thing...greetings to KG if you're listening.....it's a bloody club competition....also .....the SA Great argument completely discounts the 100s ..ney..1000s of Crows supporters around the country and globe who are not South Aussies !!!!

polarisation of a community is never a good thing but...hopefully it can done in it's correct context
ps - I'm wearing my '97 premiership tie today...sorta my little protest

**** said:
Yeah right.

What have we got to lose?

Short term loss, long term gain.

crows98 said:
By the noise coming out of the AFC Brett Burton is not even up for trade discussion. This leaves the club being able to make one major acquisition and that will come through the Stenglein trade. Weather they trade that for a higher draft pick and try and get 2 quality kids in the top 10 (including our pick 8) seems out of the question, NC has stated more than once that they want a player of equal value for Tyson Stenglein not a draft pick, and Scott Thompson is the main contender to be involved in that 3-way trade

The only way the AFC can get Ackland would be via the pre season draft, port would not allow the AFC to win on a trade with them or anyone for that matter. Andrews is still a long way off, he was getting BOG in the bays magoos, not 1st

What valued players the club has got for trade will not even be discussed and what the club would want to give away no other club will even look at anyway. By the looks of it Tyson Stenglein is the only player going to gain us any thing this trade season

Burton not in trade contention disappoints and worries. The AFC must see something in a few of our players that we don't. They must look damn good at training! I think the bidrman will be liability at FF as he is on the Wing. Imagine how many team mates he will spoil in his quest for the mark of the year. If we are going to look to bring some of our young guys into the forward line such as Hentschal, Watts and Krueger, then there is no longer a place in the team for Burton. Trade him for sure..

Blue Red and Gold said:
What have we got to lose?

Short term loss, long term gain.

Well we'd lose plenty of football games.

The long term gain associated with getting rid of Biglands right now is very doubtful.

SpringChoke said:
Burton not in trade contention disappoints and worries. The AFC must see something in a few of our players that we don't. They must look damn good at training! I think the bidrman will be liability at FF as he is on the Wing. Imagine how many team mates he will spoil in his quest for the mark of the year. If we are going to look to bring some of our young guys into the forward line such as Hentschal, Watts and Krueger, then there is no longer a place in the team for Burton. Trade him for sure..

Nah I have stated for ages that I would love to see Burton at FF we lack a strong marking forward and Burtons biggest attribute is his marking so why not just throw him up there. He would be a difficult player for an opposition defence to play because of his huge leap.
Have Welsh and Stiffy sitting from and centre to pick up any crumbs and we have a pretty potent forward line.

**** said:
Yeah right.

It's not the worst ruck combination in the history of the AFL - it's not even worse than some of the combinations going around now. (Porter / McKernan? Knobel / Blake? French / De Luca? Hille / Allan? Fraser / McKee / Richards?)

In today's possession dominated (rather than contest dominated) AFL, a great ruckman is a luxury rather than an essential part of a premiership team. And Rhett Biglands is not a great ruckman.

Not listening to a trade offer involving Biglands, if it could make the team stronger elsewhere, would be serious.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Nah I have stated for ages that I would love to see Burton at FF we lack a strong marking forward and Burtons biggest attribute is his marking so why not just throw him up there. He would be a difficult player for an opposition defence to play because of his huge leap.
Have Welsh and Stiffy sitting from and centre to pick up any crumbs and we have a pretty potent forward line.

You would have Scott Welsh as your focal point in attack and have Burton play as a floating forward pocket that leads and crumbs as well. At 182 cms Brett Burton is not tall enough to be that dominate forward, but he can become a very successful forward in the mould of Medhurst.

crows98 said:
You would have Scott Welsh as your focal point in attack and have Burton play as a floating forward pocket that leads and crumbs as well. At 182 cms Brett Burton is not tall enough to be that dominate forward, but he can become a very successful forward in the mould of Medhurst.

Burton plays alot taller than he is, I would not like to see Burton one on one with a Matty Scarett or anything like that, he is not big or strong enough for that, but on a lead and in a pack situation he could be very damaging. I think this would be handy for Welsh as well because there will need to be quality on burton hence freeing up Welsh a little bit.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Burton plays alot taller than he is, I would not like to see Burton one on one with a Matty Scarett or anything like that, he is not big or strong enough for that, but on a lead and in a pack situation he could be very damaging. I think this would be handy for Welsh as well because there will need to be quality on burton hence freeing up Welsh a little bit.

The best years of Brett Burton career have been when he was kicking goals. Even if they play him on a half forward flank, take the decision making out of his hands and just tell him to kick goals.

crows98 said:
The best years of Brett Burton career have been when he was kicking goals. Even if they play him on a half forward flank, take the decision making out of his hands and just tell him to kick goals.

Amen to that! :D

Now wheres my beer...

talking about beer, l going to the pub to grab a carton of paleies and a few lemon squashes for the missies, if port get up have to try and forget about it some how.

I reckon we need to do a carlton and clean outo our whole list. Next year is going to be a testing year and to see who can play AFL. We need to get rid of the usless people in our list.

SpringChoke said:
Should we make a play for Ackland then??? By the way, any ideas what Andrews is like. I see he got in the Bays best a couple of times and then faded away.

No - Ackland is a dud. For the reasonably minded on here, about the same as Marsh.

Andrews will not solve the Crows current ruck woes any time soon, if at all.
Played a significant portion of the year in the twos at Glenelg and certainly didn't dominate when he did come up to the league.

I am willing to bet that Ottens will be staying with Richmond, on a performance based contract.

Wallace will keep playing hard ball but I reckon Brad will crumble, I know as fact that that Wallace's meeting with Ottens was an important factor in deciding where to coach.

why do we keep saying we need to draft a ruckman with a high pick?

look around the league and most have been very late picks, it's a crapshoot.
Go through the 16 teams and look where they were drafted, you have as much chance of rookie listing a decent ruckman as wasting a top 10 pick.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Hudson takes the number 1 ruck role next year, we have nothing to lose may aswell get him primed for next year. This way Clarke can just come off the bench and help out when required.
Why have biglands in the team when he is going to be played up forward? That seems what NC is planning on doing.
I would rather trade him with someone else to gain richmonds 2nd pick which would be 21 or something with that pick we get a quality young ruckmen who could be able to play a small role next season coming off the bench with Hudson being used as the number 1 ruckman.
Its not an ideal situation, but we have to bite the bullet and do something like this, its not like we are going to be vying for the flag next year so there couldnt be a better time to give some young players some experience at AFL level which Im sure will help out emmensly long term.

Now after all that its time to crack a coldie! :D
Mate with pick 21 you won't get a quality ruckman in the draft. All 3 quality ruckman will go in the first round and quite possibly in top 15.

I think a lot of people are harsh on Biglands. He had a stinker of a year but lets not give up on him that easy. I still think he is a pretty good ruckman.

SpringChoke said:
I would NOT be happy if we even consider getting Ackland. The most over-rated player on Ports list. A dead set dud.

I think everyone agrees that Biglands is not going to become a star he will always just be an average player.
I didnt want, or even think of trading Biglands until Craig come up with the idea of playing him up forward, I think its a waste.
He will just crowd the forward line, we saw how unproductive Welsh was when Carey was there. Carey had a pretty good idea of how to play up forward too, however Biglands is clueless up forward.
Sure, Biglands brings some grunt and agression but from what we saw this year I think he should put that back in bag as we do not need to have a player suspended for 6+ games.
With the way the game is being played and ruled these days a superstar ruckman is not needed, you just need someone who can jump, tap and take a few grabs here or there, Biglands is not this, I have stated earlier I do not want to trade him just for trading sake but if we can get a good deal out of it why not, if we are just going to break even obviously dont bother.
I think Clarke and Hudson can do the job next year, and if we can pick up another tall who can have a season playing SANFL and then come in and play in 2007 then we have done alright.
I would not knock back having pick 8, possibly WCE 12, Richmonds 21 and our 24 its a good start....just an idea!