Votes: 21 84.0%

footyman

Gold Coast
The last two weeks, two of the best games of footy you could wish to see.

Can you split, which 'win' did you think was best?

I dunno. Last week we were coming off 7 straight losses, this week we had some momentum. I can't vote. This would be one of the best games I've ever been to = to the game vs carlton, qualifying final 2000.

Can't split them but I voted for tonight's win because I was there.

The atmosphere towards the end was electric!

I witnessed both wins live. When Farren Ray kicked that goal I must admit that right then ending the Geelong hoodoo was IMO the best we could get out of season 2005.

There's a faint pulse now, season's not dead just yet.

We beat an in form team tonight & that gives it the edge over the Skilled win.

Gentlemen, i just got back from the pub after MANY celebratory ales.

I took a mate who saw his first ever game of football EVER - needless to say we were pumped so much it was straight to a bar to kick on.

Magnificent.

I love and hate this game of ours.

I had to vote for Geelong. I was there for that, whereas tonight I walked in the door from work at the 10th minute of the 4th quarter and ended up on the floor of my bathroom as White kicked for goal. :( :(

Supermercado said:
I had to vote for Geelong. I was there for that, whereas tonight I walked in the door from work at the 10th minute of the 4th quarter and ended up on the floor of my bathroom as White kicked for goal. :( :(

I was in Geelong and i thought it couldn't get better than that, but then it did........AMAZING 2 WEEKS OF FOOTBALL!!

have to go with the win against the bulldogs. so far down with so little left. just after farren ray kicked his goal he was giving it to moloney and patted him on the head. i loved watching him with his head down after the game... you dont give **** when your in your first 10games of footy...

I was there live last night and I have never celebrated so hard in my life, and I've been going to the footy for 11 years. Absolutely brilliant win! When Jeff White kicked that goal I jumped up and down like a crazy man, and then the siren went a minute later and I continued the euphoric celebrations!

Out of the past two weeks, last night's win was definitely better. 22 points down with 6:40 left on the clock - at that stage, everyone I was sitting with had given up. But I have to say that our 2000 qualifying final win against the blues was a more exciting game - just!

It'll turn into a case where around 80,000 people will say they were at the game, when it was only 32,000.

SUNDAY 28th August. MCG. Essendon V Melbourne. 2:10pm. BE THERE!!!

Being from Geelong, I have to go with that game. I've been waiting a lifetime for that win, and it came in the best way possible! :D

What other close and exciting wins have there been over the years? I'm talking about memorable ones, like this Bulldogs match and that Carlton match. Certainly those two, plus the Geelong one will be remembered by the Melbourne faithful, but have there been any others in recent years?

It's not a close finish but Rd. 2, 1998 is a personal favourite. Coming off the spoon, having been done over by Freo in Rd. 1 and with the world class talent of Donald Cockatoo-Collins in the side we came out and absolutely murdered North in the first half. 7 goals up at half time before the inevitable comeback. It got back to 1pt halfway through the last quarter before Gary Lyon went into the centre and layed a ripper tackle. Suddenly we kick the next 4, including the Ox's big turn around snap shot from the pocket, and I lost the plot. Top game even if the final margin means it'll never be considered a "classic" by anyone else.

Queens Birthday '98 against Collingwood is amongst my favourites. Sean Smith and Brent Grgic running riot with one of the Rocca's having a shot to win it and hitting the top of the post. Hawthorn by a point on Friday night in 1999 was a shocking game, and sealed by a point punched through from a ruck contest, but it was a 1pt win nonetheless. Leoncelli's goal right at the end in Adelaide after the Crows had come back and taken the lead a few years back was a classic.

The only other two times, other than Saturday night, that I remember having to listen to such a game on the radio was vs Carlton @ Optus in '98 (James McDonald goals with the dubious decision as it looks like a point) and vs Geelong @ MCG in '01.

On the other side of the coin I'm thinking Farmer beating us after the siren, last year's Essendon final, North beating us by a point in 1999 AND 2000 (especially '99 when they were 6pts down and kicked seven f'ing behinds in a row)

tdubfleet said:
Roos have the shinboner spirit, now the dees have the 'Range Rover' spirit, able to pull themselves out of any situation :D

Ripper call buddy :p

Good post Supermercado.

That win against the Roos in '98 was one of the twilight games, Saturday afternoon - I was there. That game against Adelaide when Leoncelli kicked the winner was a ripper too. Ladhams kicked a goal to put the Crows up by 2 or 4 points with 33 seconds on the clock. White got the hitout, down to Junior who went for a torp but it fell off the side of his boot and ran away out of bounds about 70m out from our goal. Then Ox got a huge hitout which Leoncelli ran onto and goaled from about 35-40m out on a 45 degree angle. Top game.

Also, our win in 2003 at Optus against Carlton where we won by 7 points. Down by about 30-odd late in the 3rd quarter, we steamrolled them in the last. Greeny kicked 4 or 5 I think.

Leoncellis kick didn't spin well at all, it was a real mungrel punt but it went straight through the middle.

one of our best wins IMO was against the lions at the Gabba in 2002, last time we have won up their. after one of the worst quarters of footy i've ever seen us play we somehow came back, mainly through neitz and one. great game