Libba39

How does everyone see our forward line coming together in the post-Hall era?

Obviously there is a huge gap to fill but do we really have anyone to do the job or should we be looking to draft or trade for a mature-age player. Some options are:

Minson - would be looking to ruck more if Hudson retires or possibility of trade to GWS or Gold Coast if uncontracted

Roughead - seems to be struggling with injuries and attitude. Class act and could do the job as a part-time forward / ruck only

Lake - who knows where Brian is at? Not a great set shot for goal either and the backline struggles without him.

Hahn - out of left field but has done well for willy and could be a stop-gap until Tom Hill gets going if we enter a rebuilding phase

Panos - playing in the Willy reserves and not setting the world on fire it seems. Possibly not at the club next year

Ed Barlow - ok mark but doubtful of his smarts around goal and whether his first 5-10 yards are quick enough.

J Grant - needs to add at least 10 kgs before he can become a serious threat to the best backmen. Form this year has been patchy at best after a flying start against the bombers. May have to fight for his place in the side in 2012 unless he improves his consistency.

Here's how I see our forward line shaping up next year:

Half Forward: Dahlhaus Jones Higgins
Full Foward: Giansiracusa XXXXX Roughead

Personally I would love to see Grant start his pre-season early and really take it to the next level. He has the smarts, skills, and speed to worry opponents but needs the strength and commitment to back it up.

Anyone else think Grant has the second year blues? A good pre season, put a bit of muscle on and I think he will do well.

likewise Liam Jones, he is our next best thing!!!

How does everyone see our forward line coming together in the post-Hall era?

Obviously there is a huge gap to fill but do we really have anyone to do the job or should we be looking to draft or trade for a mature-age player. Some options are:

Minson - would be looking to ruck more if Hudson retires or possibility of trade to GWS or Gold Coast if uncontracted

Roughead - seems to be struggling with injuries and attitude. Class act and could do the job as a part-time forward / ruck only

Lake - who knows where Brian is at? Not a great set shot for goal either and the backline struggles without him.

Hahn - out of left field but has done well for willy and could be a stop-gap until Tom Hill gets going if we enter a rebuilding phase

Panos - playing in the Willy reserves and not setting the world on fire it seems. Possibly not at the club next year

Ed Barlow - ok mark but doubtful of his smarts around goal and whether his first 5-10 yards are quick enough.

J Grant - needs to add at least 10 kgs before he can become a serious threat to the best backmen. Form this year has been patchy at best after a flying start against the bombers. May have to fight for his place in the side in 2012 unless he improves his consistency.

Here's how I see our forward line shaping up next year:

Half Forward: Dahlhaus Jones Higgins
Full Foward: Giansiracusa XXXXX Roughead

Personally I would love to see Grant start his pre-season early and really take it to the next level. He has the smarts, skills, and speed to worry opponents but needs the strength and commitment to back it up.

I really don't think Grant will be anything more than a HFF, Bob Murphy 2005 type player. For FF and CHF I think that Liam Jones, Matthew Panos, Ayce Cordy, Jordan Roughead (Switching with Minno), have much more potential as a forward spine in coming years. In 5 years maybe our fwd line looks like this

FF: Z:Skinner T:Hill/M: Panos (Switching with Roughy) A.Hooper
HFF: J:Grant L:Jones J:Sherman

Perfect world:
- Dalhaus develops a midfield role in the mould of G. Ablett/C.Rioli/D.Rodan
- A few or all of Zeph (L.Jurrah) T.Hill Panos (M.Pavlich) Roughy (S.Mumford) Hooper (S.Milne(Hopefully a more likeable bloke)) develop into top flight players
- Vezs switching in the midfield/wing with Sherman playing a Gia-like role
- Jones playing a N.Riewoldt/T.Cloke role off CHF
- Grant playing a high lead up/crumbing/running ahead of the defence role
- A.Cordy as the B.Lake role as wildcard up forward
- S.Reid bulks up and is our D.Swan clone

We can all dare to dream

Pretty much agree with Footscrazy.

Until Hill/Panos is ready Roughead/Cordy (2nd ruck) plays key forward, with Lake/Williams/Minson to play swingman roles there, or at times play a very small forward line circa 2009.

Higgins will be a Mid/HBF for mine, which allows Zeph to become that extra dymanic FP. Daulhaus will most likely be the 6th forward over Sherman/Vesz who will play more as wingmen, but that will rotate from time to time.

What do you guys reckon about J.Grant, I doubt he could ever be a hulking power forward. Much more suited to a Gia/Bob type role...

After this years showing, Higgins for a HBF or wing or DEF MID. Again, very like Bob

Maybe we go back to our smaller unpredictable forward line until a key position player develops or we trade a forward in as i don't think any of our talls are capable of being a power full forward yet.

HF: Dalhaus Jones Sherman
FF: Veszpremi Giansiracusa Minson/Roughead

Actually, Panos has been as a centre half-back in both the reserves and the Williamstown seniors. That role doesn't take advantage of how good of a shot at goal he is but he was best on ground against the Northern Bullants reserves and has been more then reasonable in the seniors.

He can fill two different roles which means that he is actually quite a valuable commodity.

Grant gets lost up the ground, but when he does manage to get involved in a contest, he is pretty good. Good in the air, good at ground level, great hands, quick and smart. Those are the reasons we drafted him so high, he just needs a chance to use them more often.

Put him at FF in a leading role, and just leave him there -- thats his natural spot.

Jones obviously we play up the ground as a roaming CHF.

Our resting ruck we play close to goal as the long bomb target - Minson, Roughead or Cordy, depending on how our ruck stocks are going at any given time.

Sherman....Jones........Guido
Dal...........Grant.........resting ruck

We have recruited pretty well in the big forward department, but I think that most of the big options (Grant, Cordy, Jones, Roughead etc) are still a few years off performing consistently yet.

Mitch Hahn could be worth hanging on to for another year, yes that could work. Wouldn’t leave as big a hole I guess. Just go back to playing that bullocking, high full-forward role he played previously. Would arguably be more effective with Dahlhaus, Hooper etc, there now. Could Roughead be a goal square full forward in the Drew Petrie mould? Would allow us to effectively play 2 ruckman without necessarily hurting us around the ground.

Could be worth looking at a mature aged forward from domestic competitions to rookie list/ pick up late in the draft. Josh Smith (East Perth) or a Darren Ewing (NT Thunder), not to necessarily revolve the forward line around, but to at least provide a backup plan or a second option. Both very different players, but both are definitely capable.

Grant gets lost up the ground, but when he does manage to get involved in a contest, he is pretty good. Good in the air, good at ground level, great hands, quick and smart. Those are the reasons we drafted him so high, he just needs a chance to use them more often.

Put him at FF in a leading role, and just leave him there -- thats his natural spot.

Our resting ruck we play close to goal as the long bomb target - Minson, Roughead or Cordy, depending on how our ruck stocks are going at any given time.

Sherman....Jones........Guido
Dal...........Grant.........resting ruck

Agree Stefoid: your take is close to the mark in my view. Higgins, Veszpremi, Wallis, Liberatore and maybe Skinner to also play up forward when rotations require and form demands an inclusion in the senior side.

If Panos or Tom Hill develop as hoped, the mix might change again. I think that Grant should be given an extended go playing out of the goal square once Barry retires.

Anyone else think Grant has the second year blues?

Why doesn't Ward have second year blues, then? Short answer is, neither Grant nor Ward are second year players.

There's a guy playing for Casey, could be worth a look?

I'll look at him right after I finish sticking needles in my ****.

Jones is going to be our monster moving forward. Haven't seen a set of mitts like that on a Bulldogs player since the Dynamic Daylesford Dynamo

Will Jones be more of a CHF??? I see Grant or Panos as leading forwards.

Grant gets lost up the ground

Will Jones be more of a CHF??? I see Grant or Panos as leading forwards.

Interesting debate this.
I always thought Grant close to goal and Jones up the ground but am starting to change my mind.

Grant really battled early in his career with his kicking but seems to be alot better now. His field kicking to a lead has been sensational this year. He also has pace to play a lead up forward role. You mention he gets lost up the ground but I think its more about the style of footy being played across all teams. The best lead up forward in the comp has battled this year... Reiwoldt.
Grant is never going to put on weight enough to be a bustling forward out of the square. No point hoping he will.. So I think his pace and kicking to a lead is better suited to a lead up lead up than Jones.

Jones on the other hand is the best contested mark we have seen at the club in some time (currently 4th in comp)...... Where do contested marks hurt sides.... inside 50!!

Cloke (1st in contested marks)... primarly deep forward - we all know of his kicking dramas
Podsiadly (2nd in contested marks) .... deep 50 player (also has kicking trouble)
Petrie I think is third..... also used to have kicking trouble - deep forward
Jones is fourth - yet I wouldnt mind betting the % of his marks are outside 50 compared to the other 3.
Josh Kennedy rounds out the top 5...Tippett also in the top 10.

You seeing a pattern here ??????

So I think the kid is more likely to develop his body for deep forward. The one ? is his kicking for goal... well his kicking full stop.
I see alot of a young Jack Reiwoldt in Jones. Good hands bad kick. Jack fixed his kicking and his contested marks are more suited to deep forward. So I think thats where Jones may well develop.

So for me - develop lead up CHF's - Play Jones deep

There's a guy playing for Casey, could be worth a look?

Why? So that, in the absolute best case scenario, we can have this same conversation 2 years from now? Why take such a massive risk, and no way can it be argued that it wouldn't be, for something that has very little actual upside. So that we can fulfill our wish for him 5 years too late?

*Hall and Hudson will both be retired
*Gia, Gilbee will both still be on the list, so:

HF: Sherman, Jones, Dahlhaus
FF: Grant, Roughhead, Gia

Hall retiring allows us to play a 2nd ruck with Minson the number one ruck and roughy playing forward as well as in the ruck. Gia would prob win our goal kicking next year.

Full team:

FB: Wood, Lake (marcovic if he is gone), Morris
HB: Higgins, Williams, Murphy
C: Ward, Boyd, Cross
HF: Sherman, Jones, Dahlhaus
FF: Grant, Roughhead, Gia
R: Minson, Cooney, Griffen
Int: Libba, Wallis, Picken, Barlow

Emerg/may not be on list: Hill, Stack, Addison, Gilbee, Hargrave, Reid

If that flog at Casey was drafted by the WB, I would not purchase a club membership.

Interesting debate this.
I always thought Grant close to goal and Jones up the ground but am starting to change my mind.

Grant really battled early in his career with his kicking but seems to be alot better now. His field kicking to a lead has been sensational this year. He also has pace to play a lead up forward role. You mention he gets lost up the ground but I think its more about the style of footy being played across all teams. The best lead up forward in the comp has battled this year... Reiwoldt.
Grant is never going to put on weight enough to be a bustling forward out of the square. No point hoping he will.. So I think his pace and kicking to a lead is better suited to a lead up lead up than Jones.

Jones on the other hand is the best contested mark we have seen at the club in some time (currently 4th in comp)...... Where do contested marks hurt sides.... inside 50!!

Cloke (1st in contested marks)... primarly deep forward - we all know of his kicking dramas
Podsiadly (2nd in contested marks) .... deep 50 player (also has kicking trouble)
Petrie I think is third..... also used to have kicking trouble - deep forward
Jones is fourth - yet I wouldnt mind betting the % of his marks are outside 50 compared to the other 3.
Josh Kennedy rounds out the top 5...Tippett also in the top 10.

You seeing a pattern here ??????

So I think the kid is more likely to develop his body for deep forward. The one ? is his kicking for goal... well his kicking full stop.
I see alot of a young Jack Reiwoldt in Jones. Good hands bad kick. Jack fixed his kicking and his contested marks are more suited to deep forward. So I think thats where Jones may well develop.

So for me - develop lead up CHF's - Play Jones deep

You can play them both deep in different roles - one leading and one as a long target, but really Jones has proved so good at leading up the ground and taking a grab that I would be hesitant to take him out of that role.

Akthough these days its not as if the deep forwards dont run all the way to the center of the ground anyway I suppose.