Our third quarters

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

Just makes me sad to think about the red and blue when I see 'proud' associated with a 94 point loss.

I don't feel good about it either, but it's all we've got at the minute. We just need to keep chipping away and bringing those numbers down.

Indeed.

As someone said on Demon Land, however, in response to a post about not expecting miracles.

Is not being embarrassed every week a miracle?

Indeed.

As someone said on Demon Land, however, in response to a post about not expecting miracles.

Is not being embarrassed every week a miracle?

Where we are right now: yes.

Although I'm still embarassed about yesterday.

If I recall last year it was our starts to games that was shocking, we have improved a bit in that area. Other teams cotton onto things pretty quickly, I'm sure the eagles knew if they came out after half time roaring fire that we would capitulate like we had the previous two weeks. It becomes a leadership, experience and team mental battle to not let this trend continue, obviously far easier said than done!

Where we are right now: yes.

Although I'm still embarassed about yesterday.
What it ultimately comes down to is whether another coach would have built this list and experienced these results. Minus Scully (and plus two first rounders), Neeld has had the run of this list.

Live by the sword.

And another thing, which you as a teacher will know, I went through high school as the kid who you wouldn't talk football with. I was happy to have a discussion but it always ended up with how bad the Dees were unless I could avoid it.

The reason I'm so pissed off about this is that this club has done nothing to convince people younger than me, and kids still in school, that football is worth the effort.

And another thing, which you as a teacher will know, I went through high school as the kid who you wouldn't talk football with. I was happy to have a discussion but it always ended up with how bad the Dees were unless I could avoid it.

The reason I'm so pissed off about this is that this club has done nothing to convince people younger than me, and kids still in school, that football is worth the effort.

We've all been through that though. I was there for the merger game in 1996, there for all the shitty games of 1997, 2003 etc and copped it from all my Hawthorn and Geelong supporting mates whose clubs were generally up and about more than us. I go with a mate who was there through the very late 70s and 80s as well and, unfortunately for this club, it's nothing new. Sustained and consistent success has eluded this club since the 1960's and we aren't a fashionable club for others to support at the minute. No argument from me there.

But here we are anyway. Everyone on this board still grew up and stayed a Demon fan. There are still hundreds of thousands of us scattered across the globe and that won't change. We aren't flash right now but things can, and will, change. That may be a few years away but we will get there.

I really do agree that our biggest struggle at the moment is a mental/confidence thing. That first half we managed to stay in the contest, kick a few goals, and you could see the players starting to gain in confidence and back each other. It started to look exciting, and reminded me why I go to the football, that it can be enjoyable.

Unfortunately the eagles came out hard in the second half, kicked the first few goals, and once the lead started to balloon, our confidence totally deflated. As others have said once this happened the running stopped. It just shows how important getting a good start each quarter is for us at the moment.

I will say one thing I noticed at the start of the third quarter was how quiet the crowd was. There really wasn't any sort of roar from the crowd that may have given the players a bit of a spark. I know that shouldn't really matter but it was just something that stood out for me.

Hopefully there is another decent crowd at the G on Sunday, it is have a kick after the game day so hopefully that will draw a few more supporters. If the boys can snag a few goals and get an early lead, I reckon the crowd will be up and about and hopefully we can spur them onto a good win!

We did still give up 60 points though which is a fair bit for one half. The defence was there and it wasn't. When it came to close in tight and everything we scrapped like we haven't all years. Our defensive structures were rubbish at time though and we still make some fundamental defensive errors, e.g. letting Hurn bomb it from 60.
Yeah this is pretty accurate thinking about it...

I will say one thing I noticed at the start of the third quarter was how quiet the crowd was. There really wasn't any sort of roar from the crowd that may have given the players a bit of a spark. I know that shouldn't really matter but it was just something that stood out for me.

I've always thought the club should try to organise so stadium restrictions can be relaxed as far as various kinds of crowd participation go - noisemakers, drums, sizes of flags, allowing some musical instruments within the cheersquad, etc. Having as intimidating an atmosphere on game day as possible would certainly help matters.

You're getting worse (if that's possible).

It wasn't the pre-match address.
How about not being a w***er, bing?

What was it then?

If you think that this situation is at all satisfactory, fine. But if you refuse to see it from another point of view than you can take Biff's advice from last season and...

you guessed it

GAGF.

This is a forum where everyone is allowed to express their views, there's no need to hide behind an alias and take pot shots at someone else because they have a different opinion.

Sometimes it's worth remembering that we all love the football club.

I would like to say I posted this at 7pm ... good to see some making a thread about it.

In our first three games of the year coming out in the 3rd Qtr we have been out scored

Melb 2.2 (14 point) to Opposition 24.14 (158 points)

0.1 point vs Port
1 goal vs Ess
1.1 vs Eagles

When people say its conditioning I could handle it but after a 20 in rest what the hell are they doing at half time? Does the coach or coaches put them to sleep .. man give them all 5 cans of redbull come out and put 15 in defence. To only kick 14 points in 90 minutes of footy is just plain disgraceful and says to me they just don't give a toss or they just don't want to put in for the coaches.

I would like to say I posted this at 7pm ... good to see some making a thread about it.

In our first three games of the year coming out in the 3rd Qtr we have been out scored

Melb 2.2 (14 point) to Opposition 24.14 (158 points)

0.1 point vs Port
1 goal vs Ess
1.1 vs Eagles

When people say its conditioning I could handle it but after a 20 in rest what the hell are they doing at half time? Does the coach or coaches put them to sleep .. man give them all 5 cans of redbull come out and put 15 in defence. To only kick 14 points in 90 minutes of footy is just plain disgraceful and says to me they just don't give a toss or they just don't want to put in for the coaches.

It's a damning stat and it was like watching 2 very different sides on the weekend

We made some horrible errors in the 1st half, but the intensity was there, the desire was there, the confidence was building

After half time, it's like a whole different group walked out

The eagles got a quick run on, the umpires gave some flipping astonishingly bad frees in front of goal (how many goals did they get from bad decision? not stating its the reason we lost, but I recall 5 absolute shockers plus a non mark to Kennedy), and we just disappeared

It's almost like someone said to them at half time "don't forget, the eagles are aiming for top 4 this year" and the players just dropped their heads

hell are they doing at half time?

I'm reliably informed Lucas Cook was the principal half-time orange cutter and his absence is really hitting the club hard. No word as yet on Cale Morton's cordial mixing skills - will post again when the news comes through.

How about not being a Moo, bing?

What was it then?

If you think that this situation is at all satisfactory, fine. But if you refuse to see it from another point of view than you can take Biff's advice from last season and...

you guessed it

GAGF.

This is a forum where everyone is allowed to express their views, there's no need to hide behind an alias and take pot shots at someone else because they have a different opinion.

I don't think anyone would, or could, question your love or passion for the footy club mate. I just think you are channeling your energies at Neeld but not seeing the bigger picture - a picture that includes horrible drafting and a pretty poor culture that was in place before Neeld arrived. I agree that he has had time to mould the list but we have severe holes that are tough to fill. His off season additions aren't looking all that flash at the minute, but, we have drafted well as both Viney and Jones have had an immediate impact and it wouldn't surprise me to see Dean Kent in the side over the next few weeks either. Clark was one of his big recruits as well, so it's not as if everything he has tried to do has been a miss. He also moved Cale Morton on so, hey, that has to be a positive. But not everything he touches will turn to gold.

I'll re-iterate that I don't believe Neeld is blameless at all. You would be insane to let him off the hook. But there are so many other factors at play here that it's short sighted of us to simply pot the coach, something you've done in a variety of threads over the last couple of weeks. You are always welcome to your opinion mate, but I think you need to widen your view of the situation just a little.

We did still give up 60 points though which is a fair bit for one half. The defence was there and it wasn't. When it came to close in tight and everything we scrapped like we haven't all years. Our defensive structures were rubbish at time though and we still make some fundamental defensive errors, e.g. letting Hurn bomb it from 60.

You have to remember we were facing arguably the best forwardline in the comp

Is this available online?

I saw some guy on youtube has posted it but he did it from filming his tv, and the sound quality is so bad I can't recommend it because it's too difficult to listen to. not sure if there's a proper copy of it out there

Raise your hand if you watched the first half highlights then closed your browser
images

The eagles got a quick run on, the umpires gave some flipping astonishingly bad frees in front of goal (how many goals did they get from bad decision? not stating its the reason we lost, but I recall 5 absolute shockers plus a non mark to Kennedy), and we just disappeared
Spot on, I reckon.

We were never going to win, but the run their forwards got early in the third was enough to make the team throw in the towel, methinks. Does that make it okay? Hell no, but it's not a coaching problem when players drop their heads in such a dramatic way mid-quarter.

(This is not a pro-Neeld post, it's just not anti-Neeld)

Did anyone see the hawks/pies game yesterday?
Admittedly the pies are in much better form than us but when the hawks got a run on in the fourth after what looked to be a close game, the pies didn't drop their heads and kept at them.
Why can't we do this when teams get a run on us?
From listening to the radio when we played the bombers as soon as they got a run on in the first quarter the players dropped their heads, when the eagles got a run on saturday we dropped our heads, i haven't seen anything of rd 1 but i'd be willing to vouch that the same thing happened.
Is it just confidence or does our game plan not allow us to stop a runaway team

How about not being a Moo, bing?

What was it then?

you guessed it

GAGF.

I think I saw somewhere that it was actually the pre pre game which is simply a reiteration of what is covered during the week. It is held before the pre game warm-up.
Not sure if is true but may account for the nature it was given in.
Stick by your opinions, don't care if I agree or disagree, makes for better debate if there is a vigorous exchange of valid views. Long may your passion for our club burn.