Outsider's Perspective

Feel free to leave your South Australian chip at the door.

No chip (isn't that what this thread is about "Outsider's Prospective")? Essendon are a very proud club (as you should be). But i would think the Lions at the moment are the most successful club in the AFL (for the short term atleast).

But i would think the Lions at the moment are the most successful club in the AFL (for the short term atleast).

Chad. Chad. Chad. What has gotten into you mate?

Lets rub out all of this short term and even long term bullcrap. We ARE the most successful team in the league. We HAVE won the most premierships.

When you make statements like that, you look at the results since the beginning until now. This selecting eras stuff is you trying to twist our success, but in reality my friend deep down, you must know we are the most successful team in the AFL.

Chad. Chad. Chad. What has gotten into you mate?

Lets rub out all of this short term and even long term bullcrap. We ARE the most successful team in the league. We HAVE won the most premierships.

When you make statements like that, you look at the results since the beginning until now. This selecting eras stuff is you trying to twist our success, but in reality my friend deep down, you must know we are the most successful team in the AFL.

Nothing has gotten in to me, and i am not having a go at Essendon. I highly respect the bombers, but the thread was about outsiders perspective, and personally (this is just my opinion) the most successful team in the AFL is the Lions. That is just my perspective agree or disagree. That is what it is all about people having different perspectives isn't it?

Does it really matter how many flags any of these lesser clubs won in their own auskick leagues?

As for arrogant? I know I am, I make no apologies for it, I support the greatest football club to ever exist. I'm proud of the club, I love it, and nothing will ever make me any other way. People think arrogance can only be ugly, it isn't always so, and often people will mistake pride for arrogance.

The definition of what i like to call "w***er" supporters to me is: Can you look at a player, regardless of the jumper on his back, and make an honest unbias apprasial of his ability.

For example: My hatred for Carlton could probably be defined by a professional as an illness. Fevola; met him (and his wife), I won't send the swear filter into melt down, to put it simply; the mere sight of him revolts me. However, I'll be the first to say; 55 metres out, strong wind in his face, massive pressure situation ... my life on the line .... I'd probably trust no one else to kick it (especially if we were the oppostion that day :mad:).

If you can look past your own club and see footballers and football for what they/it really is then you can be as proud/arrogant as you want. If you can't ... then sorry, whoever you barrack for, you're just another nuffy.

Meh, we are a powerhouse in the AFL. Successful on and off the field. Perhaps not lately but that doesn't just wipe the past quarter of a century away. Our list is looking good and we've recruited well over the past few seasons. We'll win flag number 17 soon and you'll see the true meaning of arrogance:D:thumbsu:

That is what it is all about people having different perspectives isn't it?

Yes it is, but we're trying to teach you a different way at looking at things. Which I believe, is the better way at looking at things.

The only problem I have with a few Essendon supporters is that they overrate our list.

I'm not sure which particular posters you're referring to, but on a more general level, I don't think we do necessarily overrate our list. I think almost all (with the notable exception of mustard) are fairly in touch with the fact that we've got a long way to go.

Rather, I think we have lofty expectations for a lot of our younger players which are often misconstrued as overrating our list. These expectations seem to be dismissed because a lot of the guys carrying our hopes for the future don't have that many runs on the board. The thing is though, largely due to injury and condition upon arrival, they don't have many games on the board to prove themselves either. I think that's proven in the fact that we have at least 5 more guys on our senior list that have played 1-25 games than any other side in the competition.

Right now, a large percentage of those young guys were brought to the club as very highly rated juniors, and I think we have every right to trust in them until we're proven wrong, if we ever are.

If you can look past your own club and see footballers and football for what they/it really is then you can be as proud/arrogant as you want. If you can't ... then sorry, whoever you barrack for, you're just another nuffy.
We'll win flag number 17 soon and you'll see the true meaning of arrogance:D:thumbsu:
Right now, a large percentage of those young guys were brought to the club as very highly rated juniors, and I think we have every right to trust in them until we're proven wrong, if we ever are.

Great posts fellaz, 100% agree with all three posts. :thumbsu:

Yes it is, but we're trying to teach you a different way at looking at things. Which I believe, is the better way at looking at things.

I think i have always based how i perceive teams (probably wrongly) on my own living memory, sort of the past 10-15 years (since i am 25 and getting old), which in my memory has the Lions in 01,02 and 03 dominating the game. There were teams along the way (Essendon in 2000 of course one of them and even my mob in 2004), but for the Lions to maintain that dominance for so long, certainly stamps them in my mind as the most successful.

Again i am not trying to be sarcastic or have a go or anything. I have a healthy respect for Essendon and we have had some great players for us come from the bombers (Wanganeen and Hardwick come to mind first).

Fair enough Chad, can definitely see where you're coming from.

I'm not sure which particular posters you're referring to, but on a more general level, I don't think we do necessarily overrate our list. I think almost all (with the notable exception of mustard) are fairly in touch with the fact that we've got a long way to go.

Rather, I think we have lofty expectations for a lot of our younger players which are often misconstrued as overrating our list. These expectations seem to be dismissed because a lot of the guys carrying our hopes for the future don't have that many runs on the board. The thing is though, largely due to injury and condition upon arrival, they don't have many games on the board to prove themselves either. I think that's proven in the fact that we have at least 5 more guys on our senior list that have played 1-25 games than any other side in the competition.

I can certainly understand what you're saying regarding expectations on players. I wasn't specifically referring to any users on this site or any others, I've had conversations with plenty of fellow Essendon supporters who think Gumbleton will be a superstar because he was pick 2, or that Stanton is the superstar midfielder we've been longing for. I'm not one to put expectations on the players as what number they're drafted at is irrelevant once they enter the system.

The potential of a player is great and all but when all they're showing is that and can't get on the ground consistently or produce the quality every game is our downfall with a team full of kids and some of our supporters see one of those younger players make a fantastic play once or twice in a game and immediately label him a future superstar.

I'm not pointing out anyone on here for doing it, just what I've experienced when attending games or conversing with fellow supporters.

No chance of Essendon losing by more than 100 points and costing Adelaide a chance in the top 4 I thought. I knew they had injuries but with 4 players playing their last game, especially rama with all the history, surely not. Then they came up with such a spineless, gutless performance I realised i would hate them forever...

Sincerest apologies that we got flogged in the last game of the season where we had so many injuries we had to name an injured player as an emergency. It was all part of the plan to deny the Cows a top four spot because, lets face it, they were really contenders for the big one last year.

Still if the Cows were the real deal they'd be able to win from any position in the eight wouldn't they? :confused:

I feel sorry for your wife you sook. Does she ever call you a little bitch and make you cry? :):thumbsu:

Maybe in VFL/AFL history, but certainly not in AFL history.

Just to flog a dead horse, what is the difference between Hawthorn's 1989 flag and Collingwood's 1990 flag?

Both were won by a pack of utter *****, and both were against the same opposition all year. Yet one counts and one doesn't?

If i interpreted the OP post correctly i think he is talking about Essendon supporters on BF rather than at the footy.

Originally i had been referring to BF supporters only, however it is also interesting to hear people's thoughts about gameday supporters.

Agree with this.

However, for what it's worth I'm one of the Essendon haters and I haven't found the fans particularly bad. I even married one.

But for me it's about the 93 preliminary final (bulldogs supporters probably hate Adelaide for the 97 prelim as well so goes both ways). I was just starting to get over it when round 22 last year arrived. No chance of Essendon losing by more than 100 points and costing Adelaide a chance in the top 4 I thought. I knew they had injuries but with 4 players playing their last game, especially rama with all the history, surely not. Then they came up with such a spineless, gutless performance I realised i would hate them forever...

You started well but seriously get over it. Essendon always try to win, no exceptions. And you can't blame other teams for your own team's performance. If you wanted a top 4 spot you needed to play better during the season.

I'm the first to say I have two different personality's, football and non-football. Mr Football is a jerk

Nice quote.

Nothing has gotten in to me, and i am not having a go at Essendon. I highly respect the bombers, but the thread was about outsiders perspective, and personally (this is just my opinion) the most successful team in the AFL is the Lions. That is just my perspective agree or disagree. That is what it is all about people having different perspectives isn't it?

This thread is about an outsider's perspective of the supporters, not the club's success.

As for arrogant? I know I am, I make no apologies for it, I support the greatest football club to ever exist. I'm proud of the club, I love it, and nothing will ever make me any other way. People think arrogance can only be ugly, it isn't always so, and often people will mistake pride for arrogance.

The definition of what i like to call "w***er" supporters to me is: Can you look at a player, regardless of the jumper on his back, and make an honest unbias apprasial of his ability.

Good input :thumbsu: