Fastcrew

Cleveland Cavaliers
Last nights game was an absolute shocker. Rockets have gone of everywhere. Fans complaining about Fevs effort, Gibbs been a lost player, Ratten not being forceful effectively being a bad coach. I had these reactions when we started losing nearly every match in 02 and 03 but through those years down the bottom of the ladder I learbt not to overeact and be patient. People tend to forget 2 years back in 07 we were 15th and at the start of 08 most critics and media experts tipped us to be in the bottom 3. Last year we surprised everyone and picked up 10 wins which people forgot was a bonus. I do not believe things will click like with Hawthorn in 2008. What Essendon are doing right now is surprising everyone by winning more games then expected. Last year we joined the pack of final hunters and improving on that is hard. Making the finals i believe will be the hardest part of this journey and after 3 years in the final 8 a 17th premiership beckons. When that time is now we will have a more solid structure and a fairly consistent team and there will be a real fight for your spot in the team. So please think positive thoughts we can still make finals and we wont win 9 of the next 10 matches because we have a young and inconsistent side.:)

Everyone is pissed off, and rightly so. We go to the city on a freezing cold night, dressed in the colours that we love and expect to put up a fight.

Last night, we rolled over and died. We all have a right to be completely disgusted.

People are ranting, and yes some of the comments are an over-reaction (Drop Fev, Get Buckley etc.)

However, every supporter who is pissed off (all I hope) are not over-reacting.

This aint about finals, we will/should still make them off our run home. However, that game was truely pathetic, and there should not have been one Carlton supporter who awoke this morning happy.

I felt physically ill throughout the final quarter, where I saw our season, slipping away ...

Last nights game was an absolute shocker. Rockets have gone of everywhere. Fans complaining about Fevs effort, Gibbs been a lost player, Ratten not being forceful effectively being a bad coach. I had these reactions when we started losing nearly every match in 02 and 03 but through those years down the bottom of the ladder I learbt not to overeact and be patient. People tend to forget 2 years back in 07 we were 15th and at the start of 08 most critics and media experts tipped us to be in the bottom 3. Last year we surprised everyone and picked up 10 wins which people forgot was a bonus. I do not believe things will click like with Hawthorn in 2008. What Essendon are doing right now is surprising everyone by winning more games then expected. Last year we joined the pack of final hunters and improving on that is hard. Making the finals i believe will be the hardest part of this journey and after 3 years in the final 8 a 17th premiership beckons. When that time is now we will have a more solid structure and a fairly consistent team and there will be a real fight for your spot in the team. So please think positive thoughts we can still make finals and we wont win 9 of the next 10 matches because we have a young and inconsistent side.:)

I appreciate where you're coming from mate but you clearly don't understand just how important last night's game was for us. To put up such a weak and soulless effort against a mortal enemy was a humiliation to us all so let's not try amd 'sugar coat' it hey. :(

Reaction needs to be strong. Some hard decisions need to be made and made NOW.

To the OP overreaction huh? How did you feel in the third quarter when they were getting goals at will? Did you stand up and cheer the Blues then?. I pay my hard earned money for this shit. I freeze my arse off in the cold, to watch them not give a shit. Every Carlton supporter should be embarrassed, and ****ing pissed off with the shit they served up. Another big game and we come up with the shit, a finals game for us and that is what we do. Imagine if we play finals, we will be the laughing stock and probably get beaten by 100 point. So no we aren't overreacting , we are angry as members and supporters we had to go through that shit last night. Three hours of my life I will never get back.

Some of what has been said has been an over-reaction sure. However, when you are falsely lied to for the whole year puts emotions before reality. "They know we're coming"

I love arrogance I really do, however only if you can BACK IT UP. Clearly we can't do that so we need to eat the humble pie right now and cop all the abuse we are going to get.

We can't defend ourselves last night was pathetic. The coaching is pathetic, I really am starting to wonder what Ratten is doing at some points. When he is getting out-coached with a top 8 list.

If we don't finish in the top 8, I don't think Ratten should be there. I'd say with all the confidence in the world that 90% of coaches in the AFL could take our list to top 8.

Have the players lost respect? Did they ever have any? Ratten needs to show some balls and start out coaching the other teams.

Sure its not all Ratten's fault. We have passengers, this has been clear for a long time, but its really getting on my nerves. I won't start another argument about which players. But we all know these passangers need to get off the train and head straight home.

Theres my rant for the day...

The passengers should be bloody ashamed of themselves dishing this kind've crap up they call football-they know who they are and hopefully they wont be at the club come years end.
I agree, we as paid up members who go to games in wind,hail or rain hoping to at least see our guys trying their heart out playing like they DONT want to play finals have a right of ripping the club apart.The club needs to go back to basics AGAIN as we're nowhere near playing finals this year,dishing crap up like they did last night.
The die hard supporters deserve more IMO!!

The facts are our list is very over rated, recruiting is poor compared to Essendon.

Last year we joined the pack of final hunters and improving on that is hard. Making the finals i believe will be the hardest part of this journey

Very true, but last night was still appalling. I've been following Carlton for 35 years, and after a while you learn to take the long view. But we were shown up for our pretensions last night. There was a defeatist air in the last part of the second quarter that reminded me of the horrors of the last few seasons under Pagan. When Houlihan missed his kick on goal at half-time it was all horribly remininiscent. That won't change until several things get fixed:

1:No Thornton, no defence. No defence, we get flogged. Gotta get more going on here than a few teenagers.

2: No Plan B, when our game plan f**** up Ratten has no ability to come up with changes. Until he gets better at re-arranging the team during the game we're going to be undone by coaches like Knights who can think on his feet.

3:A dodgy Plan A. Give it Fev, hope for Eddie to crumb a few. We have to get more goalkickers - Gibbs, Murphy, Simpson, Setanta, all have to spend time forward kicking goals.

4: Getting more out of our talent. Try Fisher in defence. He can mark well, and could become a SwanMckay (from the 70s - ask yer Grandad) floating in front of packs to pick off attacking passes, Give Garlett more games.. etc

To copy and paste what I wrote this morning:

Get a grip. Yeah, that performance was shocking but it also was the only time this season we didn't fight till the end, Adelaide game included. Geelong lost by 80 points to Collingwood last year - they didn't keel over and die.

We're a much better team than we displayed last night though the loss does make it tougher for us. Freo next week is a must win game but we get over that and we've got easy-beats Richmond. Could very well be 8-7 after 15 rounds and right back in contention.

Don't give up hope after one performance, or lack there of, abysmal as it might have been. We've been far better than that the majority of the season and hopefully it's the last time we'll be reminded of our 2007 worst.

Absolutely spot on. :thumbsu:

Everyone is pissed off, and rightly so. We go to the city on a freezing cold night, dressed in the colours that we love and expect to put up a fight.

Last night, we rolled over and died. We all have a right to be completely disgusted.

Hope that's not a wrought iron fence you're sitting on old mate. :p

Glad to see you exhibit the usual standard of class we've come to expect from you Windy Hill flogs zarky boy. :o

I was completely and utterly disgusted with their attitude and skills last night. Nearly cried, managed to control it, threw a couple of remotes around, only broke the back off one so that was ok. Rang Mum and we disected the game (did more bitching than disecting), walked home, went to bed, couldn't sleep due to being wound up over worrying how we were going to recover, then realised - hold on - yes we lost to a massive rival by a huge margin, yes we dropped out bottom lips after half time and let Essendon walk all over us, but we can bounce back from this. It's one game, not like we threw 4 in a row or a final away. I can understand why some people are calling for Ratten's head on a stick along with half the team, but we need to put faith in the them that they go into damage control this week and come out guns blazing in their gold guernseys next week and run over the top of the Dockers. If that doesn't happen and we get beaten by Richmond the week after then maybe it's time to start pointing fingers and asking questions. Until then let's give them the benefit of the doubt that they had a shocker of a game and it won't happen again. They don't put the word support in supporter for no reason, let's show them some

Lucky you weren't at the game. I was so upset, I am a bit of a pacifist but was close to punching a few people out last night.

Unfortunately I live in Tassie, so had to resort to screaming at the TV, punching couch cushions and pacing around the lounge room wearing track marks into the carpet. I'm flying over to Melb for round 19 (yes, we play Geelong) so will hopefully not experience a repeat performance. I totally feel for all the supporters at the ground, must have been just horrible

I was embarrassed, especially when Essendon fans were screaming that it was ok it's only Stevens chasing you. And it's ok it's only Stevens he's going to hang back and not attempt to try and get the ball. I had to agree with them and that was the most horrible feeling.