Magic17

Premium Platinum
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2014-07-14/port-bristles-at-chaplin-passion

What's with Boak's comments... sour grapes or what!! I don't recall home saying anything about Matty Whites pull at the jumper numerous times this year for Port.

I think he's forgetting Troy's qualities and the fact he's been included in the leadership group at the club.

And what's with the feckwits Lyon and Barrett... Gawwy should be more concerned about the passion shown by the beloved red and blue over the years... and as for Barrett... no more need be said.

Chaplin clearly being a smartar$e pulling at the jumper. hasn't done it in any games so far this year so why do it against his former club?

Just reeks of arrogance and when you are at a struggling club you open yourself up for criticism.

As a neutral that was ordinary from Chaplin. Boak had every right to return serve

Chaplin clearly being a smartar$e pulling at the jumper. hasn't done it in any games so far this year so why do it against his former club?

Just reeks of arrogance and when you are at a struggling club you open yourself up for criticism.

As a neutral that was ordinary from Chaplin. Boak had every right to return serve

It was also Chaplin's first goal for the year.
Why else would he pull the jumper? When he holds an opponent goal-less?
Please. There was nothing wrong with it at all, he was celebrating a goal.
Struggling season or not, the game you're currently playing evokes emotions.
Nothing wrong with it and a major over-reaction.

It's an unwritten rule in soccer that you don't overtly celebrate a goal when you score against your old side.
And although this isn't soccer, I thought Chappy went a bit overboard. Matty White didn't do it when he kicked his first on sunday. having said that, a bit of passion never hurt anyone. he was pumped.
I also have no problem with what Boak said. he was the first bloke to put his hand up to try to stop play when conca got knocked out.
Big storm in a teacup though, the whole lot of it.

Seemed a bit distasteful but you also don't know what's been said or going on in a game of footy. He's also been copping a bit regarding coming to the Tiges, whilst White and Shulz have been made to be one in a generation players. "we get all their duds and they get our guns" etc. I can understand why he wanted to make a bit of a statement.

I ****in loved it, EAD Pooort..
Cant wait for them to lose a few more games so they bring over the plastic seat covers from AAMI to the Adelaide Oval..

Bandwagoning *****

Also lol at Barrett calling it "contrived passion". Contrived passion is when you tug at the jumper after being there for two weeks in your first home game. That was done solely to win over a fickle supporter base.

How the F. would Barrett know what passion is sitting behind a studio desk... tosser.

JQB7k.gif

This really stunk in my eyes, how about you focus on winning games of football. Too many time this year we have headed down a similar path to this and look at where we sit on the ladder. Do you see sides like Geelong and Hawthorn giving ammunition to other sides, if it were Gunston or Tom Hawkins, or Shoenmakers or Rivers im guessing they would get a fair clip from leaders and coaches.

No need, just play the ball not the man

This really stunk in my eyes, how about you focus on winning games of football. Too many time this year we have headed down a similar path to this and look at where we sit on the ladder. Do you see sides like Geelong and Hawthorn giving ammunition to other sides, if it were Gunston or Tom Hawkins, or Shoenmakers or Rivers im guessing they would get a fair clip from leaders and coaches.

No need, just play the ball not the man

Geelong are the lippiest smart arses in the comp. Selwood, Johnson etc have been giving opposition "ammunition" for years. I can't wait as even a supporter to see our guys beat those smarmy bastards. Problem is they also walk the walk....that's the difference.

SPOT ON!

Just makes more of a mockery of the season we have had in my eyes

Saw that last night and it just reeked of sour grapes for mine from Boak. Chaplin kicks 2 important goal (his first 2 for the year as well). Players should be encouraged to show some passion, heck we've been calling a lot of our list 'soft' for most of the year for some of their efforts. Who cares if he hasn't had the same season he had last year? To me, it shows that the players are still focussed on trying their best and picking up wins.

The guy has kicked 13 goals in his 178 game career and they were only his second and third in Richmond colours. People reckon the game is getting soft these days - well if you take the passion out of the game, where will that leave us?

Lyon must have a short memory too - remember watching this and egging on our players for showing a bit of emotion? Now it's 'not a great look' - at least be consistent flog!

Kochie should pull Boak into line, 4 weeks ago they were 10/1 ,2 games clear on top. Now there looking at a 6-8 finish at best with the possibility of slipping out of the top 8 the way they're going. Boak as captain should be focussing on next weeks must win over Melbourne . I'd say Port are lucky it's at AA. Reflecting, this isn't the first time someone from Poo rt has needed to vent at RFC, who can forget Koch and his "Oh we would just sack him" line earlier this year referring to Jake's friendship with Toby M. They do seem to whinge a lot

Maybe because he hasn't kicked a goal this year?

The guy kicked a goal against his old club and then twisted the knife.
Big f'ing deal. This sort of thing happens every game.

If Port won Boak wouldn't be having a whinge. Sour f**king grapes.

I wasn't that keen on Chaplin doing that.
No biggie. I see no comparison with White though.
Should be noted that Whitey refrained from doing it on the weekend.
In the heat of the moment I actually seen it as a bit of a piss take on Matty White.
But really it was poor from Chappy.
Oh well.
I do like the way it's done in soccer though as tugga said.
It's just respectful.
And the fans really appreciate it.