Notorious

Magic, Manchester United.
Take a look at the magical drafting work from the MFC in the past three years, if we carry that work on in this years draft, i have no worries in saying we will be a top 8 contender next year.

2006:
Pick 12: James Frawely
Pick 30: Ricky Petterd
Pick 46: Colin Garland
Pick 62: Isaac Weetra
Rookie 12: Daniel Hayes

2007:
Pick 4: Cale Morton
[FONT=&quot]Pick 14: Jack Grimes
Pick 21: Adaam Maric
Pick 53: Kyle Cheney
Pick 66: Tom McNamara
Pre Season Pick 3: Stefan Martin
Rookie 3: Trent Zomer
Rookie 19: Austin Woneamirri
Rookie 35: Jake Spencer
Rookie 49: Shane Valenti

2008:
Pick 1: Jack Watts
Pick 17: Sam Blease
Pick 19: James Strauss
Pick 35: Jaime Benell
Pick 51: Neville Jetta
Pick 64: Rohan Bail
Preseason Pick 1: Liam Jurrah
Rookie 1: Jordie Mckenzie
Rookie 17: Ryhs Healy
Rookie 33: Dannie Hughs

2009:
Pick 1: Tom Scully
Pick 2: Butcher/Trengove
Pick 18: ?

[/FONT]

Yes the drafting over the past couple of years seems to be quite good but i would stop short of declaring us final 8 contenders next year,8 wins next season should be the aim!

What are peoples thoughts on Addam Maric?

What kind of player is he? how good can he get?

I'm just a bit sceptical at this stage, we picked him up with Pick 21.

Where Scott Selwood went at pick 22 and he has some nice qualities.

S Selwood has shown no more than Maric other than to have the name Selwood & to have got a few more games up, also ones a defender the other a forward. Maric missed most of this year with injury and was a school boy last year, if he's fit next year & can't get in our side then you might start to worry

Maric going to be a gun small forward..
he showed some glimpses of brilliance prior to going down with that shoulder injury..

It was against West Coast and another game against Brisbane from memory when I thought this kid has something special.

I'm just a bit sceptical at this stage, we picked him up with Pick 21.

And what has Scott Selwood shown that you rate.

He hasn't done much else apart from looking like being a young run with player.

Maric has a bit of magic but isn't overly quick. Very strong overhead at 178 and good goal sneak/crummer but IMO needs to get his core strength up, get a engine and push for a midfield position.

Watch Bernie Vince in the finals Addam or Lecras nxt year.

S Selwood has shown no more than Maric other than to have the name Selwood & to have got a few more games up, also ones a defender the other a forward. Maric missed most of this year with injury and was a school boy last year, if he's fit next year & can't get in our side then you might start to worry

Fair call, What about Dalziell he went at 46?

I do remember that game v the saints at GC where he showed some glimpses.

I'm happy to call the 2007 draft a big success with the first 3 picks showing they are up to AFL standard. Particularly making the tough call on TJ, it worked a treat. Finding Wonna and Martin in the rookie and PSD respectively are icing on the cake.

2008 is too early to call with the first 3 picks unknown. Plently of potential to be filled.
EDIT: Liam Jurrah in the PSD = best draft yet.

I think the upcoming draft is our most important. Loaded up on picks, and a weaker draft means we need to get it right. Can't go wrong with Scully, but need to use our 2nd and 3rd picks well. I think we still must get the best available, not draft for need. Also the first televised draft so the pressure is on!

whoever makes up the recruiting department at your club deserves a big pat on the back, i think you guys have a great young list, particularly when you add two skillful midfielders this draft. the best thing is you guys have talent all over the park, and i think you have a group of players capable of delivering your first premiership in too long.

will be good to see you guys do well, the dees are one of the teams i dont mind seeing do well, all the best.

whoever makes up the recruiting department at your club deserves a big pat on the back, i think you guys have a great young list, particularly when you add two skillful midfielders this draft. the best thing is you guys have talent all over the park, and i think you have a group of players capable of delivering your first premiership in too long.

will be good to see you guys do well, the dees are one of the teams i dont mind seeing do well, all the best.
Top post mate:thumbsu:
Hoping to see the tiges climb back up the ladder in future years too! Reckon Hardwick could be the man to turn around your bad fortunes:thumbsu: