cats56

The little hard nut is having a superb year so far.

I remember seeing his first game as a late call up vs. Collingwood at the 'G in 2000 and stating that at last we had found our Andrew Bews replacement. The tough cheeky little hard nut that we had so desperately been lacking.

Has been a solid servant in past season's but this year has taken his game to a new level.

Appears to be fitter plus the fact he has reached the magical 80+ game mark which see's so many player's blossom.

Just does so many team oriented things, put's his body on the line, work's hard to lock the ball in the forward line and shares the ball around to bring teammates into the game as well as being deadly around goal himself (12) so far this year.

I have personally thought he has been our best the past 2 weeks albeit in some very even performances.

Would rank with any small half-forward going around in his value to the side.

Go hard nut Chappy.

There isn't a genuine half-forward in the game who wins as much of the footy as Chappy whilst still kicking goals consistently.

No only does he win a lot of the footy, but his disposal is sublime, he provides us with a valuable marking target across half forward and is as tough as you'll ever find.

As important to our structure as anyone.

JUBJUB said:
He'd just about be leading the B&F.
He's had a great year.Not only does he kick goals,he goes in hard and sets up goals for others.

His 1 percenters are just sensational.Him and Ablett kept the ball in the forward line yesterday with their 2nd and 3rd efforts.
JUBJUB, I call them 99 percenter's.

I love the way this guy goes about his football.
Enjoys a goal, but is completely selfless as well. Always will to set a team mate up (Stephen Milne take note!)

He also has he best 'angry' face around.

Everyone loves our chappy.

from http://gfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=200206

Paul Chapman's guts have won him the heart of Geelong. Tough, reliable and loyal it's hard not to love the feisty forward and midfielder who was named best on ground on Sunday with 24 touches and three goals.

Geelong's number one ticket holder Daryl Somers yesterday compared Chappy - a.k.a the 'angry ant' - to a loyal and tenacious beast.

"He's sort of like having your own private pitbull that bites into the opposition player's leg in a pack and won't let go until he comes up with the ball,'' Somers said.

"Coupled with that fierce determination is great ball skills, he positions himself well, he's very accurate in front of goal and from my point of view it's nice to see a small man doing so well.

"Go Chappy.''

Shirley Costa, wife of Geelong Football Club president Frank Costa, appreciated a softer side to the in-and-under player who she said worked well with Gary Ablett.

Advertising
"He just tries all the time and tries so hard and helps out the team not just himself,'' Mrs Costa said.

Chappy even managed to charm Geelong legend Sam Newman who shied away from controversy for once and jumped on the Chappy bandwagon.

"I love him too,'' he said.

"Because everyone else does and I hate to be the odd man out.

"He has very good spirit and I like that in someone.''

Political foes were united when it came to Chappy with Premier Steve Bracks and Opposition Leader Robert Doyle both casting their vote for him.

"He goes in hard,'' Mr Bracks said.

"He has clean hands and he would equal the best kick for goal in the team along with Peter Riccardi.''

Mr Doyle said the 179cm, 82kg powerhouse was an exciting player with incredible courage.

"You know he is going to give absolutely everything...he goes in hard in every contest and gets the ball and loves a goal,'' he said.

Sports writer with The Age Caroline Wilson couldn't quite confess to loving Chappy but said she couldn't think of a better man to protect some of the AFL's best young players at the Cats.

"It is great in this day and age to watch someone with a bit of flair kick big goals,'' Wilson said. And she reckoned Chappy had single-handedly reversed Geelong's reputation from a bunch of pussy cats to a roaring success.

"He is just so tough and protects younger team mates,'' Wilson said.

Herald Sun sports guru Mike Sheahan said he loved to watch Chappy play even if he wasn't going to be sending him a Valentine soon.

"He's cheeky and good and got a good bit of spunk about him,'' Sheahan said. "You can count me in the Chappy fan club.''

Fresh from a 35 point defeat at the claws of the Cats on Sunday Western Bulldogs coach Rodney Eade was even willing to pay homage at the Chappy alter, if not quite as enthusiastically. "He's a good player who is turning himself into a key player for Geelong,'' Eade said.

cats56 said:
The little hard nut is having a superb year so far.

I remember seeing his first game as a late call up vs. Collingwood at the 'G in 2000 and stating that at last we had found our Andrew Bews replacement. The tough cheeky little hard nut that we had so desperately been lacking.

Has been a solid servant in past season's but this year has taken his game to a new level.

Appears to be fitter plus the fact he has reached the magical 80+ game mark which see's so many player's blossom.

Just does so many team oriented things, put's his body on the line, work's hard to lock the ball in the forward line and shares the ball around to bring teammates into the game as well as being deadly around goal himself (12) so far this year.

I have personally thought he has been our best the past 2 weeks albeit in some very even performances.

Would rank with any small half-forward going around in his value to the side.

Go hard nut Chappy.

Great post. Agree 100%

He's brilliant.

Reliable, tough and hard. He's a great crumbing forward and I reckon once Steven King has finished being captain, Cameron Ling and Paul Chapman will be the Captain and Vice Captain respectively.

I don't know about Chappers as leadership material, wouldn't have him as VC or Deputy VC even.
I just can't see it...maybe his temperament would hold him back from leading, while it's one of his biggest assets on gameday?

Just let him go about his work, and I'll be happy.

Pat.