hawks_919

Rookie
Just wondering what has happened to Paul Licuria this season.
Was one of your main midfielders last year and has barely played this season.
Has he been injured or just form?

Just wondering what has happened to Paul Licuria this season.
Was one of your main midfielders last year and has barely played this season.
Has he been injured or just form?
Injured. Just getting back into it now. Got a fair whack of the footy V Geelong.

Licca is past it. I love him, but the game has passed him by. He is too slow, and his kicking is terrible. It was so noticeable on Saturday, we would be moving the ball up the ground, and then when Licca got it, he would pop up his kicks (as usual) causing a spoil and turnover. I hate to say it, but he is fast becoming a depth player.

I have a feeling that next year,licca will find it very difficult to get a game in the seniors,with all the talent coming through.
This is his last chance,so he should go hell for leather with what remains of this year.

Did his hamstring and then had to work his way back into the seniors through the reserves. Played 3 games for Willy before coming back in.
I love the depth that this side has now to allow that to happen...:)

His supreme fitness used to make up for his skill and speed but now he has lost the little speed he has and his skills have actually gotten worse, as much as I love Licca i think he may be delisted at the end of the year, there has got to be between 5-6 delistings and its a tough game when you an older player and the younger kids are now in front of you

As I said in another post he should retire gracefully at the end of the year as he is now past it with the young crop of players coming through. He should however not be delisted as he has been a great servant and team player for the side. Burns on the other hand should be encouraged to go another year as he still has something to give, especially if the AFL decide to go with another interchange player in th team.

Paul Licuria has been one of our better players for the last 2 weeks. im quite sure he has gathered over 50 possessions in these 2 weeks.

Ive been at both games, and its safe to say, no one, still, runs as much as he does around the ground, and its safe to say, he is always presenting when we have the ball. Last person we should get rid of.

Paul Licuria has been one of our better players for the last 2 weeks. im quite sure he has gathered over 50 possessions in these 2 weeks.

Ive been at both games, and its safe to say, no one, still, runs as much as he does around the ground, and its safe to say, he is always presenting when we have the ball. Last person we should get rid of.

Indeed. He's a great extractor of the ball and finds alot of it. Licca's problem is that his disposal, especially by foot is below average. And that's a killer at the top level.

I still love ya though Paul...

Not past it. Not yet. People were saying the same about Scotty Burns a couple of years back when he was struggling a bit with injury.

Year by year proposition but he'll definitely be there next year, especially if Buckley retires as is now looking more likely.

I agree.

Don't lower his colours. He's in my best 22, including all the senior players.

Paul Licuria missed 6 weeks (or thereabouts) during the year from a hamstring injury, he's starting to find some touch now but he needs more gametime. You wouldn't call him a penetrating kick, but he still finds the pill and he covers the distance of the ground.

To be honest Licca has had less clangers in the past two weeks than some of the other boys which is unusal for him, but he is is still in our top 22 for sure. His never say die attitude has won him many fans and even when people are bagging the shit out of him, he stills gets him self up every week and gives all he has for the team!!

Good on ya Paul!!

To be honest Licca has had less clangers in the past two weeks than some of the other boys which is unusal for him, but he is is still in our top 22 for sure. His never say die attitude has won him many fans and even when people are bagging the shit out of him, he stills gets him self up every week and gives all he has for the team!!

Good on ya Paul!!

It's not just the clangers, its the kicks that 95% of the team would make, that he pops up and puts the target under the pump, causing a spoil (which results in a turnover or forcing us to work hard at ground level instead of taking an uncontested mark).

I agree, correct me if I'm wrong, same thing was said about a couple of players in our 90 premiership team. I think Daic's was one of them.

And this is precisely why possessions are a terrible indicator of influence. Stick a fork in him, he's done.

I'm glad none of you are named Michael Malthouse...Licca still has role to play at the Pies and in seven rounds time some tunes may have changed.

I so hope you right:thumbsu:
But i reckon he turns it over too frequently ATM, maybe more game time will help

licuria is gun, just taking a few weeks to get back to full fitness and the tempo of modern football.His experience is still valued and is a important part of the collingwood midfield.I dont understand why half of you are bagging one of your own?

Licca is past it. I love him, but the game has passed him by. He is too slow, and his kicking is terrible. It was so noticeable on Saturday, we would be moving the ball up the ground, and then when Licca got it, he would pop up his kicks (as usual) causing a spoil and turnover. I hate to say it, but he is fast becoming a depth player.

Ide agree there, hes slowed heaps, not preforming as he used to. Hes getting on. Did really well in Willy, then returned a good game against the cats. Was really good in the finals those years ago. But has just not preformed as hes expected. He looks like he really wants to give it a shot. GOOD LUCK LICKA

Its a sympton of the current generation of wanting everything fresh and new, and chucking out old stuff even though its still working fine.