Perrie

• Thread starter Thread starter spindoctor

Lets not be too harsh on Pez, he's not really a defender, even though the Crows are trying to make him one.

He stood on a bloke who is just about the best player in the league at the moment and is killing every opponent.

I think they should have a "horses for courses" policy with Pez, play him on someone he is capable of beating, or at least matching rather than a specific position.

Spot on Maccas Neighbour.

Guys like Tredrea & Lynch have shown they have too much class for Perrie. So too would players like Neitz, Rocca, Gehrig etc.

I feel much more comfortable when Perrie is not on the no 1 opposition forward. He did a reasonable job when on Brogan/Lade when they were up forward for Port.

Becuase of the injury to Stevens & the suspension of Biglands we have been a big man short over the last month & Perrie has been given jobs he is not up to. When we have to use him it should be as a tall forward or 3rd tall defender, not a defender who gets the gun forward.

Originally posted by Kristof
This is why there should be trading in AFL up until eight weeks before the finals.

I hear the cries already - but don't you feel it is ridiculous that EVERY OTHER sport in the world is mature enough to have year round trading, but somehow AFL thinks the clubs and players couldn't handle it?

I mean, this is a multi-million dollar business, and we think a business should ruin a year of trading (the season) because one player gets injured? When they could just trade a surplus player (while he still has value) for a player they now require and keep their season viable?

We should be able to trade Perrie NOW to Freo or WCE, to get an asset we need.

I was thinking about this over the weekend, can anyone name me another major sporting league that has a salary cap, a draft and in turn no form of free agency to balance out the restrictions on player movements? I can't think of any (forget RL as I don't know or care what happens there) , if you restrict player movement, you need to balance that in some way.

Even in soccer, you have the bosman ruling ( A Euro court decision that say a club has no hold on player once he is out of contract), though few great players ever get to use this, it forces clubs to be proactive in their player management. If Michael Owen or Tracy McGrady is going to let his contract expire you have 2 choices - work out an extension or sell him while you can.

It just strikes me that the balance of player movement in the AFL is lopsided.

as for Perrie, any guy who can take contested marks will always have some value.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone

as for Perrie, any guy who can take contested marks will always have some value.
I think Perrie is suffering from "Mattners Desease" in that he is being played in a role, he is not suited to, and receiving the bagging his performances deserve.
Thats not to say if we played S.Stevens at FB, we'd be saying similar things about him as well.

Agree that anyone who can take the marks Perrie does, is valuable in todays market.
Honestly he's on a par with Biglands in the footy smarts dept, will be a player who will get better with age, more games under his belt, and played in his right position, which is probably a third tall forward, not KPP.
He has been out of sorts, but all players go through that, but in the longterm he is a valuable member of the list, who works his backside off, which as you know I love.

Question: whos the ex Crows CHF, who was crap for Adelaide, who went to Melbourne to become a key member of their defense? - worst kick in the league

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Question: whos the ex Crows CHF, who was crap for Adelaide, who went to Melbourne to become a key member of their defense? - worst kick in the league
Anthony Ingerson.

Didn't he end up playing CHB? We had Peter Caven by then anyway. :D

Originally posted by DaveW
Anthony Ingerson.

Didn't he end up playing CHB? We had Peter Caven by then anyway. :D

He was a back-six jack of all trades before making FB his own in Melbourne's stellar 2000 year.

Originally posted by dyertribe
He was a back-six jack of all trades before making FB his own in Melbourne's stellar 2000 year.
Yes, and my point is, ugly ducklings can turn into swans;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I understand where you are coming from and I agree ina sence BUT we did pretty well out of this particular trade. Anthony Ingerson for Ken Johnson was a pretty good trade.
Can't remember seeing Ken play. How many games and what posi ;)

oops!!!!!! Its Kane......:o

But you have to agree that was a pretty good trade. We got pick 27 which we used to select Kane Johnson.
Great trade, no doubt would havebeen our next captain.
But you have to agree Ingerson defied the critics and did well.
My point is Perrie has that work ethic, and good hands, where if we perservere he will be a good workhorse for us , in the Stevens mould.
Wasn't Stevens described as an average player, who had to play to his potential, to get a game ( JR quote i believe).

Great trade, no doubt would havebeen our next captain.
But you have to agree Ingerson defied the critics and did well.
My point is Perrie has that work ethic, and good hands, where if we perservere he will be a good workhorse for us , in the Stevens mould.
Wasn't Stevens described as an average player, who had to play to his potential, to get a game ( JR quote i believe).
I agree with you mate. Ingerson defied all the critics and was a fantastic pick up for the demons.

My only "reservation" about keeping Perrie is that he might keep the guys like Krueger, Bock and Scott Stevens and to lesser extent Fergus from getting games in the short to medium future which might hinder their development.

If you mean Mark Stevens, Perrie will never be referred to in the same glowing terms as him.

Yes, Perrie tries hard, has a great work ethic, and good hands on occasions.

Stevo had reasonably good skills plus footy smarts, while Perrie has poor overall skills and the footy dumbs.

Perrie is already 25, and is in his 7th year with us. He's not going to get much better IMO.

Handy, but no star.

I agree with you mate. Ingerson defied all the critics and was a fantastic pick up for the demons.

My only "reservation" about keeping Perrie is that he might keep the guys like Krueger, Bock and Scott Stevens and to lesser extent Fergus from getting games in the short to medium future which might hinder their development.

To what extent do we know that Bock, Stevens and Krueger will be a better 3rd option in Attack?

Play him up forward on a flank, and be done with it. He still has a lot to offer, provided he gets some continuity of position.

What are you talking about? He is not a bloody flanker...he has shown he can hold down CHF all throughout last year, he is clearly capable of playing a KPP!

Originally posted by spindoctor
What are you talking about? He is not a bloody flanker...he has shown he can hold down CHF all throughout last year, he is clearly capable of playing a KPP!

3rd tall makes him by definition a flanker.