Gridlock'd

SA Spurs, Leeds, Renault
Hey guys, I was just wondering if Ian Perrie would be tradeable?
If so, would a deal like this interest you?

Adelaide gain: Ben Holland (and possibly a late pick)
lose: Ian Perrie

Richmond gain: Nathan Brown
lose: Pick 6, Ben Holland

Bulldogs gain: Pick 6, Ian Perrie
lose: Nathan Brown

Deal done as far as I am concerned.

Perrie is a forward. Holland is a KPP that can play at both ends and pinch hit in the ruck. We win, Doggies win and Richmond win.

I reckon its a good deal;)

Originally posted by gridlocked
Hey guys, I was just wondering if Ian Perrie would be tradeable?
If so, would a deal like this interest you?

Adelaide gain: Ben Holland (and possibly a late pick)
lose: Ian Perrie

Richmond gain: Nathan Brown
lose: Pick 6, Ben Holland

Bulldogs gain: Pick 6, Ian Perrie
lose: Nathan Brown
Sounds fair to me.

How about we send you over Doughty too & you give us an earlier pick.

I think that's a fair deal.

Perrie is the a pretty much football package, but he has nothing in the brain, and consistently makes bad decisions. (Eg:vs Port, gave away about 3 frees on his own)

Talking about consistent, he goes from being reported, to kicking 6 goals, to kicking a point.

I wouldn't want to really see him go, but that's trading, and the Bulldogs could certainly benefit from someone like him.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Deal done as far as I am concerned.

Perrie is a forward. Holland is a KPP that can play at both ends and pinch hit in the ruck. We win, Doggies win and Richmond win.

I reckon its a good deal;)

Not anymore (Holland pinch hitting in the ruck).

Doggies win by a lot, Richmond lose by a lot, and we make a smaller gain.

As i don't give a stuff about the others, AFC come out slightly in front, so do it!

As Holland has no great desire to play for the Crows, we should not be chasing him.

Whether or not we draft Perrie is another decision entirely. Depneds on whether we can get good value for him, otherwise I would keep him (as we should not trade away KPP depth for the sake of it).

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
As Holland has no great desire to play for the Crows, we should not be chasing him.

Whether or not we draft Perrie is another decision entirely. Depneds on whether we can get good value for him, otherwise I would keep him (as we should not trade away KPP depth for the sake of it).
The only way I would trade Perrie is if we are getting a KPP or a ruckman in return. If we get Holland or someone like Cox, I would trade Perrie, otherwise I would keep him as we would be a bit thin in the KPP department.

That's the way I'm thinking too, as we wouldn't want to rely too much on Rutten & Hentschel for 2004.

I think for Hentschel's development it would be better to play him as a flanker until he develops his body. I reckon he really needs to hit the gym and put some weight on. I reckon it will take him a couple of years to get strong enough for a KP. Until then I would like to play him as a half back flanker to get him comfortable at AFL level.

His manager said that Holland would prefer to stay in Melbourne but he is not discounting a move to Adelaide so we are still in the running. No player is going to have a great desire to play for your club unless you sell him your side of the story. Melbourne have been selling their part of the story for a few days now. We are yet to get into the nitty gritty of it as we were more concerned with the draft camp. Today we turn our attention to trading. Sometime this week AFC will sit down with Holland and his manager and present their case. If he is interested we will see what Richmond want for him.

No player has a great desire to play for a club before they see what is being offered.

If Holland has no desire to come to Adelaide, the Bulldogs might as well just deal directly with Richmond and take Holland themselves.

That is, unless they see Perrie as the superior KPP?

Re: Re: Perrie?

Originally posted by DaveW
If Holland has no desire to come to Adelaide, the Bulldogs might as well just deal directly with Richmond and take Holland themselves.

That is, unless they see Perrie as the superior KPP?

The Bullies have publicly said they don't want Holland. That's what's fouling Richmond's deal up at the moment for Brown.

On the other hand I think they are receptive to Perrie, as he is a key forward, not backman, as Holland is, and is also younger and not injury prone. That's why it was always presumed that Adelaide were in the box seat for Holland - until now.

I think this "injury-prone" tag is not correct. Prior to his knee reconstruction, Ben Holland hardly had an injury. He had a knee reco and had a strained a calf muscle while he was returning back through Coberg. Before his knee injury he was very durable. This year he was never going to be near his best.

Nick Holland on the other hand is a completely different story;)

I think this "injury-prone" tag is not correct. Prior to his knee reconstruction, Ben Holland hardly had an injury. He had a knee reco and had a strained a calf muscle while he was returning back through Coberg. Before his knee injury he was very durable. This year he was never going to be near his best.

Nick Holland on the other hand is a completely different story;)
Stiffy, Holland has had quite a few injuries apart from the reco, though mostly hammies which have only kept out of a few games. I certainly wouldn't call him very durable.

His manager said that Holland would prefer to stay in Melbourne but he is not discounting a move to Adelaide so we are still in the running. No player is going to have a great desire to play for your club unless you sell him your side of the story. Melbourne have been selling their part of the story for a few days now. We are yet to get into the nitty gritty of it as we were more concerned with the draft camp. Today we turn our attention to trading. Sometime this week AFC will sit down with Holland and his manager and present their case. If he is interested we will see what Richmond want for him.

No player has a great desire to play for a club before they see what is being offered.
Disagree Stiffy.

Holland has made it clear his preference is to play for the Dees, whilst not ruling out the Crows. ie. He has shown a desire to play for Melbourne, but is only luke warm about playing for the Crows.

So in summary, he has already stiffed us once & has no great desire to return, wants to play for an massisively over-priced $500K. I say forget about him unless he comes crawling back to us on our conditions (which isn't going to happen).

Disagree Stiffy.

Holland has made it clear his preference is to play for the Dees, whilst not ruling out the Crows. ie. He has shown a desire to play for Melbourne, but is only luke warm about playing for the Crows.

So in summary, he has already stiffed us once & has no great desire to return, wants to play for an massisively over-priced $500K. I say forget about him unless he comes crawling back to us on our conditions (which isn't going to happen).

The stumbling block apparently has nothing to do with clubs. According to his manager, Griffin, it's related to his chiropody business, which is why he wants to stay in Melbourne.

I don't think that if Richmond said "Adelaide it is mate" that he will drop out of AFL footy and play VFL. No way. He wouldn't be making footy type money out of a shop dealing with smelly feet. ;)

Besides, Adelaide people have feet too.

Disagree Stiffy.

No player is going to crawl to us and agree on our terms. What Holland did was low from a human point of view BUT after all he had HIS best interest at heart. So as much as we would like to, we can't bag him for that.

We haven't made nowhere near the enquiries that Demons have. Reidy spoke to Griffin onlt to touch base nothing major but we are yet to put something concrete his way.

Perosnally, I think that 99% of the time the players ends up where he wants to so in this case while we are still a chance, we are very much outsiders;)