Personal Trainers

checkraiseulite

***posting here rather than fitness boards etc because I want views from average people, I'm not a fitness fanatic, and to be honest I don't really intend to become one***

Well, I've finally reached the age where I can't just eat/drink whatever I want without it affecting my body and need to do something about it before I become fat.

In the last 6 months I've probably put on ~10kg, and I'm constantly feeling sluggish. Seems like it's also affecting my concentration and mental aptitude too.

I'm generally a lazy person, and I know if I join a gym I just won't go and workout by myself with out someone there to motivate me.

So I'm thinking about getting some personal training sessions, perhaps 3 x 45 minute training sessions a week for 6 or so weeks.

So who's used a personal trainer? Are they worth it? What's the ballpark figure for a good one?

***posting here rather than fitness boards etc because I want views from average people, I'm not a fitness fanatic, and to be honest I don't really intend to become one***

Well, I've finally reached the age where I can't just eat/drink whatever I want without it affecting my body and need to do something about it before I become fat.

In the last 6 months I've probably put on ~10kg, and I'm constantly feeling sluggish. Seems like it's also affecting my concentration and mental aptitude too.

I'm generally a lazy person, and I know if I join a gym I just won't go and workout by myself with out someone there to motivate me.

So I'm thinking about getting some personal training sessions, perhaps 3 x 45 minute training sessions a week for 6 or so weeks.

So who's used a personal trainer? Are they worth it? What's the ballpark figure for a good one?

My only advice is be careful, 99% of them are absolute tripe.

I'd only go for one for two reasons.
  1. You are genuinely lazy enough that you cant self motivate to work out. If you are, I'd say try to get as short term arrangement as possible, and once in the habit workout by yourself.
  2. You want to start doing weights and want some initial help with techniques. The internet is a great guide generally, but I find when struggling with certain lifts Im best to go for a session with one of my more experienced friends and having them help with technique.
There are so many bad ones out there these days, and most will just try to pressure you into more and more appointments. From what iv seen, price would be around 40 to 50 dollars a session. If your gym does classes Id be more inclined to just start showing up to them, as they should generally be free.

I'm not necessarily that concerned about the money if it's a quality product that gets results. $200 or so a week for a couple of weeks is reasonable. FWIW I'm 6"3 ~85kg and at the moment I doubt I could run 2km if someone had a gun to my head.

Classes wouldn't be for me. Would rather a 1-on-1 session.

A decent looking bish would be a bonus.

To be honest, i believe the class environment can be either a very good place of a very bad place for someone to start. To me, if i was getting into the gym for weight loss reasons rather than weight gain reasons, a class would be the perfect place to push myself being a very competitive person. When i go, i can't stand to be in that bottom portion of the class, and just being around these people helps you push yourself further than you think you can go. Once you get the confidence i think you'll start enjoying the gym, and not need the motivation as much as going there at the beginning can be daunting when you don't know protocols and how to do stuff. But at the same time, if you are unfit it can be a bad environment judging yourself against those who are fit, which can't be good for the self esteem. In my opinion though worth going to a pump/circuit/spin class in conjunction with pt, to see how it goes. Even a boot camp type thing.

In regards to pt, as a poster said earlier it is very easy to get a cert 4 in personal training so one aligned to the gym would be a good move. But personally, i'd use group classes as a means to motivate me to go and the pt sessions as purely a learning stage, learn how to write yourself a workout, how to target muscles, how to use the equipment and how to make sure you get the best results. I know you say that money isn't really an issue, but someone standing next to you while you're on a treadmill isn't really money well spent in my opinion.

Good luck with the work though man, hope it all works out for you.

I agree with those who have said for people who are just stepping into the world of regular exercise or going to the gym, classes are your best option.

1. You can go at your own pace initially
2. Its as much a social as it is a heart exercise
3. Pressure to up your effort will come from yourself opposed to someone shouting at you
4. It's cheaper
5. There is more variety

I'm not a fan of personal trainers because I don't rate their education and find much of what you get from their presence you could get from training with a mate, going to a class or google.

It is an interesting topic this one and we were discussing similar at the workplace in the last week. I know a girl who spends a lot of money on personal training sessions, generally 3 a week and has been going for 2 years. Her appearance has not really changed at all in that time! Personally I believe she goes for the praise. She enjoys a nice young muscly guy telling her how good she is looking and how well she is doing regardless of the results.

I know you mentioned not having the motivation to go to the gym but a lot of gyms are quite good and will often chuck in a couple of consultations with a personal trainer. As others have mentioned this can be good to give you some general advice, and even map out a starting program for you, nothing too intense. And depending on what gym you attend you will meet some generally decent people who are happy to give you a hand and you will feel comfortable around even if you are attending by yourself. My gym has a few guidos there who generally just use the mirror facilities but everyone else there is pretty friendly.

I am in average shape, but was a lot worse before i started going to the gym! I had got a bit over 105 kgs and im only 5 '11 or so but now sitting around 85. Some of the personal trainers are really good, others try to fleece as much cash out of you as they can. But even a session or so a week and if you can make some effort yourself you will get results pretty quickly! In my case the issue is i am not prepared to have a healthy lifestyle. I still drink regularly and like junk food etc. But if i was not going to the gym who knows what I would be haha.

The least you could do is give it a go. Especially if there is soemthing you want to particularly focus on the trainers can be good. Certainly the boxing PT sessions can be a good workout. But you will pick up pretty quickly if you have a good PT or not. Personally I found i was happy to work out myself after a couple of PT sessions which covered the basics, discussed diet (which i ignore) and take you through some exercises and using all the equipment etc.

Just wondering what you plan on doing after the 6 weeks seeing as you describe yourself as lazy and unmotivated to exercise?
Sounds like the old "I'm on the diet shakes" syndrome. People just want a shortcut without changing their lifestyle and are happy with a slight gain over 6 weeks every few years.

I probably didn't describe it very well.

I'm not that lazy when I consider something worth it. I think I could waste a lot of effort and time going to the gym and doing stuff the wrong way or not doing the right stuff for my goals etc, which would cause me to lack motivation and eventually quit.

If I can commit to 6 weeks of PT, pay for it etc and have someone there waiting for me to show up I'd be less likely to say **** it I'm not going today. I also envisage I'd pick up at least some good habits and perhaps begin to see some results. Once the results show, I'd be more likely to view it as a hobby/challenge and continue it on my own or with friends.

I probably didn't describe it very well.

I'm not that lazy when I consider something worth it. I think I could waste a lot of effort and time going to the gym and doing stuff the wrong way or not doing the right stuff for my goals etc, which would cause me to lack motivation and eventually quit.

If I can commit to 6 weeks of PT, pay for it etc and have someone there waiting for me to show up I'd be less likely to say **** it I'm not going today. I also envisage I'd pick up at least some good habits and perhaps begin to see some results. Once the results show, I'd be more likely to view it as a hobby/challenge and continue it on my own or with friends.

PT guys can be very good, particularly for what you're after. I'd view it as though you're interviewing them, not the other way around. I've had a few PT, and when you have one that you gel with, it's worth every cent. Try a few people, and dont be intimidated to turn someone down.

I hope that you find someone that can help :)

Like any profession, there will always be those who are a waste of money. A good PT should provide you with your own program, diet plan & ongoing support.
Not all PTs will yell and scream at you while you exercise.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 4 Beta

I don't know for sure because I got mates rates when I saw a PT, but three sessions per week will put a hole in your back pocket.

Once a week should be enough. You'll get some ideas and then will only have to force yourself to go twice more in the week. Surely you aren't that unmotivated? Just treat the next session as a deadline, where your homework is to work out twice by yourself.

Edit: I see you have already addressed the cost issue. It still strikes me as odd to need that much motivation.

Ive had some decent experience with personal trainers, I dont advise them

They generally make you hate working out. All of the working out that I've done I've enjoyed most when doing it on my own.

Any time I had PT sessions I hated the idea of going and probably had a negative effect overall on my fitness

They flog the absolute shit out of you and overall you get more out of a session with them than you do on your own, but whats the point if you dont want to be there which is what you need if you ever want to create a succesful fitness campaign

You are infinitely more inclined to quit training if you have a PT than if you're going at your own pace, and they're also expensive as shit

The problem is that most of don't know what they're talking about.

Motivating people isn't the job.

It's showing people how to get the health, fitness and nutrition goals for them personally.

Just pushing people to strain more is a no go. "No pain, no gain" isn't worth paying to hear.

A PT is not allowed to give you a set diet, so you may need to see a professional in that department. The PT can say what things can be good and bad to eat (if they know), however they are legally not allowed to give you a set diet unless they are qualified.

Check out qualifications first. A bloke I used to play footy with is a PT and he has a Sports Science degree as well as his certificates in fitness. There is a PT at the gym I used to go to who himself lost over 50kg so you would think he would know a thing or 2 about losing weight. Don't be afraid to ask questions first.

If you can get one for the first half a dozen or so visits, it should help you feel more comfortable in the place and understand where to find things. So I wouldn't be totally against it if it enables you to start off!

After that you'll have a good idea which exercises you like, will be familiar with a few regulars and away you go by yourself. :thumbsu: Nothing to be ashamed about. I was shown around by some experienced folk when I first went into one so was lucky in that sense. Good luck

That 6 weeks would include 1 session a week.

If you want 2 times a week, you would only need 3 weeks to settle in and become familiar with the place and certain exercises IMO. Once you see those initial changes in your body, I have to warn you may become hooked. ;)

I feel PTs get a bad wrap, but if you strip back the layers and think about it, are they much different to any other professional? they have achieved some sort of degree/diploma/piece of paper, studied in their field and are practicing.

there are myriad reasons for getting one. allow me to list some

- motivation to get what you pay for
- learning about technique
- you've become friends with the PT and enjoy their company. yes it's paying for their time and chat, but you also have someone to spot you
- self doubt and lack of confidence. the gym is a cesspool for testosterone, show offs, peptides, and those with big muscle mass. to the avg joe, these people may be intimidating. a PT would add a security blanket
- if PT is of the opposite gender, could be a decent perve.
- excess money

many persons i have spoken to or read posts of say that PTs dont know what they're talking about. are same persons experts in the area of fitness and health?

A smart personal trainer doesn't want you to succeed, they want you on the cusp as long as possible to get as many sessions out of you as they can. Sad, but true.

My advice, eat whole foods and buy a pushy, ride it to the pool/beach 4 days a week, swim until you can't anymore, ride home. Make sure you prepare/plan your meals before and after each session properly (alot of people on the fitness board can help with that) record times/distances and always seek to improve.

If this is not for you, you should have enough of an idea to figure out something for yourself, if you're really keen.

I'll pm you my paypal details...

A smart personal trainer doesn't want you to succeed, they want you on the cusp as long as possible to get as many sessions out of you as they can. Sad, but true.

This logic is deeply flawed. Most people aren't stupid and would stop paying if they believed the product was substandard. Wrt gyms in general I'd agree with you though. I'm under no illusion as to the fact that most personal trainers wouldn't be worth the money, but some I think would be.

Word of mouth to other people would be worth more than a bit of repeat business from someone who will inevitably quit if you're intentionally stalling their progress.