Peter Costello

gdaytiger2001

Was just flicking through the paper today and saw that Essendon would approach Peter Costello about a possible role on the Essendon board.
It may be a long shoot at this stage, but what a coup that would be for the Essendon football club if we could get hold of Peter Costello.
Ray Horsburgh make it happen, imagine if we could get the guy who very successfully ran the economy of our country on the board.

I sat just outside the FGS bar on Anzac day - next to the members dinning room. I sat right on the end & Peter Costello & Son sat directly across from me in the dinning room seats. During game we all shared high fives, hugs & huge cheers. Genuine emotion was displayed & exchanged between us. As the game reached its awesome crescendo - we all went nuts together!

I think those close by... Leaders of industry, Rudd, Garrett Brumby etc & all these other important MCC folk were really surprised how hard Peter Costello & his son were cheering!

After the game we all shoke hands & sang the bomber song and
hung around talking about how we will tell our kids about this game
in years to come.

I am a Labour man, but the excitement we shared & his enthusiasm
for the mighty Dons was simply astounding. If we went for him - I
reckon we could & should get him.

He has heaps to give our great team.

I sat just outside the FGS bar on Anzac day - next to the members dinning room. I sat right on the end & Peter Costello & Son sat directly across from me in the dinning room seats. During game we all shared high fives, hugs & huge cheers. Genuine emotion was displayed & exchanged between us. As the game reached its awesome crescendo - we all went nuts together!

I think those close by... Leaders of industry, Rudd, Garrett Brumby etc & all these other important MCC folk were really surprised how hard Peter Costello & his son were cheering!

After the game we all shoke hands & sang the bomber song and
hung around talking about how we will tell our kids about this game
in years to come.

I am a Labour man, but the excitement we shared & his enthusiasm
for the mighty Dons was simply astounding. If we went for him - I
reckon we could & should get him.

He has heaps to give our great team.

Sounds like you had an instant crush on the man. Disturbing reading.

;)

One of my best mates is a Carlscum supporter & his dad used to run a big company & had a corporate box at the G.

He was in the box during that game about 10 years ago that we don't talk about, and PC was in the box next to him - my mate said he looked like he wanted to cry at full time.

To me he's a genuine Essendon fan.

As far as I know, he did SFA for essendon while he was the number one ticket holder. Given how he stopped investment in Australia to be able to brag about the bottom line, why would anyone expect him to be anything but another Jackson clone?

Which I thought we were all agreed we didn't want. We want someone who will actually spend on the footy department.

Was just flicking through the paper today and saw that Essendon would approach Peter Costello about a possible role on the Essendon board.
It may be a long shoot at this stage, but what a coup that would be for the Essendon football club if we could get hold of Peter Costello.
Ray Horsburgh make it happen, imagine if we could get the guy who very successfully ran the economy of our country on the board.

Wouldn't mind seeing him on the board. :thumbsu:

He spoke absolutely brilliantly at Michael Long's testimonial half a dozen or so years ago.

Agree with those who've already said it would be a great move to get him on board (so to speak).

I wish you'd think about what you are proposing before you say it. The last thing we need in our team is politics.

I don't think Costello's impact on our football club could be as profound as Kennet's at Hawthorn. Nor receive as much negative publicity for querky appearances and stupid comments, however I prefer him not to have any influential role at Essendon.

The board should be an even balance of businessmen and retired footballers/analysts/coaches. Ex-pollies aren't needed.
Or a quick bromance!

You sound like Johnny Drama