Peter Everitt

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

From the drafts and trading forum

jumpman5 said:
95% playin at the saints next year as told by kevin sheedy at a grand final breakfast on fri.

will be allowed to play under veterans list

Murray said:
Were you listening in :confused:

jumpman5 said:
nah, he told all at the function!

AKA was also there and referred to J.Brown is just a "follower" (insinuating that leigh and fellow members of the leadership group had told all players not to talk to AKA) and was in no way intimidated by his remarks on the footy show. AKA no longer speaks to any of the brisbane players and none of them had rang him to get his side of the story between him and leigh, which he said hurt the most

AKA and sheeds were playfully getting stuck into each other about when AKA meet with sheeds inregards of going to windy hill, with AKA saying why would he wana play with a team that are going to be down the bottom again for the next couple of years

they were good value

spida was there also and draw the raffle of all things....and handled well takin the piss out of himself

as much as you will all get stuck into him about being an idiot, peter everitt in my opinion would help the stkilda football club as long as we didn't have to give up much to get him

Myself and many other Saints fans are reluctant (to say the least) to consider recruiting Everitt back. He is just too big a risk - in all ways.
He is 32 years old. He is unlikely to regain match fitness for at least half a season. He is now injury prone. He is a bad influence on other players. He is selfish. He is lazy. He has no love for the club or the jumper. He is just after money enough to retire on.

I'm not the only one who sees Everitt this way

This Saintsational thread entitled: "Everitt - you smug p.rick" shows the mixed emotions surrounding this player.

It would be another slap in the face to Thomas to bring him back.

Thomas' work has been about getting right culture which he has done.

It would be like rolling back some of the work which he has done and not conitnuing with it.

No offense, but GT is now history, who now cares if it is a slap in the face o him. The slap in the face was how he was fired...

Anyway, I think that we all pretty much agree that Everitt would be a bad influence in the club. There have been too many issues arising from the Hawks this year, for it all to be made up and not true.

The last thing we want is for someone who is on the downside of his career to take a few of your promising youngsters down the ****ter with him.

StKildonan said:
Myself and many other Saints fans are reluctant (to say the least) to consider recruiting Everitt back. He is just too big a risk - in all ways.
He is 32 years old. He is unlikely to regain match fitness for at least half a season. He is now injury prone. He is a bad influence on other players. He is selfish. He is lazy. He has no love for the club or the jumper. He is just after money enough to retire on.

I'm not the only one who sees Everitt this way

This Saintsational thread entitled: "Everitt - you smug p.rick" shows the mixed emotions surrounding this player.
Agree with most of that except for the injury prone part. Had the same ankle problem all year, but has fixed it up. Has never had a history of soft tissue injuries, and I reckon could get back to top form in 2007/2008.

However, I don't reckon you guys should take him back. I think St Kilda are turning away from that sort of culture, and have taken a different approach. Spider is going backwards IMO, and still think he'll end up at Sydney.

Edit: But we'll happily take your first rounder ;)

pol06 said:
as much as you will all get stuck into him about being an idiot, peter everitt in my opinion would help the stkilda football club as long as we didn't have to give up much to get him
:thumbsu: IMO Spida has alot to offer, has still got a few good years left.At hawthorn he was All Australian in 2005 ,and in our top 3 in the B&F 2004~2005.Would still be rated as one off the best tap Ruckman in AFL.With Sydney,Crows,& a couple of Melbourne teams having a good look at him.What player,s would you put on the table for Spider,:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

I think Carlton are as much chance as anyone to get him, because other clubs will be driving a hard bargain.

Adelaide - have pretty much ruled it out
Brisbane - have Charman and need to keep draft picks
Carlton - need ruckman, have first pick in PSD
Collingwood - have expressed some interest, but need more young midfielders
Essendon - have tried before, but are rebuilding
Fremantle - no need for another ruckman
Geelong - no need for another ruckman (King, Ottens, Blake)
Kangaroos - have ruled out trading draft picks
Melbourne - no opinion about these guys
Port Adelaide - no need for another ruckman
Richmond - unlikely as Wallace needs draft picks
St Kilda - unlikely to trade first or second round picks
Sydney - has ruled out trading first or second round pick
West Coast - no need for another ruckman
Western Bulldogs - already trading for Akermanis and possibly Polak

StKildonan said:

Whoever created that thread over on that forum knows what they are talking about :thumbsu:

I agree entirely with those sentiments.

Sizing up Spida
Mark Stevens and Nikki Tugwell
October 03, 2006 12:00am

SYDNEY remains the most likely new home for Peter Everitt after further talks with the ruckman's management yesterday.

Everitt's manager Ricky Nixon said last night the Swans and St Kilda were the strongest suitors ahead of trade week.
"Sydney expressed interest today," he said.

But he strongly denied speculation Everitt going to the Swans was a done deal.

"There is no done deal anywhere," Nixon said.

It is understood Everitt could command as much as $400,000 a season to play in Sydney.

St Kilda has done its sums on Everitt, checking his veteran status for Total Player Payments forecasts. But Saints chief executive Archie Fraser said last night the club was still "miles away" from a definitive move.

"We'd have to talk to the leadership group and players before we made any move on Spida," Fraser said.

The Swans made it clear yesterday they will vigorously pursue Everitt if co-captains Barry Hall, Brett Kirk and Leo Barry give coach Paul Roos their blessing today.

The leadership group will discuss Everitt's suitability.

Sources close to Everitt confirmed yesterday the Hawks ruckman would not travel to Sydney for a fitness examination and medical this week.

Nixon refuted rumours Everitt had signed a $50,000-a-season deal with Channel 7 as part of a likely move to Sydney.

Everitt, 32, is close mates with Hall, and his ongoing contact with the Sydney co-captain almost culminated in the Swans snaring him after last season.

The Swans would have to stitch a trade deal with Hawthorn or, as a last resort, hope that he slipped through in the pre-season draft.

Roos will make contact with Everitt this week if the leadership group gives the 252-game veteran the green light.

The Swans football department is working feverishly to improve the team for another premiership tilt next season.

Roos said he wanted to reward senior players by topping up the list as Sydney vies for another flag.

"I want to give Kirky, Barry Hall and Leo Barry the opportunity to be able to play (more finals) again while they are at the footy club," Roos said.

"They've given so much to us, we as a coaching group want to give something back to them. If that is a ruckman that can help us get back to September action next year and they are all for it, then it's my obligation to them to make it happen."

I guess it depends on how strong the leadership group is. See Sydney have some old wise heads in Hall, Kirk, O'Keefe, etc.

Are the Saints leadership able to contain Spida?

Everitt was and questionably still is a Magnificent Footballer(tap ruckman).
I know this is against the culture thing but surely Michael Gardiner would be first on the pecking order.
Change of scenery and the big fella can get back to some good form and good behaviour.
Would not cost as much and is 27 opposed to 32 like Spida & lets face it boys Rix is only a back up like Ackland & sorry but i just dont rate Jason Blake.
Kosi is a superstar but I dont think he looks right in the centre and is good back and great forward
So for me Michael Gardiner to Moorabbin sounds perfect with Rixy a back up & ocasionally Kosi.

SOLMAN86 said:
Everitt was and questionably still is a Magnificent Footballer(tap ruckman).
I know this is against the culture thing but surely Michael Gardiner would be first on the pecking order.
Change of scenery and the big fella can get back to some good form and good behaviour.
Would not cost as much and is 27 opposed to 32 like Spida & lets face it boys Rix is only a back up like Ackland & sorry but i just dont rate Jason Blake.
Kosi is a superstar but I dont think he looks right in the centre and is good back and great forward
So for me Michael Gardiner to Moorabbin sounds perfect with Rixy a back up & ocasionally Kosi.

Making some sense there. I am still not convinced on either one. Having said that, Gardiner would be away from his "recreational" set in WA so it might be a good break. Would not want to offer him much though, in case he falls out of form and favour totally.

Scotty, since when has Hall been a "wise old head"?! He is still punching players in preliminaries and it is more or less him pushing to get his mate to play with the Swans! I do however recognise that sydney seem to self rule with an iron fist, something we shoould try to achieve. Although it is always easy to look good when you have finished 1 and 2.

Web of intrigue to unravel
By Chip Le Grand
October 05, 2006

THE playing future of Peter Everitt may be known as early as today after Sydney's senior football department officials met last night to consider a range of possible trades proposed by Hawthorn in exchange for the 32-year-old ruckman.

The clubs opened negotiations over Everitt at the AFL draft camp in Canberra yesterday, and the parties are expected to meet again today in a bid to reach in-principle agreement about one of the biggest deals of next week's trade period.

Hawthorn personnel manager Chris Pelchen last night described the talks as "amicable and very informal", while Sydney recruiter, former captain Stuart Maxfield, said senior Swans coach Paul Roos and general manager of football Andrew Ireland were flying into the capital to consider the Hawthorn proposals.

The first option, certain to be rejected by Sydney, is for Everitt to go to Sydney in exchange for the Swans' first pick (No.15) in next month's national draft. The second option is an exchange of draft picks. The third involves an exchange of picks and players neither club was willing to confirm.

But Hawthorn would not accept Sydney's second-round pick of No.33 - or any lower - in exchange for Everitt, Pelchen said

"They confirmed to us that they are interested in Spida and committed to trading for him," Pelchen said.

"We explained our position that we would canvass interest from any club. There is no angst between the two clubs. We will try to work together to get a suitable outcome for all parties."

In the event that negotiations turn sour, Sydney will seek to buy Everitt's contract through the pre-season draft in December.

The retirement of Paul Williams and qualification of club stars Michael O'Loughlin and Leo Barry for the veterans' list has given Sydney ample room to move under the salary cap to mortgage Everitt, who is allowed to nominate a price on his head in the December draft.

Under AFL rules, 50 per cent of a veteran player's salary is excluded from the salary cap.

Banking on the pre-season draft is a risky strategy for Sydney, which would have to rely on Everitt not being selected by 13 other clubs by the time it had its first pick.

Pelchen said Everitt's manager, Ricky Nixon, had indicated that Sydney was his client's preferred suitor.

However, he said Everitt was prepared to be traded to another club.

"We haven't given an assurance that it will be Sydney," Pelchen said.

"We are appreciative of Peter's indication that he would prefer to go to Sydney, but at the same time, Ricky explained to us that he will entertain offers from all clubs."

St Kilda is another option for Everitt next season, as the Saints are seeking to rebuild their ruck division following the departure of senior coach Grant Thomas.

In a different article, it says that Everitt could come in under the vetrans list with the Saints, because he played with us for 10 years before moving to the Hawks.

If that is indeed the case, only half of his salary would be counted against the cap. That may just make the baord re-think what is important and they may be forced to go with Spida for financial reasons alone.

Great thinking Big Ted. Its no use having that thumping left kick and no heart or balls to actually win the footy.

Is the article implying he does not want to move to the Saints? It would seem so. What number draft pick does Sydney have to pick him up if he nominates?

Looking increasingly like we may get him I reckon. I personally hope not but I guess a second round pick is not too high and half his wage would be that of a vertran. Maybe not that bad, just the disruptive influence...