Pettifer performance today

After being criticised over the past few weeks for his soft performances...i think he really stood up today. Although he wasn't abnormally pysical or tough...he in my opinion played very well today, kicking snags and setting them up. Really showed some leadership out their for the first time in his career. Played a consistant game of footy

How did all of you perceive his performance today?

I rate Pettifer highly after his game against Geelong last season. I had always though of him as just another flanker-type, but he kicked 4 goals against us at Skilled, and he followed up with many similar efforts. Today he looked more like that player. You'd have to be pleased with Delidio also, he was lively and really put in. Port had too many P.Burgoyne/Pearce/N.Krakouer/Motlop types that always snuck in to kick the goals, plus Lade also. No Simmonds, who was a star last year kills as far as not getting first use of the ball.

Passable today - not the six games before.

Bit of an 'icing on the cake' player who should become more consistent as the team itself does. Needs plenty of opportunities because he's proven to be not that great at making his own luck, or becoming the kind of HFF who can be genuinely influential on the wing.

Passable today - not the six games before.

Bit of an 'icing on the cake' player who should become more consistent as the team itself does. Needs plenty of opportunities because he's proven to be not that great at making his own luck, or becoming the kind of HFF who can be genuinely influential on the wing.

you dont have to be a super visionary to find one dimensional players.;)

Already corrected that above.

Ah sorry mate I pressed quote without looking ahead ;)

Must say a lot of opinions on Pettifer have very quickly turned ugly due to a patch 4-5 games where he wasn't at the level we expect from him.

He doesnt' deserve to be grouped with Tivendale, Krakouer, Hall, Knobel etc... Pettifer is soft but he has heart and puts his body in more than he would if he didn't love the club.

If you go in and you're not scared, it's not courageous. If you're shit scared but you go in anyway, then you can say you have courage.

After being criticised over the past few weeks for his soft performances...i think he really stood up today. Although he wasn't abnormally pysical or tough...he in my opinion played very well today, kicking snags and setting them up. Really showed some leadership out their for the first time in his career. Played a consistant game of footy

Not his worst game but not enough for me.
He is playing for his career and it certainly doesn't look like it.
Missed a few set shots - and when you don't have many tricks up your sleeve like Kane you need to convert them.

Who was he playing on and how many posessions did they get?
His opponents always run off him because they know that Pettifer won't hurt them too much on the scoreboard.

a weak soft squib who is defensively pathetic. the odd good game is usually enough for most ferals to overlook his short comings for months on end.

for all pett's weakness's , i definitely see some leadership material in him - last season when we were hot, he was an extremely important part of that - he at least shows some emotion on his face - win or lose.

needs to consistenyl be that though, but i certainly think he has leadership qualities in him

You guys are so hard on Pettifer. Yes i'll agree he is a bit soft when the ball is on the ground. But from watching him its more because he goes to bump the men instead of going the ball. Which means he doesnt lay a tackle or get the ball and looks stupid.

The game against Carlton he kicked 4 and was probably our best player that night. Against WB he had 19 possies and 8 marks which was more the passable. Had 19 possies and 6 marks against geelong. He was one of a limited few who tried at all. And was very good against port. Had 9 marks and 16 possies and if the goal umpire had of paid the goal that was touched over the line he would have kicked 3.2.

So he has had 4 decent to good games and 3 below average games. He isnt as bad as you all make out. He is soft tho, especially when the ball is on the deck.

Ah sorry mate I pressed quote without looking ahead ;)

Must say a lot of opinions on Pettifer have very quickly turned ugly due to a patch 4-5 games where he wasn't at the level we expect from him.

He doesnt' deserve to be grouped with Tivendale, Krakouer, Hall, Knobel etc... Pettifer is soft but he has heart and puts his body in more than he would if he didn't love the club.

If you go in and you're not scared, it's not courageous. If you're shit scared but you go in anyway, then you can say you have courage.

That's a fair comment benny.

I'll judge him at season's end...as I said, I'm sure his output will improve overall on the days we are competitive. I'd like to see him improve on working harder to win his own ball - he was getting a little better at this last year and I'd hoped for that improvement to continue on into this season.

That's the only real disappointment I have with him so far...I'd hoped that after another pre-season with a REAL fitness coach, he'd have improved on his weakest area.

I'm surprised at the general fitness of most players, especially after the super competitive "NAB Challenge".

Krakouer is another one who would be great if he had better fitness, and he hasn't improved either.

That's a fair comment benny.

I'll judge him at season's end...as I said, I'm sure his output will improve overall on the days we are competitive. I'd like to see him improve on working harder to win his own ball - he was getting a little better at this last year and I'd hoped for that improvement to continue on into this season.

his weakest area is that is slow, not that he is unfit. Completely bereft of any explosive speed off the mark with a turning circle akin to the queen mary.
WOuld be a great HF in the 60s but nowadays if you aint got the fleet of footedness, to first get yourself into comfortable scoring positions and secondly to be able to run down the modern HBs that are predominatly the runners who create the springboard for attacks, then you can pack it all in.
Would be surprised if this guy last another year or two. Of course he can prove me wrong by getting a spriniting coach and learning how to run ****ing fast and to turn sharply. Then we might see something akin to a modern day HF.;)

his weakest area is that is slow, not that he is unfit. Completely bereft of any explosive speed off the mark with a turning circle akin to the queen mary.
WOuld be a great HF in the 60s but nowadays if you aint got the fleet of footedness, to first get yourself into comfortable scoring positions and secondly to be able to run down the modern HBs that are predominatly the runners who create the springboard for attacks, then you can pack it all in.
Would be surprised if this guy last another year or two. Of course he can prove me wrong by getting a spriniting coach and learning how to run ****ing fast and to turn sharply. Then we might see something akin to a modern day HF.;)
here here cogga.