Phantom Drafts

Falconer02

Suspended
geelong
From all the Phantom Drafts that I could find here are the selections that they think Geelong will take.

1# Jonathon.e
7-Troy Chaplin

2#Weaver #1
7-Kane Tenace
22-David Mundy
42-M Sumner

3#Weaver #2
7-Troy Chaplin
22-Jacob Surjan
42-Josh Willoughby

4#Weaver #3
7-Troy Chaplin
22-Luke Peel
42-Luke Herrington

5#Top 10 Draft Picks
This thread most people had
7-Chaplin

6#Demon 37
7-Andrew Walker

7# My Old one
7- Raph Clarke
22-did have Nathan Ablett but Ill go for Foley hopefully Mundy

Everyone says Chaplin because it's the easy choice. His form after the carnival was poor and that's got to be a worry. I think now most people rate him a 10-13 prospect. If we take him then we are not taking the best available talent at the time.

I remember Wells going on and on about Clarke so if he is still available I'm sure he will pick him.

Everyone seems to think we will pick Chaplin given the myth that we need kpps. We have plenty of young kpps ,what we need are good ones or ones that can kick goals or any size player that can kick goals.
Haveing said this i think we might go for Bill Morrison at pick 7 , takeing a punt like last year with Mackie. Apparently he (Morrison) is a good goal kicker.
However if Raphael Clarke is still available at pick 7 we would be crazy not to take him.

Please no more punt's. Not saying Mackie won't live up to his potential but I think we should play it safe this year. Get a proven junior footballer who should play 200 games touch wood. I don't think I'd be very happy if we picked Morrison over some others at 7. As i've said I reckon with a bit of luck he, or one of the other 5 potential first round KP players will last until pick 22.

you dont "take a punt" with a first round draft pick. They took mackie cos they rated them above everyone else. its too high a pick to "take a punt" on. I'm stating the obvious but its gunna depend on what the top 6 picks are chosen on what we get. If one of the gun midfielders are still around theyd be silly not to use them.

Someone a few posts back said we have plenty of young Kpps but they have all been late picks. we have an obvious problem and itd be nice to see our best recources used to solve it.

We need good kpps that can kick goals . From all the info i have read it seems that Morrison has more ability in that area than Chaplin , who played a lot at CHB and Watts. He is also 90 kgs where players like Mackie , Lonergan and Playfair seem to be very skinny. Just an opinion but if we are going to use pick 7 on a kpp i would go with Morrison and there is no way he will get through to 22.

old school do you reckon Morrison will last until pick 22? I say that given the WA teams will be looking to snap up the local talent with thier 5 early picks and Adelaide look keen on Hall.

I hope we get lucky and grap one of Walker, Tenace or Clarke with pick 7.
Then prey to God that one of Morrison, Watts, Chaplin, or Gayfer are available. On second thought it's down to Morrison or Gafer b/c the other two would need a miracle to last that long.

Originally posted by BigCat1
old school do you reckon Morrison will last until pick 22? I say that given the WA teams will be looking to snap up the local talent with thier 5 early picks and Adelaide look keen on Hall.

I hope we get lucky and grap one of Walker, Tenace or Clarke with pick 7.
Then prey to God that one of Morrison, Watts, Chaplin, or Gayfer are available. On second thought it's down to Morrison or Gafer b/c the other two would need a miracle to last that long.
I don't think he will last until 22 but I also don't think that WA teams will necessarily go for local players with their early picks either. The Cats are in a good position because there is bound to be a player like Tenace, Clarke, Walker or Ray available.
I suppose they have a few choices, do they go for the best overall player or do they go for the player that fits their needs ?
or do they take a punt on a project player with a potential for high rewards like they did with Mackie ?

Originally posted by OldSchool
I suppose they have a few choices, do they go for the best overall player or do they go for the player that fits their needs ?
or do they take a punt on a project player with a potential for high rewards like they did with Mackie ?

I think you should always go for the best talent. By the sounds of it that means onballers with your early picks.

From what I've seen and read there isn't much difference between Chaplin, Watts, Gayfer, Morrison or Moody so hopefully one of them will last to #22.

For me 'Plan A' should be. Take an onballer with pick 7 then one of those talls with #22

If that fails then bad luck, take another onballer with pick 22. We are not short of talls and can survive another year without one.

Originally posted by BigCat1
I think you should always go for the best talent. By the sounds of it that means onballers with your early picks.

From what I've seen and read there isn't much difference between Chaplin, Watts, Gayfer, Morrison or Moody so hopefully one of them will last to #22.

For me 'Plan A' should be. Take an onballer with pick 7 then one of those talls with #22

If that fails then bad luck, take another onballer with pick 22. We are not short of talls and can survive another year without one.
BC1, what do you believe the Cats need ?
Key forwards / defenders or midfielders / crumbing forwards ?

I would suggest that with picks 7 and 22 you will do very well.
Out of the talls you mentioned, Morrison could be a very good player at the next level because I think he has more ability than the others. I think Chaplin and Watts will be good enough players but Morrison has a bit more to offer. Gayfer might be a step behind but he still has a fair bit of improvement in him.
Moody is a quality mid sized forward who had a few injury worries. It really depends on what the Cats actually need because there is bound to be a player like Dunn or McLean if you are after midfielders with a bit of grunt, Clarke if you are after a versatile combination type and plenty of KPP like I have already mentioned. For pick 22 a KPP like Micheal Johnson might still be available or another midfielder/defender like Beau Waters.
The Cats will do well enough.

Originally posted by OldSchool
BC1, what do you believe the Cats need ?
Key forwards / defenders or midfielders / crumbing forwards ?

I would suggest that with picks 7 and 22 you will do very well.
Out of the talls you mentioned, Morrison could be a very good player at the next level because I think he has more ability than the others. I think Chaplin and Watts will be good enough players but Morrison has a bit more to offer. Gayfer might be a step behind but he still has a fair bit of improvement in him.
Moody is a quality mid sized forward who had a few injury worries. It really depends on what the Cats actually need because there is bound to be a player like Dunn or McLean if you are after midfielders with a bit of grunt, Clarke if you are after a versatile combination type and plenty of KPP like I have already mentioned. For pick 22 a KPP like Micheal Johnson might still be available or another midfielder/defender like Beau Waters.
The Cats will do well enough.

A few good points there. I know many people from Geelong lean towards picking up Chaplin or Watts, but I think Billy Morrison is a better bet. Chaplin is a big fellow, probably more ready for AFL than any of the other talls. The only problem would be that he doesnt seem to have much improvement in him. He is pretty much well done and won't continue to mature a whole lot more. Another thing is that he is abit, well, slow and heavy....alot like Ben Graham. This can be good and bad. He would be able to take on blokes like Rocca and that, but will dearly struggle with Tarrant, Riewoldt and co. I don't know if Geelong are willing to bet on this. So basically he is a good tall option, and is physically ready (193 cm 90kg roughly) BUT there isnt much improvement left in him and his size can count against him. I wouldnt waste a 1st round pick, especially pick 7 on him.
Watts will need a few years in the gym, but word has it that in terms of personality, this guy is rated on the lower end of the scale. Doesnt seem to get along well with fellow players in the U18 comp. There have been a few statements on this, so I'm not too sure on him either. To tell you the truth, I'm not keen on him at all, and would rather pick up another of the tall blokes. He's fair dinkum on the field, I'll give him that, but I'd rather not pick someone who is bound to mix badly with the other blokes at the Cats. We're a pretty tight nit group and I don't some idiot wrecking it, even if he is a pretty good player.
Morrison is ranked highly all around, so thus I am keen on him at Geelong. He was tipped to go in the top 5 at the start of the season, before he injured his shoulder. Considering he is that highly rated (He's basically alongside Cooney, Tenace, Walker, Sylvia, Bradley), I think he's worth the pick. The thing is, because he was injured, people will tend not to place him so high and thus I think we could still grab him at 22 (Its possible).
So basically feel, we should aim at getting Morrison, or Dunn/Ray/Clarke. Morrison is basically the only good KPP worth pick 7. But even so, we could still pick up a good bloke like Dunn and pick up Morrison at 22.
Either way, I'm sure Wellsy will make the right decision come Draft day.

Morrison will NOT last to pick 22, there is no way teams such as Brisbane and Port would let him slip through (if he even drops that far!!). Sure he has missed a year of footy but they have the chance to secure a highly rated junior KPP with a "late" pick, the opportunity doesn't come along too often and I'm sure they would take the punt - those teams can afford to give him a couple of years of development, they lose practically nothing.