Pickett's Casualties

• Thread starter Thread starter GOBBY1

GOBBY1

Rookie
Has anyone kept a list of Picketts hit list. That bump on Milburn was great but he has performed many other memorable hits.
The list I can think of so far is,
Mercuri
Krummel ? Not sure if it was him but some unlucky hawk was hit at Waverly. My personal favourite.
Harvey for the saints? Not 100% sure but I think he gave him a good winding.
Wakelin
Grant
Milburn

The last three are of course this year.
I am sure theres alot more.
Can anyone think of more

Go Roos youre doing us proud regardless of where we finish..

Just out of curiousity, did Pickett do anything else besides that bump that game?

I wasn't really paying attention.:)

Originally posted by Nic
Just out of curiousity, did Pickett do anything else besides that bump that game?

I wasn't really paying attention.:)

He played well actually.

You should have seen his body count in underage footy at Port Magpies. That broken collarbone thing was almost a weekly occurrence.

Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
You should have seen his body count in underage footy at Port Magpies. That broken collarbone thing was almost a weekly occurrence.

A mate of mine used to drink at Greg Phillips' pub (The Lighthouse?) and he got up one day and told everyone in the bar that it was worth going to underage training just to watch Pickett in action. If training was so good the games must have been phenomenal.

Moomba

The Shame is thet Brendan Krummel will not even be remembered for being cleaned up by pickett - the poster had trouble remembering his name.

Gobby, it's time to update the list.
Originally posted by GOBBY1
Has anyone kept a list of Picketts hit list. That bump on Milburn was great but he has performed many other memorable hits.
The list I can think of so far is,
Mercuri
Krummel ? Not sure if it was him but some unlucky hawk was hit at Waverly. My personal favourite.
Harvey for the saints? Not 100% sure but I think he gave him a good winding.
Wakelin
Grant
Milburn

The last three are of course this year.
I am sure theres alot more.
Can anyone think of more

Go Roos youre doing us proud regardless of where we finish..

I most be one of the only people in the world that thinks that picketts actions on the weekend were cowardly. He diverted off a straight line with the ball purely to avoid damage himself and to inflict it on someone else.

I am not saying that he is an institutional coward or a king hit merchant and if he were available for my team then he would be amongst the first picked. All his other hits have been fair, but on the weekend what he did was IMO illegal and cowardly.

yeah right he was cowardly, the other players should learn to protect themselves in that kind of situation. if i knew i would be playing within 10 miles of pickett i would soon manage to learn what to do if it came to a body on body situation. AND what he did on the w/e was within the rules.

i reckon hes great!

I just can't see how the term cowardly could apply to bumping someone. You might as well say its cowardly to eat breakfast cereal for all the relevance of the word in that context.

Does he back away from contests? No
Does he hear footsteps when he has the ball and an opponent is coming for -him-? No.
Is he a coward? No.

Originally posted by localyokel
I most be one of the only people in the world that thinks that picketts actions on the weekend were cowardly. He diverted off a straight line with the ball purely to avoid damage himself and to inflict it on someone else.

Milburn had the ball when he was hit so I don't see how Pickett diverted off a straight line with the ball.

Moomba

Originally posted by moomba

Milburn had the ball when he was hit so I don't see how Pickett diverted off a straight line with the ball.

Moomba

The exact reason this whole debate is silly.

Byron gets out there every week. I am sure he would welcome anyone to have a crack at him. It is within the rules, and as far as I know, all players are welcome to have a go. Why label someone a coward because he is really good at performing a legal act, which happens to hurt people?

It is not like he is an unskilled thug is it? There is something quite strange about Bulldog fans pointing out what they think are acts of cowardess, seeing who they fondly farwelled last week.

The problem with Pickett

Is that the great majority of ALL his 'inspirational bumps' have been in the situation where two players are approaching a loose-ball from opposite directions.

One puts his body on the line, attacks the ball.

The other 'forgets' about the ball, and instead 'plays the man', often connecting to the head/shoulders, with the sole intent of causing physical harm to the opposition player.

At best it should be a free-kick to the opposition, at worst a report, (something along the lines of 'charging').

He's a dirty player, who exploits a problem in the rules.

Forget it.

Lets just dress the players in nice little netball skirts and be done with it.

Byron will get his one day, and I won't give a crap. It is footy people, and this type of thing has been happening for a very long time.

Maybe Milburn's been repaid for his bump on Silvagni. Then again, I don't think anyone's accused Dash of giving worse than he gets.

Re: The problem with Pickett

Originally posted by Simon_Nesbit

One puts his body on the line, attacks the ball.

And he came off second best!

They both put they're body on the line and that's why they collided - one just does it harder and better than the other, that's what it means to play a contact sport!

Smacked shoulder to shoulder - nothing head high, no rules were broken, Millburn was in possession and was nailed!!

Cheers

Gonzo

Well, there aren't Bulldog fans (plural) who are saying that he is a coward. I note that only one of our supporters has mentioned the word on this thread, and I interpreted what Local was saying as the ACT was cowardly, to which I agree, in part.

Sure, he's brave enough, for to take the field requires a certain amount of courage. The main complaint is that he's developed a reputation from opposition supporters lately of being an opportunist. Its a pity that this is beginning to overshadow is exquisite skillls.

Another poster stated that he is using a loophole in the rules to take out players. Most of us would agree that this is the case, and is still legal, but we just have problems that this player is becoming a serial "toughguy."

Laws of the game have been rewritten in the past to protect the other player, the one with the ball even, from unecessary contact. Video cameras were brought in to quell the number of behind-the-play incidents, and while I don't want to see fair bumps taken out of the game and turn it into basketball, I don't want to see a top player taken out by some 2nd rate half-back on coaches instructions either, not really caring if he misses a week or two, on the off-chance he actually is reported.

Pickett is treading a thin line at the moment, that is all I'm saying.
Originally posted by NorthBhoy

The exact reason this whole debate is silly.

Byron gets out there every week. I am sure he would welcome anyone to have a crack at him. It is within the rules, and as far as I know, all players are welcome to have a go. Why label someone a coward because he is really good at performing a legal act, which happens to hurt people?

It is not like he is an unskilled thug is it? There is something quite strange about Bulldog fans pointing out what they think are acts of cowardess, seeing who they fondly farwelled last week.