Opinion Pies 9-2 after Round 11.....

Oct 10, 2006
Dreamland
Altona Vikings
Looking at our first 11 games we should be 9-2 or 8-3.
I can see us losing to Geelong and maybe Adelaide...but that's it.

If we can go into ANZAC day with only Taz not ready to go then I reckon we will be in a great spot.

We will beat Port, Essendon, WB, Brisbane, GC & Melbourne.
We should beat Carlton, Adelaide.
We could beat Geelong.

Loses to Hawthorn & Geelong.

Puts us at 9-2.

Team by ANZAC day:
Toovey - Brown - Maxwell
Shaw - Reid - O'Brian
Thomas - Ball - Wellingham
Sidebottom - Dawes - Beams
Fasolo - Cloke - Blair

Foll: Jolly - Swan - Pendels

Int: Johnson, Wood, Didak
Sub: Clarke/Ugle/Goldsack

Injuries: Taz

Re: Pies 8-2 after Round 10.....

I want to be confident, I really do. But I just want to play it by week and hope we rack up the wins. Predicting what's going to happen is fraught with danger, we could suffer more injuries between round 10 and now.

You never know what might happen. I personally don't like to predict things like this, but if the team is going well they can beat anyone. 9-1 to 7-3 looks about right, I'd say Carlton this week is more of a threat than Adelaide will be however.

In saying all of that, I don't think it's that important either. I mean it's important for the team to get wins, but for us to predict the wins or know where they'll be at, that doesn't matter.

7-3 would be a great result. Given how hard our draw is (playing the scum, Geelong, WC, Hawthorn all twice), wins will be invaluable. If Essendon play like they did against Port then WE WILL FLOG THEM:thumbsu:

Adelaide and Carlton not all that confident but we'll wait and see.

Analysing our recent games against the Crows:
2011: 30 pts down at 1/2 time, 23 down 5 mins into the last before winning by 43.

2010: Two goals down at 3qtr time in a game we were heavily favoured to win (they were $13 or something), kicked 6.18 for the night but somehow won by 3 points to secure minor premiership in rd 21.

2009 SF: 32 pts down on the stroke of half time before winning by 5 in an epic.

2009 rd 19: 15 points down at the start of the third before grinding a 21-pt win.

2009 rd 1: 5 goals down in the second qtr, fought back to three goals up halfway through the third but got comprehensively dudded by the umpires and lost by 4.

2008: 5 goals down in the second qtr but powered away to win by about 5 goals.

2007 rd 22: Played at Etihad and lost, letting them into finals and slipping ourselves to 6th.

We tend to struggle against them. We have been 5 goals behind very early 4 times in the past 4 years, yielding 3 wins and a 4-pt loss.

What about round 11? Our bye occurs in round 12, so shouldn't we be discussing our first 11 games, not the 10.

Or do you rate Melbourne that lowly that you just consider that game a given.:D:p:eek:

I'd take 8-3 after 11 and walkaway quite happy, 7-4 would be bearable, but any worse and we would be putting ourselves in danger of making the top 4.

From what I can see, our second 11 games are actually harder then our first 11, so 8-3 has to be the target IMO.

I see it like this;

Hawks - LOSS
Tigers - WIN
Blues - WIN/LOSS
Port - WIN
Bombers - WIN
Bulldogs - WIN
Brisbane - WIN
Geelong - WIN/LOSS
Adelaide - WIN/LOSS
Gold Coast - WIN
Melbourne - WIN

The "WIN/LOSS" games are the ones we might lose, not saying we'll lose them all, just stating that they are the danger games in the first half of the year.

So basically we have to beat all the teams we are expected to beat, and then win at least 1 of the remaining 3 games to be 8-3 at the half way point.:)

^
So all we have to is to win the games that we should win and we will be 7-4.
Btw, i find it a joke that the 5 teams we have to play twice are Geelong, Hawthorn, Carlton, Essendon and West Coast. How much harder could that be? If we can beat everyone else and split those clashes (except Essendon, should beat them twice) then that's 18-4, not out of the question? Might drop games to Adelaide, etc but normally 15 wins enough to top four?

That team looks pretty shit to be honest....
I mean, Jolly, Swan and Pendlebury aren't anything amazing, but surely they get a game ahead of blanky, mr. blanks and blankety blanks.

If one of the mods could range the title to 9-2 after round 11 that would be great.

Thanks Mattys123! :thumbsu:

No worries, by the way you should be able to edit the thread title yourself, just go into advanced after you press the edit button and the thread title should be changeable.:)

I would take or 8-3 or 7-4 providing we are getting less niggly little injuries and our form was solid but a lot can happen can happen between now and then for all the sides.

What is to say Adelaide,Eagles,Carlton,Hawthorn,Geelong or god forbid us get a string of injuries, it only takes the wrong injuries to any clubs 2 key players
and any of us would struggle,also whats to say those clubs who are going alright ATM will be able to sustain it till the end of season and into finals we were,nt why should they be able too.

The team that gets through with least important injuries and best form at the end of the season usually does alright,last season say rd 19or 20 if you ask who would win the flag I would say at least 9 out of 10 had us over the line and look how the season finished.

So I don,t mind a slow start as long as we pick it up in the 2nd half of the season we looked much better going into finals in 2010 than we did in 2011 even if we did look Scratchy in the first half of 2010.

I think that it is somewhat fortunate that our draw is easier in the first half of the season. It allows us to fine-tune things but still get some wins on the board, then hopefully hit our straps after the bye and come charging towards September.

In 3 of the last 4 seasons (2008, 09 and 11) there has been a team that has won 20 or more H&A games, but ON NO OCCASION HAS THAT TEAM WON THE FLAG (Cats 08, Aints 09 and Pies 11). Timing our run is important; we only won 17 H&A games in 2010 but we won our finals by 62, 41 and 56 points.

Listen to the media write us off if we lose on Friday but regardless we should win our 4 games after that (Port, Dons, Dogs and Lions).

We could very easily be 6-1 heading into the Geelong game in rd 8.:)

Opinion Pies 9-2 after Round 11.....