Autopsy Pies win ugly by 20 points

• Thread starter Thread starter Stoods

Good day at the footy.

How can people complain about a Sunday arvo slot as not family friendly?

I took kids to Sunday sport, did a bit of shopping and housework and then took the munchkins to a winter afternoon at the G.

Back home for tacos and kids off to bed absolutely exhausted...perfect day.

Much more family friendly than night or twilight games.

Good to get a win when the team really didn’t play very well.

Agreed, but would have liked it to be at 2.10 instead of 3.20. Didn't really make sense that it was at that time, given it wasn't on 7.

Frustrating game. They are rubbish and we played a bit less rubbish. A win is a win though - unless it's a win against Carlton and then it's a VICTORY!

Well played by your boys today... because they won. The job still needs doing, no matter how easy people say it should be. It's probably an important step forward for your group; not playing well and winning. But I think that sells your players short anyway - we were solid today, better than most people are prepared to give us credit for, but you were able to hold us at arm's length for most of the second half, and win without fuss. I thought depth was important, on a day where a lot of your best players were a bit down. Having guys like Hoskin-Elliott whio can hurt you on the scoreboard without always getting a lot of the ball. We just don't have any players like that, and scoring won't get easier until we do.

The game plan: ugly yes, but a combination of circumstances and necessity (plus, as some of you have noted, it has worked before...). Our selected 22 wasn't that flash to begin with, and losing Casboult late trashed the structures; playing Rowe forward is not something we do for fun. Losing Plowman certainly didn't help our flexibility or rotations, and losing Kreuzer turned the stoppages into a disaster. Rowe has never even pretended to ruck before today, and Grundy 2018 is not where you want to be learning the ropes!

Good luck for the rest of the season - I think it is wide open, and with the bye after Round 23, I don't think you need to finish top 4 to give it a shake. A couple of questions:

After starting the season with a couple of disappointing losses as per 2016/17, what do you think is the biggest thing that has changed over the last 11 weeks?
In the run in to the finals, what do you think Collingwood's biggest vulnerability is?

I don't have many ideas on the first, but I suspect Grundy's fitness is high on the list for the second...

Well played by your boys today... because they won. The job still needs doing, no matter how easy people say it should be. It's probably an important step forward for your group; not playing well and winning. But I think that sells your players short anyway - we were solid today, better than most people are prepared to give us credit for, but you were able to hold us at arm's length for most of the second half, and win without fuss. I thought depth was important, on a day where a lot of your best players were a bit down. Having guys like Hoskin-Elliott whio can hurt you on the scoreboard without always getting a lot of the ball. We just don't have any players like that, and scoring won't get easier until we do.

The game plan: ugly yes, but a combination of circumstances and necessity (plus, as some of you have noted, it has worked before...). Our selected 22 wasn't that flash to begin with, and losing Casboult late trashed the structures; playing Rowe forward is not something we do for fun. Losing Plowman certainly didn't help our flexibility or rotations, and losing Kreuzer turned the stoppages into a disaster. Rowe has never even pretended to ruck before today, and Grundy 2018 is not where you want to be learning the ropes!

Good luck for the rest of the season - I think it is wide open, and with the bye after Round 23, I don't think you need to finish top 4 to give it a shake. A couple of questions:

After starting the season with a couple of disappointing losses as per 2016/17, what do you think is the biggest thing that has changed over the last 11 weeks?
In the run in to the finals, what do you think Collingwood's biggest vulnerability is?

I don't have many ideas on the first, but I suspect Grundy's fitness is high on the list for the second...
Biggest improvement is pace, play on style and positive game plan.
Biggest vulnerability is being shut down by the best sides and then stopping them scoring.
We just aren't good enough to go toe to toe for 4 quarters with the best IMO. See Richmond game for an illustration.

Might have already been mentioned. Loved Scharenberg's courage to sit under that ball and take a full on knee to the back and to continue on after extreme duress. For such an injury proned footballer his courage and discipline is unquestioned.

And the commentator was all about how good it was of the forward to make sure he earned it, which is only an appropriate if the person taking the hit actually gets a mark.

If it was Selwood they'd have sent the runner out with his AA Jacket and Most Courageous award.

Looked like a side coming off the bye against a side that had set themselves for a line in the sand game.

My thoughts too. I hope we put in extra effort this next week. GC 'should' be a win, but there's no room for complacency

Agreed, but would have liked it to be at 2.10 instead of 3.20. Didn't really make sense that it was at that time, given it wasn't on 7.
It really doesn’t make that much difference.

Being later means you get an opportunity to actually do things around the house after morning sport with the kids.

Home at 7, quick dinner, shower and book before bed...and kids are already asleep, happy days!!

Pies cost me a multi and it was a frustrating game but I got a photo with AJ Styles in the presidents room just before the game, probably greatest thing ever.
Ric Flair
Steve Austen
The Rock
Undertaker

Now you’re talking

(Great fun, trust you enjoyed it)

Being later means you get an opportunity to actually do things around the house after morning sport with the kids.

Home at 7, quick dinner, shower and book before bed...and kids are already asleep, happy days!!

Sunday timetables can be crap so getting home by 7 is tough for quite a few of us. Wish mine was asleep, half your bloody luck haha.

And if we win...

Celebrate? :D

I guess the good lady needs to be Collingwood as well :)

The stars finally aligned; our first game for the year and what a disappointment. Played very poorly but got the points. I'll take that any day of the week. Onwards.
Apples beating Carlton is always a good time.

Same. I didn't go today or to the Melbourne game because of it.

Horrible slot. It's okay a couple of times but it seems we have it every week
I don't get why the club has excepted so many Sunday 3.20 slot games?? Unless they requested it?
I strongly believe there would be 10k-20k more fans attending our Sunday games if they were scheduled at say 1:00-2:00pm starts.

Being on level 4 at the ground, it was clear that carlton set themselves up not to get blown out rather than trying to win. They nearly always had 2 spare players on the defensive side of the ball which definitely impacted Collingwood's ability to effectively move forward. It also meant they had nothing to kick to when they did get the ball. It looked similar to geelong's gameplan which we saw a month or so ago, the blues just didnt have the skills to pull it off.

I hope we develop better strategies to combat this approach for the rest of the year. Given we were coming off the break and it was carlton I will take the win

Good day at the footy.

I took kids to Sunday sport, did a bit of shopping and housework and then took the munchkins to a winter afternoon at the G.

Back home for tacos and kids off to bed absolutely exhausted...perfect day.

Much more family friendly than night or twilight games.

Good to get a win when the team really didn’t play very well.
Might work for you but not for me & when your paying over $1k in memberships annually it's very frustrating, pull it back to 2:00pm.

The stars finally aligned; our first game for the year and what a disappointment. Played very poorly but got the points. I'll take that any day of the week. Onwards.
A game we would have lost in the past, many said it was a danger game and they were correct. History will tell us we don't do well after the bye and if Carlton were going to get us it was today. Good news is we stood up and got the points, heaps to look at and review this week but at least the review will have the four points banked and in the vault. Four more next week and a much better performance against GCS, I predict.

I expect them to have a crack too, need to get some space on them early.

FTR I thought we would run over the top and have a much higher percentage tonight.