Opinion Planning for next year?

• Thread starter Thread starter basil00

Our list is unbalanced and lacks the players we need to go to the next step. If the choice for coach is another unproven assistant or Ratts, I will take Ratts. If Malthouse is there then he gets the nod as long as the fire is in the belly and he is not going to just take the money and become a media whore. Melbourne did all their work on Neeld, and only now are they understanding that he cannot coach and that Bailey had done a pretty good job. Not coincidental Bailey is at Adelaide and they are doing well.Cameron Mooney on Fox Footy has made the observation over and over again that our forward line is patch up and will not kick enough winning scores against top teams. Finishing 8th and getting eliminated in the first final is not worth it. Time to rest up Judd but guys like Jamieson, Waite have to train hard and get back on the field this year. Sending them away is actually the worse thing you can do. If Waite's body is not upto it then we need to make the hard call. One good thing about training in Arab countries is that the players are not going to hit the booze.
At the end of the day the fitness staff know better so let them do their job.

Good post.

Re Malthouse: no worries about the fire in the belly. The manner of his exit from Collingwood turned his guts into molten lava. If he coached us it would not only be to win us a flag but to deny Buckley one. Which isn't to say he is the best man for the job. If we were going to throw a gold plated diamond studded kitchen sink at an aging former coach I would go after Leigh Matthews over MM any day. Compare their records and they speak for themselves. Having said that agree that MM would be better than a punt on the proverbial "highly rated" assistant. Neeld is indeed a cautionary tale.

Re our forward line: as always noted is just one quality key forward off being good enough. (Forget Waite. His body is shot and Jamo's doesn't seem all that flash either.) We need to get one from somewhere. Now.

If you know more than Carltons current fitness staff why dont you consider applying for the job?

Ah, another closed mind. Just wonder how many of you have ventured beyond the boundaries of the urban jungle that is Melbourne. Get your mind out of the 'burbs mate.
I would happily contribute if given the opportunity.
What I will point out is that the modern world suffers from analysis paralysis. Specifically our "highly qualified" experts in many fields, including sports science are seldom happy to follow time honoured practices. Too many have the desire to break new ground, explore new territory etc. The Qatar experiment was just that. I do not claim to be an "expert" just have the benefit of experience and observation of a lifetime in sport and conditioning of athletes and horses in varying climates. Cool climates give the option of heavy loading of workloads, to build bulk and stamina. Excessively hot climates sap and remove condition, they may build stamina over an extended period, not a couple of weeks, have any of you seen a fat arabian horse, or indeed a native of those parts not indulging is western extravagances. It is not rocket science, it is just common sense. I am sorry if it upsets your blind faith and delicate sensibility that all things Carlton are beyond question.
I have never had the privilege of attending a Blues game in the flesh, despite being an avid and loyal supporter for 46 years. Living in Qld and NSW for the last 33 years, I have been largely starved of content for much of the time. I recently had the pleasure of attending the GWS inaugural victory over the Suns. The first AFL game I have attended. I hope to get to the Suns game on Aug 25.
I was disgusted at the behaviour of a small percentage of the aggressive one-eyed supporters in the crowd of these two fledgling clubs. I can only guess at the tribalism and conflict that occurs at a game against an arch enemy. I am sure this creates some emotions and instincts of tribalism, and blind allegiance to the cause. I have supported from afar, I like to think my love of the club is no less than yours, however feel I have more perspective. In this age we have few family businesses, small to medium sized concerns etc. run by experienced, dedicated people. We have conglomerates made up of executives on ridiculous salaries and staffed by individuals possessing little real knowledge and experience, but they do have a piece of paper saying how good they are. There are few businesses or utilities I have dealt with in recent times which are more efficient than their counterparts of bygone years. "Improved or advanced technology" does not equate to improved environment or performance.
The experience of a 50 something life student mean little to the employers of today, so I would not be expecting a call any time soon. Plus I could not live in your concrete jungle.

This is a real tough topic to address, for a number of reasons.

Firstly, I don't believe that any club, regardless of the position they find themselves in on the ladder, isn't planning for the future to some extent. Each and every club in this league, from 1st right down to 18th, has measures in place that indicate that they are keeping an eye on the future. You can look at the bottom clubs, in particular Port and the Western Bulldogs - they are both developing sides with an eye on the future - with a core group of senior players surrounded by a fair few young and promising kids. GC and GWS of course are as well, but they aren't relevant to this as the future is all they have. Then you can look at the top of the tree - Collingwood, Sydney, Adelaide and West Coast. All have had success in bringing in kids to play a role in the senior side, Collingwood in particular.

Like all the sides around us, we too are planning for the future. Anyone who tries to honestly refute that is, quite frankly, kidding themselves. McInnes has played 2 games and looks to be a solid footballer, in 5 games Bootsma has shown he has real talent, Watson has assumed serious responsibility in 6 games and has shown he has a bright future, and Lucas has played 8 games despite disappointing some with a lack of progress. Collins has also been afforded some continuity and benefited as a result. Then we have guys like Yarran, Hendo and Tuohy who are young but are already important members of our best 22. Looking a bit deeper than that, many of our 'best 22' aren't old by any stretch of the imagination - Laidler, Jeffy, Robbo, Kreuzer, Gibbs - all are relatively young and have plenty of years left in them.

In fact you could contend that right there I've named 8 players under the age of 23 that are well and truly part of our best side. 8 players that we hope, injuries permitting, can play and grow together, developing into the core of a highly competitive unit and, dare I say it, a contender in years to come.

If that's not a case of the Carlton Football Club planning for the future - then I don't know what is.

We've handed a debut to 2 players thus far this season and both have been impressive. I dare say that injuries have prevented us from giving opportunities to the likes of Rowe, Mitchell & Casboult, as well as continuing to develop certain other younger players like Davies.

Speaking of injuries, whilst not an excuse for a lack of effort which has plagued our side at stages this season - injuries must be factored in here. I can't remember the last time we had such a lengthy injury list and our performances - at senior and reserve level - have seriously struggled as a result.

I'm all for planning for the future, and giving an opportunity to some younger players but there has to be a balance. We can't afford to simply throw them into the deep end to see if they sink or swim. That's not how football clubs run - but it is how to ruin the development and the careers of promising kids coming through the system. People who called for Mitchell to be included the week after he returned from injury are kidding themselves, as are people calling for Casboult to be included currently. Buckley isn't ready for senior action, nor is McCarthy. Does that mean they are no good? No - it means they need more time. They need more time, time is what they should be given and time is what they will get. Because the club understands that our current predicament doesn't call for putting a kid who isn't ready, in a position which could well result in him not developing to the extent that they believe he could otherwise.

We haven't been good enough this season, there's no doubt about that. We were highly optimistic about season 2012 on the back of a couple of years improvement and for various reasons we've fallen short. Hugely disappointing - yes. A wasted opportunity - perhaps. The end of the road and cause for mass panic and rebuild - absolutely not.

As the saying goes, you can only play the cards you have been dealt. There's no doubt that this year we've been dealt shit cards but we have no other choice in the matter. We are really struggling this year for a whole lot of reasons, all of which will need to be reviewed at the conclusion of the season and I have faith that they will be. Coaching structure, player development, cohesiveness throughout the ranks and injury management are just a couple of things that we have struggled with this season. And they are all issues which I expect to be put under the microscope at the conclusion of 2012, with a solution to all of them resulting.

We are planning for the future. I have no doubt about that because I can see it with the players who we are trying to get games into, and the responsibilities they are being given. Giving younger players an opportunity is fine but a balance must be found and met - otherwise there is simply no point and it could work to our detriment. What is that balance? It would differ for each club but given the circumstances I can't be too critical of the club for the way they have given the younger players a chance to show that they have something to offer the Carlton Football Club in the long term.

. Melbourne did all their work on Neeld, and only now are they understanding that he cannot coach and that Bailey had done a pretty good job. .

Whilst not the topic of this thread, that's complete and utter bullshit. If you honestly believe that the Melbourne Football Club regret hiring Mark Neeld, you lack an understanding of that club and our game.

Neeld has the tough job of implementing a completely different mindset to a playing group. Under Bailey the Demons had no clue about defense and it's importance. That's why at times they looked great when they were given license to attack relentlessly, but that's also why they got hammered consistently going the other way. That game style simply doesn't win premierships. Neeld understands the importance of developing defensive structures and gameplans, and that's what he's trying to teach his players. The only thing he needs is the support of the players - and a hell of a lot of time. The man can coach and getting rid of Bailey for him is one of the best decisions that club has made in many a year.

It is depressing but part of the game. As is player development, list management, systems and structures, good coaching, game plan(s) and club culture. Unfortunately we fail on all counts. Boy how I envy Sydney, they are everything we are not. They even make Mike Pyke look good.
Oh dear. Another guru of the game plan, structure and systems. Still yet to have a good structure and system and game plan adequately annunciated by any poster here so that it is possible to compare one to another. The moment you are capable of doing this be sure to post it wont you. o_O

Am starting to wonder if fate is still in our own hands. I guess a massive thumping of the Bulldogs to build the percentage back up and a couple of results this weekend (Rich beat North, Swans beat Saints for example) and we are still a show to make it. But if results dont go our way including a huge win this weekend then I think the planning can start. Send players for early opps if needed. Play the fringe and kids, including Casboult, Mitchell, Heyne, White, Davies, Buckley, Boots and Dale, see who wants to have a crack and stay on the list.

Might also do some of the senior players some good to miss finals after having a taste for a couple of years. See if we cant get that fire burning so hot that, given some luck with injuries next year (and surely 2 years in a row is enough bad luck for any club) we come out and really give the comp a shake. I am talking undefeated type shake. Their isnt a team we cant beat if we can field our best and play our best, its not beyond the realms if the attitude is right and the luck runs with us.

I notice the MRP have sent Judd straight to the tribunal which tells me 2 things, first they dont even know what rule he has broken therefore dont feel empowered to hand down any ruling, and second they knew any penalty they handed down would be challenged so why bother so straight to the tribunal. I think the AFL wants a penalty but they wont get one. He hasnt broken any rules. If he gets suspended for that, expect a court injunction by Thursday.

And what does Judd to the tribunal have to do with planning for next year? If he goes down for that, we should pick all the kids starting next weekend as a statement of protest as much as anything else. I cant believe the AFL want to so embarrass themselves by citing that on the back of some media hype. Just risible really, another example of AFL ineptitude and lack of legitimacy.

Carlton is in a pickle of its own making - exaggerated by a set of injuries no one could have foreseen.

The Club is in a mess right now and the mess either tidies itself up - or gets tidied up. Either way - it is now The Board and Sponsors who will decide.

I ask myself could a different coach have done any better? Some days I say no - other days I say maybe - at the margin. Would any coach have got us into top4 with these injuries - I say nope. Will the current coaching set-up take us to the next level as contenders? Dunno no confidence haven't seen anything to suggest so - except wins in round 3 and the week before last.

Well this year is done and dusted. Its funny, last year we finished 5th and were competative with the top 4 sides. This year not much has changed to our list but the results are far from similar. Teams are lining up to play us.

What's wrong

How our players have been trained and physically developed wrong. Heard Ratten is not haooy with the staff responsible some where too. Our list lacks bulk and strength. The top sides sure don't. Our onballers and talls get pushed around far too easily and our tackling has fallen away since last year. I was suprised when I saw our players in the NAB cup, usually players look over big at that time of the year, ours looked like track and field athletes. Time to hit the weights room fellas and get some instruction from someone who knows what they are doing, something Essendon have done right and a reason for their improvement. Fair chance this has contributed to our high injury toll.

The brand of footy we have played. Going from defence to forward around the boundry creates congestion and allows flooding. Sure doesn't suit a light weight running side that craves space. But we have played most of our footy this way. Not to mention the forward line that leads and kicks to the boundry. Can't kick accurately from there and find space at ground level if you tried. Oh and lets push all our players forward and leave heaps of space in the midfield for the opposition to move it quickly and directly from defence to goal. Last year we pushed the opposition wide and slowed them down and held them up through the midfield. This year we have done the opposite, good luck defence. Time to work on getting numbers behind the ball and giving the defence a chance and going more direct and opening up the forward line and keeping the footy in a central position. The best way to hold the ball in your forward line is to give the opposition no options up field and give your forwards the best chance by giving them space, not flooding your forward half.

Clearances, it was always a suspect thing for us but last year we did ok. This year our midfield looks one of the worst ones going around. Our midfield is like our forward line, it lacks the right mix. Every time we come accross a Watson, Ziebell, Dangerfield or a Thompson type they carve us up. We haven't had a big srong clearance king since Kouta. Our players don't dictate things in the center because they aren't big and strong enough to push off, barge through a block/tackle and get a proper handball off when getting tackled. We are flatfooted and hit the ball with no momentum but that might be to do with our inability to deal with physical pressure in there. Either way we get pushed around and belted in the center. Not just that but when the opposition do clear the ball they do it cleanly and running forward and that is undefendable. It's not so much losing the ruck, because there are good setups you can implement to a losing ruck. Just look at how the swans set up in the center V WCE's and how the ruckmen made cox and naitanui reach over them and roved it out the back. We don't do that and that comes back to bad coaching without ideas as much as players not taking ownership of things in there. Our blokes who play on the ball need to come back heavier and stronger next year. We need to be setting up on our own terms and doing the pushing around. We also need to make onballers out of our more solid, stronger players like Touhy who is ideal for the job. We need to be smarter where we go when we do direct the ball in the ruck. Lets hit it to Judd when he has a guy handing off him and pushing him out of the contest, how predictable and stupid. Our tagged players need to do the blocking and open things up for any of the more lose playing guys.

Structure. It our spine is fine until we come to the forward line, just terrible. No tall forwards.

What we should be doing.

1. Play the kids. We have got games into Bootsma and are getting games into McInness and Watson which is great. We need to get games into Buckley, Dale, Casboult and Mitchell.

2. Forward structure. We need to go with a three man tall forward line. defenders are drawn towards tall forwards. If you have 1, they all go to him and he has little to no chance working in no space. If you have 2 they havee half a chance but if you have 3 then the defenders become eavenly spread amongst the forwards. Just look at the output of Cloke and Especially Dawes since Brown has retired or the output of Walker when Waite doesn't play. Playing Mitchell on his own wont work. Playing Henderson on with him will make it work a bit. Play Mitchell, Casboult/Hampson and Henderson all together and they will kick more goals in the AFL than they do battling it out in the VFL. We need to use Henderson's athleticism and have him playing up the ground at CHF. we need to start playing Mitchell at FF now because we need him next year. We need to play Casboult because he is a forward who can ruck. All Casboult has to do is ruck for 5 minutes per quarter and our midfield needs to set up a losing ruck structure. Time to get with the program, give our tall young forwards AFL game time so they are more ready for 2013 and time to get with the rest and go with two perminant tall forwards and a resting ruck. They also need time playing AFL together to get used to playing to gether and learning to play as a team and to get used to AFL footy.

3. Get Touhy on the ball. Tried it against St Kilda a few years ago in the last round and he went better than Ellard and Curnow ever have. He's strong, he's hard at the ball, he has great skills and can kick a midfielders type goal, even off half back. He's shown a nouse for roving too. It's a no brainer but our coaches haven't got the brains to see it. If he's not getting 25-30 touches a game and averaging about 1 goal a game after a month on the ball I would be very very astounded. Would like to see Collins on the ball more too.

I would line up like this for this week with the plan to bring Dale in at some stage.

B: McInness Jamison Duigan
HB: Armfield Watson Yarran
C: Gibbs Mclean Murphy
HF: Buckley Henderson Garlett
F: Casboult Mitchell Betts
OB: Kreuzer Touhy Carrazzo
IC: Collins Curnow Robinson Scotland

Out: Judd (susp), Walker (inj), Joseph (Inj), Lucas (Omitted)
In: Touhy, Buckley, Casboult, Mitchell

Well this year is done and dusted. Its funny, last year we finished 5th and were competative with the top 4 sides. This year not much has changed to our list but the results are far from similar. Teams are lining up to play us.

What's wrong
All those words to say not very much at all. And people complain about my verbosity. At least I have a point.

Not much has changed to our list? How about half of them could not get on the park? Nah too simple an explaination and does not give you the chance to write a dissertation where you can examine the molecular differences between a fit list and an injured one.

We could not put our best team on the park and therefore were not able to play the standard required to be top 4.

Thats it. Thats all. All the rest of your post was fluff designed to fool the more gullable posters here that you have a clue what you are on about.

Sheesh.

All those words to say not very much at all. And people complain about my verbosity. At least I have a point.

Not much has changed to our list? How about half of them could not get on the park? Nah too simple an explaination and does not give you the chance to write a dissertation where you can examine the molecular differences between a fit list and an injured one.

We could not put our best team on the park and therefore were not able to play the standard required to be top 4.

Thats it. Thats all. All the rest of your post was fluff designed to fool the more gullable posters here that you have a clue what you are on about.

Sheesh.

Sheesh, all those words just to say that you blame injuries alone. Fact, we were never that good to begin with, haven't finished top 4 in a very long time.

I recon there's a lot wrong with Carlton. I recon what I have said is pretty spot on and if you recon if every one is fit, we will magically play a better brand of footy where we move it quickly, not around the boundry, open the forward line up and keep it in a central position up forward and won't get so easily opened up on the rebound and beat better sides in clearances and waltz all the way to the premiership then I recon you're dreaming? I must be wrong, we have so many big strong players. Fair dinkum, every team has best 22 players out. We lose two or three players and we fall out of the 8. How long have we been blaming injuries for our mediocre performances? I know shit footy when I see it and just because you have second stringers in, doesn't mean you should be playing a poor brand of footy and losing to every one, let alone getting belted. Geelong won a premiership this year and had quite a few ex premiership stars out. Take the best player in the league out of their side and bam, they win a premiership. Take a good player out of our side and we are out of the 8. There's more to it than depth believe me. Pretty easy to blame injuries, especially if you don't have a clue.

I would line up like this for this week with the plan to bring Dale in at some stage.

B: McInness Jamison Duigan
HB: Armfield Watson Yarran
C: Gibbs Mclean Murphy
HF: Buckley Henderson Garlett
F: Casboult Mitchell Betts
OB: Kreuzer Touhy Carrazzo
IC: Collins Curnow Robinson Scotland

Out: Judd (susp), Walker (inj), Joseph (Inj), Lucas (Omitted)
In: Touhy, Buckley, Casboult, Mitchell

Each time I finish reading one of posts and go to the bathroom I end up looking like Tom hanks in castaway!

Judd is out for 4 weeks, time to try one of the kids in the middle. Going to be some changes this week with injuries and suspensions so looking forward to seeing some players that will be a big part of our push into the finals next season.

This season still not over, but the fat lady is getting her make-up on.

Sheesh, all those words just to say that you blame injuries alone. Fact, we were never that good to begin with, haven't finished top 4 in a very long time.

I recon there's a lot wrong with Carlton. I recon what I have said is pretty spot on and if you recon if every one is fit, we will magically play a better brand of footy where we move it quickly, not around the boundry, open the forward line up and keep it in a central position up forward and won't get so easily opened up on the rebound and beat better sides in clearances and waltz all the way to the premiership then I recon you're dreaming? I must be wrong, we have so many big strong players. Fair dinkum, every team has best 22 players out. We lose two or three players and we fall out of the 8. How long have we been blaming injuries for our mediocre performances? I know shit footy when I see it and just because you have second stringers in, doesn't mean you should be playing a poor brand of footy and losing to every one, let alone getting belted. Geelong won a premiership this year and had quite a few ex premiership stars out. Take the best player in the league out of their side and bam, they win a premiership. Take a good player out of our side and we are out of the 8. There's more to it than depth believe me. Pretty easy to blame injuries, especially if you don't have a clue.

:thumbsu:

Exactly. Ratten and friends simply relied on the class of our better players to make us competitive early in the season. The Qatar gig ensured our players "trimmed down" in the pre season. Our second stringers have had little or no development, I am ecstatic that blokes like Watson and Collins have finally been given a go. Juddy's short lived resurgence has been due in no small way to finally having a fair dinkum extractor in the side, I refer to the much maligned McLean. So many posters still calling for him to be moved on. This would be a big mistake.
We have a list of players with the right preparation and some proactive coaching can be competitive in any contest. As much as I hate to say it, we are done this year, I have held the hope of a turn around, but will not happen now. With erratic structures and game plan, and the mounting injury toll the minor miracle is not feasible.
I still live in the hope (bordering on expectation) that Mitchell, Watson, and a few more of our recent draftees can upgrade our currently accepted top 22-25 players without essentially drafting some mature players. No doubt we need to upgrade some mids (especially inside) and a decent, fit key forward would not go astray. We cannot sell the farm to get them, no Cloke or Boak for me. A Koby Stevens type may be handy if the price is right. If we have to draft them as kids so be it. We should be able to strengthen the midfield with a bit more maturity from Ellard, Curnow and co, stability from Brock, and hopefully some elevation from the likes of Tuohy, Bell, Buckley, Collins and hopefully some improved hardness from Gibbs, Yarran, Garlett and Lucas. We need to make the tough calls on a couple of fringe dwellers, and perhaps some supposed best 22 players and we need some fair dinkum medical assessment of Waite, Kreuzer, Jamison, Laidler, Judd, Hendo and a couple of others BEFORE trading or drafting, to find out how big the gaps are. We have had at least 2 years of underpreparing players, rushing them back from injury and playing sore (more than acceptable levels). Change is needed, I have my ideas, but it is up to those in the inner sanctum to empower the capable and remove the pretenders on our staff.

Sheesh, all those words just to say that you blame injuries alone. Fact, we were never that good to begin with, haven't finished top 4 in a very long time..

it was obvious from round 4, even before our whole season was ruined by injuries, that we had major deficiencies

the Bombers totally dismantled our defence, got in our faces, and we wilted...we couldn't adjust...sure we lost Carazzo and Laidler early but the manner of the loss (and the fact no one flew the flag) suggested deeper, cultural issues

it's been the same almost every week since then, plan A was great for 3 weeks until ALL the other teams worked it out

we need a hard nut in the midfield, let's leave Tuohy in there and see what he can do

let's put Gibbs in there and see if he can finally deliver on all his promise

let's be proactive and try and win a game with those 2 in the engine room instead of saving a game!

we also need to give a few others a game before the end of the year so we have a slight inkling how they'll cope at AFL level

and drop Garlett for non performance...it's time

it was obvious from round 4, even before our whole season was ruined by injuries, that we had major deficiencies

the Bombers totally dismantled our defence, got in our faces, and we wilted...we couldn't adjust...sure we lost Carazzo and Laidler early but the manner of the loss (and the fact no one flew the flag) suggested deeper, cultural issues

it's been the same almost every week since then, plan A was great for 3 weeks until ALL the other teams worked it out

Yep and when we were flying last year I was still saying we needed a big strong midfielder with class and another big forward, at least for structure. Listen I wouldn't get on the all hope is lost bandwagon because we still have a lot of quality on our list and our older guys like Scotland, Judd and Carrazzo look to have plenty of good footy in them although Waite is a concerne but don't write him off. We just need to do things differently over the summer. If we get Malthouse then there is a guy who has been doing things right for many many years. He might come in and be able to see when the players need a rest or need to train harder or need to do more weights etc and he might be able to see that perhaps a guy like Touhy should be on the ball and he might go with 2 or 3 tall forwards regardless of form or expierence because that is how Collingwood have done it under him and are still doing it under Buckley and they are going a damn lot better than us and they have had injuries and players out of form just like we have and most other teams have. I recon we have a lot of blokes underperforming and perhaps next year we will get the best out of them, but that may take change. I still recon we could be premiership contenders if we improve a few areas like strength and bulk, how we play the game, get another strong gun onballer going in there and a balanced forwardline with the right mix of talls and smalls. Our defence is good and has depth. We have some gun midfielders and good outside players and we have good small forwards. I just recon things will go right for us if we do things right.

I agree batman we have a bit of talent but we aren't maximising it.

I was banging my head against the wall about a month ago when Ratts said it's time for the players to take risks and take the game on...then start of the game saw him put Gibbs in a lockdown role in defence on some less talented no namer :rolleyes:

criticism of Gibbs is warranted but please please play him in the position he was recruited for and see what he can do! he killed it as an offensive midfielder as a junior

We came back from Qatar - skinny and weak but with a lot of run and endurance. Our game plan was based on flexible players. I guess we had to invent that one - as injuries took their toll. When you are deep up shyte creek - everything smells bad and everything looks messy.

I heard Gibbs asked on radio last week where he would prefer to play, and he indicated that he would prefer to play onball but circumstances meant that he was required mostly in defence...I was surpised how candid and a little selfish his comments were...I really expected the answer you would get from most professional sportman when asked a similar question. ie " I am happy to play wherever the coach thinks is best for the team ".....Well with Judd gone for four weeks, its time to give him what he ( and what many supporters ) wants, and lets see what Bryce Gibbs is really made of.