Player interactions over the years

I'm wondering if this is a trend in general rather than a reflection of the teams from the 80's and 00's.

Back in the 80's these guys were almost amateur footballers. They got paid reasonable coin to kick a footy around on the weekend, go to a couple of training sessions. They still drank and smoked and lived life pretty normal-ish. They were just normal guys who were good at footy.

These days, these kids are feted from high school, put on a pedestal during underage comps and once drafted spend a large chunk of their time inside the club which in a very professional environment. Many on big salaries. Things like social media and 'fame' mean a footballer in the 80's could go to the local supermarket/pub and be a normal person. These days everyone knows who they are are nosing in on their business.

There are always going to be nice people and complete d*heads and everything in between. But I think maybe these days sportspeople (globally) just probably aren't as friendly as back in the old days.

Not Carlton related but anecdotally in agreement with your hypothesis:

Met Graeme Sounness at LAX. Would have been around '83 - so still in his Liverpool and Scotland pomp - one of the biggest names in British Football.
Waiting for a connecting flight and had been traveling since "last week" (his words)
Ray Clemence - the England goalkeeper and Micky Hazard in a lift in a hotel in Melbourne in '85
Graeme Dilley and David Gower having breakfast with Bill Athey and Allan Lamb early '87

all were incredibly accommodating and gracious - and that was under the Fleet Street press of the 80s.

Definatly think modern news cycle and social media has an impact

Worked in 367 Collins St in the mid to late 80's and Sticks worked in the same building, used to see him all the time in the lift and he always said gday...live in WA now and see Richard Dennis every now and then as we're in the same industry...had a few beers with him at Xmas time on a boat and had a great time introducing him to everyone as a legend...he says it's embarrassing but I reckon he loves it:)

And just remembered and not Carlton related but was at a conference on the gold coast years ago and the Aussie cricket team was staying at the same hotel....they were all ushered into a private room at the restaurant one night at dinner...we were all there to....Andrew Symons came out to buy drinks and the two elderly ladies sitting behind us called him over for a photo....he sat there for over an hour with them just chatting....

Worked in 367 Collins St in the mid to late 80's and Sticks worked in the same building, used to see him all the time in the lift and he always said gday...live in WA now and see Richard Dennis every now and then as we're in the same industry...had a few beers with him at Xmas time on a boat and had a great time introducing him to everyone as a legend...he says it's embarrassing but I reckon he loves it:)

Worked with a bloke who dealt with Sticks back in his Visy days.

Obviously reckons he's a good bloke, but reckoned come Monday or Tuesday Sticks could barely hold a pen. Hands and forearms were covered in bruises from defenders fists going the "spoil". was something I'd never considered.

And just remembered and not Carlton related but was at a conference on the gold coast years ago and the Aussie cricket team was staying at the same hotel....they were all ushered into a private room at the restaurant one night at dinner...we were all there to....Andrew Symons came out to buy drinks and the two elderly ladies sitting behind us called him over for a photo....he sat there for over an hour with them just chatting....

good for him. players who get too caught up in the maelstrom of professional sport probably miss a lot of those things.

I never played sport at that sort of level but reckon those sort of interactions, (particularly with kids), are deeply enriching and add so much to sport

I mentioned earlier that I met Souness at LAX in '83. Was about 8 or 9 and he must have given me 20 mins of his time despite being out on his feet. Just chatted generally about football, jet-lag etc autographs and waited patiently while the old man farted about with his camera.

I spent the whole time pretty tongue tied but heck - 20 mins of attention from one of my idols was worth a fortune to me.

Oh, and his thighs were even larger than they looked on TV

For the ladies, imagine Tom Selleck with rugby thighs

Brad Pearce hit on my then girlfriend now wife. Wayne Carey thought just saying to her she had "nice ****" was a classy move.

Carey was all class :rolleyes:

Nice guy. I used to go out with one of his wife's best friends. Loved talking about the Blues but never about his own exploits.

his friends had a nick name for him but I can't remember what it was, just remember it seemed a bit cruel for such a good bloke. It was something to do with the shape of his head .

I only spoke to him a couple of times but he actually gave me a friendly bit of relationship advice, which was said as a bit of a joke but I ended up using not long after.

"Do unto others as you would have them do unto you"?

nah, it was more along the lines of the next time me and my then partner break up maybe it should be for good. (We'd broken up 3 previous times in about 2 years.)

We had been joking and I'd come to the same conclusion already. Sure enough, three weeks later it was over and out.

My sister once pashed Camporeale at the Sorrento Hotel...
when security threw him out did he stand with his hands on his hips bawling that he didn't do anything?

I only spoke to him a couple of times but he actually gave me a friendly bit of relationship advice, which was said as a bit of a joke but I ended up using not long after.

He is that sort of bloke. During a big weekend in WA he once told me I was too smart to be smoking cigars. He was right.

Me and the fellas bumped into Sticks one Saturday night (around 3am) at the now closed down all night Souva joint in Moonee Ponds, The Time Deli and as one, we yelled drunkenly "STICKS" and he looked at us, smiled and said "the garlic sauce here is a ripper boys" and walked out.

Words I've lived my life by.....

Non Carlton but Brent Staker pashed a girl I was seeing while still in the courting stage after the preseason grand final at billboards, we later started going out...I was the only one on Barry Halls side.
You went out with Staker because he pashed your girl?

Non Carlton but Brent Staker pashed a girl I was seeing while still in the courting stage after the preseason grand final at billboards, we later started going out...I was the only one on Barry Halls side.
All non-Eagles supporters in WA were riding that bus as well.

...Hall hitting Staker that is, not pashing your girl.

Player interactions over the years