Toast Podsiadly

Great game from our JPOD today.

So pleased to see him in such good form, has carried such a massive workload all year but it doesn't seem to be affecting his form.

It's funny to think that there's a time when a lot of us weren't sure whether he'd be in our best side or not.

Now I'd be bloody nervous going into September without him, and it's nice to know most would agree.

I think he'll be very crucial come the business end of the season.

The true mark of the man is that he was more excited about Tom Hawkins showing some form and kicking three than about his own personal best 8 goals.

The respect meter went off the scale on seeing that. He is such a classic.

There's a very funny post on the Richmond boards. Some bloke there did a prediction of the scoreline, scorers & best players, and despite having us as winners, cited Podsiadly as scoring one goal for the game.

One of his mates posted afterwards saying, "Which back have you invented in your own mind that's going to keep Pods to just one goal?"

I think Hawkins is important to our structure of our forward line. He helped Pods by taking a big defender. Not to take anything away from Pods, he was awsome! Such great hands, but he seemed to have mroe space today! :thumbsu:

Fantastic work rate, saw him down the wing defending like Roo at times! Total team player! :D

He may not end up kicking as many goals as he did last year, but Pods is a far, far more well rounded player this year. Two BOGs this year - Hawthorn and Brisbane - and was very influentual against Collingwood without kicking straight.

I'm really confident he will have an impact in the finals.

He may not end up kicking as many goals as he did last year, but Pods is a far, far more well rounded player this year. Two BOGs this year - Hawthorn and Brisbane - and was very influentual against Collingwood without kicking straight.

I'm really confident he will have an impact in the finals.

considering he's only 12 goals off with at least 8 more games to play, I'd be disappointed if he didn't kick more goals than last year - especially with a few games coming up at Skilled.

Ah, I must have looked at his goalkicking tally before yesterday's haul :thumbsu:

Either way, he hasn't set the world on fire at Skilled like he did last year, but his performances at the MCG and interstate have been nothing short of amazing. As someone said on another thread - 18 months ago he was a novelty; now he's one of the most important and influentual players in top 2 team.

I still can't believe he was right under the Doggies collective nose at Werribee and they didn't draft him even though they had well documented forward line issues

That's probably cost the Doggies 2 or 3 grand final appearances and possibly a premiership

Just considering the way Pods plays there is no reason the guy can't go for another 4 years or more....he's very much a true lead-out forward, won't have to pinch hit in the ruck or go up too high all the time like riewoldt or franklin. The way he plays i'd reckon he'll give another good few years yet!

This is a big call but G.Ablett snr like yesterday with the hands and attack on the ball,
as brave as they come too,looks to me from the outside he plays every game like it's his last a wonderful trait in a footballer.
Wish he was only 25.

:thumbsu: he has some of the best hands in the game, and his leaping ability makes him nearly impossible to stop because he just takes the marks at the highest point.
I often wonder what he may have done for us had he been found at age 26 and we used him in 2008, 2009.
No idea why he wasn't picked in the qualifying final last season as his potential big grab in the final quarter could have been the difference in us getting a weeks rest.

agree Berserker, if Barry Hall is still running around at 34 am sure Pods at 29 can get another 5 years into him. He's also a fitness nut so keeps himself in tip top shape

This is a big call but G.Ablett snr like yesterday with the hands and attack on the ball,
as brave as they come too,looks to me from the outside he plays every game like it's his last a wonderful trait in a footballer.
Wish he was only 25.

I had to laugh at Bruce yesterday when he said "I wonder if he can go on longer because he is only in his 3rd year in the AFL"........ what, you think that he just started playing footy 3 years ago Bruce......:rolleyes:

Age still takes its toll unfortunately!!

I had to laugh at Bruce yesterday when he said "I wonder if he can go on longer because he is only in his 3rd year in the AFL"........ what, you think that he just started playing footy 3 years ago Bruce......:rolleyes:

Dont take too much notice of McAvaney he was calling Maguire "Moose" not Goose.

shame about age ay:(
but some athletes are just freaks and Pod may be one of those guys. Gary snr at age 34 was still as explosive as any other bloke 28 or 29 in the league. Pods is probably at his absolute peak age 29/30, and you can never exclude maturity and life experience over some of his younger forwards in the game, so he's got that over em

No idea why he wasn't picked in the qualifying final last season as his potential big grab in the final quarter could have been the difference in us getting a weeks rest.

He was suspended for two games in round 21 and missed the qualifying. And he was sorely missed. No doubt he would/could have been the difference against the Saints, even though it was a wet night and not great for marking forwards.

The Moose call was unfortunate. What was most surprising was nobody picked him up on it!!

I was kind of with Bruce on the issue of whether less time in the top flight could help his cause longevity wise. Unfortunately it's a question that can only be answered in hindsight

But I think Bruce is on the J-Pods side - he wants to see him stay in this league and keep playing as well as he is

I still can't believe he was right under the Doggies collective nose at Werribee and they didn't draft him even though they had well documented forward line issues

That's probably cost the Doggies 2 or 3 grand final appearances and possibly a premiership

Hard to say. Pods himself has said it was a huge help coming down to Geelong where the VFL team is basically run as a quasi AFL team. He might have helped us win 08 if we got him earlier, in the end it is all hypotheticals.

:thumbsu: he has some of the best hands in the game, and his leaping ability makes him nearly impossible to stop because he just takes the marks at the highest point.
I often wonder what he may have done for us had he been found at age 26 and we used him in 2008, 2009.

Twas suspended mate.

But yes, I often think about what would have been (for both player and club) had we drafted him earlier, but hey let's enjoy the now, and he will play a big role in pushing us towards a premiership this year. Hope he can get one in the next few years before he retires. :thumbsu:

ahhhh that's right, bloody suspension ay:mad:

we bring it up often but I watched on the couch and footy classified and there was no mention what so ever to Pods kicking a career best 8 goals:(, it's not as if 8 goals are even kicked on a regular basis anymore. We really are the forgotten team