Preview Politics in Australia

What are the three key issues of the 2019 Federal Election?

• The economy

Votes: 3 27.3%
  • Tax

• Government Services

Votes: 2 18.2%
  • Climate policy

Votes: 6 54.5%
  • Animal welfare

Votes: 1 9.1%
  • Environment

• Wages

Votes: 5 45.5%
  • Industrial democracy

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Superannuation

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Housing affordability

Votes: 6 54.5%
  • Other

Votes: 2 18.2%

Sunderland,Pelicans, LA Kings
Well it’s on. The Federal election date is 18/5/2019.

As a result the Parliament has been closed down (the proclamation has been read on the steps of Parliament) and we are now in a caretaker period.

It will be an election for the House of Representatives and half of the Senate.

Interesting facts

The last time an election was held on the same date was 1974. Gough Whitlam was PM and Billy Snedden was Opposition Leader. Whitlam was returned with a reduced majority. Billy Snedden had a novel explanation for his defeat. We just didn’t win enough seats.

How does Robbo know the date?

Played under17s footy that day and ended up at the RMH Emergency Room which confirmed a broken left clavicle.

I love elections. I’m only slightly less excited than Antony Green, ABC guru on all things to do with elections. The art of psephology is under appreciated by the masses and I aim to change that. In fact, it’s not even in the spell check. Tsk, tsk.

This thread can go anywhere. Serious is ok but humour is better. I will accept mocking and derision as well.

Please remember to respect each other. What you think to yourself is your little secret.

So let’s make a go of it. Right up to Democracy Sausage Day. And who doesn’t love a piece of bread, a sausage, some onions and a squirt of sauce (vegetarian and vegan options available).

Direct is good. Need more of you standing as a candidate.

Ha.

Funny you should mention that - back in 2016 I did joke that I'd be putting my hand up for election at council level. But only because a good mate of mine was running and I wanted to wipe the floor with him.

Didn't put my hand up, he was voted in...and to this day I maintain I would've had him well covered. :p

I have next to no interest in federal politics and I continue to be utterly ashamed by the candidates each party puts forward. I don't remember the last time in my time being eligible to vote that I saw a candidate and thought "now there's a leader!" and that's an indictment on the parties and on politics in this country as a whole.

ScoMo vs Shorten? Please. I'll once again be throwing my vote away. At least I'll get to enjoy a sausage on the way out. And maybe on the way in also.

Ha.

Funny you should mention that - back in 2016 I did joke that I'd be putting my hand up for election at council level. But only because a good mate of mine was running and I wanted to wipe the floor with him.

Didn't put my hand up, he was voted in...and to this day I maintain I would've had him well covered. :p

I have next to no interest in federal politics and I continue to be utterly ashamed by the candidates each party puts forward. I don't remember the last time in my time being eligible to vote that I saw a candidate and thought "now there's a leader!" and that's an indictment on the parties and on politics in this country as a whole.

ScoMo vs Shorten? Please. I'll once again be throwing my vote away. At least I'll get to enjoy a sausage on the way out. And maybe on the way in also.
Come on. Look in the mirror. You see one every day. Stand on ethics, integrity and not wasting taxpayers money. Guaranteed 14% and a seat in the Senate for six years.

Shan't be throwing my vote away. If too many people do that we'll end up with someone like...ScoMo. Or Shorten. ****.
Pretty sure we will end up with ScoMo or Shorten , unfortunately more likely to be Shorten.

Not excited about voting at all as Canberra is awash with socialists so the ALP is guaranteed of getting the three Reps seats.

Pretty sure we will end up with ScoMo or Shorten , unfortunately more likely to be Shorten.

Not excited about voting at all as Canberra is awash with socialists so the ALP is guaranteed of getting the three Reps seats.
Can you get a photo for me Ace? I haven’t seen one for many years.

All parts of our lives will be effected by today’s announcement.

I’ll be keeping an eye out on many different platforms.

Streaming music is popular these days. I understand the LNP in central and northern Queensland have been listening to this classic. I’m not sure they would be happy with Loretta’s dress. They hate anything green!

So let’s make a go of it. Right up to Democracy Sausage Day. And who doesn’t love a piece of bread, a sausage, some onions and a squirt of sauce (vegetarian and vegan options available).

Did somebody say....SAUSAGE? :D

I love elections too - at least, the democratic process of voting and the excitement of watching the coverage.

What I'd really like to see are swarms of Secret Police in the tally room with MP-9's and gas masks, but I guess those fantasies will have to wait for our inevitable dystopian future.

I love elections too - at least, the democratic process of voting and the excitement of watching the coverage.

What I'd really like to see are swarms of Secret Police in the tally room with MP-9's and gas masks, but I guess those fantasies will have to wait for our inevitable dystopian future.
What are you doing in here Snags ? Have you got lost :D

You’ve allowed us a peek inside your personal thoughts. I’ve got to say it’s a tad disturbing.