Port Arthur Tragedy - Interviewees needed.

• Thread starter Thread starter Rowie09

Rowie09

Chelsea, Atlanta Hawks
Hi all. I am currently studying Journalism down here at UTAS, and one of my units this semester is Convrgent Journalism. Our major assignment is to produce a package that transpires over several forms of media, and it can be about basically anything.

Anyhoo, I am doing mine on the Port Arthur tragedy of 1996. I am looking for anybody who has any stories, or who was involved in any way. Anybody who knew a victim, or a police officer or an ambulance officer, staff member anything. Am more than happy to interview over the phone, or if in Tassie, face to face would be great.

My piece is looking to cover Bryant, the events of the day as well as the emergence of the conspiracy theories that are floating about.

So if anybody has anything to share, I would love to hear from you. Cheers.

This is probably useless information, but I did an essay on the Port Arthur massacre last year and found there is a lot of newspaper articles and so forth available via lexus nexus (or a similar database) and there are also some tv news reports available on youtube. You probably knew all of this, but anyway. Good luck.

You know, there is a theory out there that the whole thing was an inside job.
Be sure to look into it. :thumbsu:

You know, there is a theory out there that the whole thing was an inside job.
Be sure to look into it. :thumbsu:
Martin Bryant Conspiracy:

http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=...rch&meta=&cts=1250233630814&aq=1&oq=Martin+Br

http://home.overflow.net.au/~nedwood/portarthur.html

Some crazy people out there.

How can they say it's a cover up when several people died and were injured? That's almost as bad as saying September 11 was an inside job, planned out by Bushpig.

Yeah. I've done a fair bit of research and a lot of reading into the conspiracy theories. I would be extremely interested in talking to anybody who has any views on it, or anybody who has extensively researched the matter or knows anybody who knows anything.

I've read a fair bit of vialls stuff which is quite extreme. Vialls himself is pretty shadowy it would seem also. Apparently was there the day of the shootings but doesn't mention it in his book. Not sure why.

Yeah. I've done a fair bit of research and a lot of reading into the conspiracy theories. I would be extremely interested in talking to anybody who has any views on it, or anybody who has extensively researched the matter or knows anybody who knows anything.

I've read a fair bit of vialls stuff which is quite extreme. Vialls himself is pretty shadowy it would seem also. Apparently was there the day of the shootings but doesn't mention it in his book. Not sure why.

PM me. We'll talk.

:shifty eyes thingy:

Depending how deep you want to go with the CT, this is the best information I have read..

Book was written by an ex-Mossad.

Died in perth, not long ago.

Check his credentials too, and good luck with the assignment.

http://www.whale.to/b/viallspam.html#MARTIN_BRYANT_-_THE_OTHER_STORY_

edit: see you're on to vialli already. might be a hard pill to swallow if new to the CT world.

afriend of one of my friends was there when it happened, saw all the carnage, bodies etc. the whole thing ****ed him up so much he lost it and killed himself not long after.

Depending how deep you want to go with the CT, this is the best information I have read..

Book was written by an ex-Mossad.

Died in perth, not long ago.

Check his credentials too, and good luck with the assignment.

http://www.whale.to/b/viallspam.html#MARTIN_BRYANT_-_THE_OTHER_STORY_

edit: see you're on to vialli already. might be a hard pill to swallow if new to the CT world.

Yeah, ive read most of his stuff. Definately grabs your interest at first, but after a bit of investigation, his credentials just seem very shady. And when I read his stuff about the Sumatran trench bomb, and how he reckons there should be a 'Martin Bryant Sorry Day' then I got rather sceptical.

Cant deny some of the coincidences though, such as the management seminar and the fake drug cache.

The latest Martin Bryant book, Born or Bred, was one of the most insightful books I've read in the last few years.

I reckon Ill give it a read. Sounds fascinating. Suddenly One Sunday and After Port Arthur are good reads too, that I would recommend.

I work with a girl (albeit in another department) who's father was a warden a Risdon prison for many years. He left a few months after Bryant started residing there as he broke down near daily at work. He had two daughters.

he broke down about bryant or bryant broke down??

what did he say about bryant?

Vialls is dead and is a bullshit artist of the highest order. Reckoned the Bali bomb was an Israeli 'mini nuke'. Fool.

Anyway, I studied journalism at RMIT and when I was there, for radio training, they had a bit where they played a tape of a student (I think) who was in the practise newsroom at the time interviewing somebody live as it was happening, as in the person was live on the scene as Bryant was still loose shooting people.

Might be worth ringing the RMIT journo dept and asking them if they could let you listen to it or give you a copy.

Good luck.

The latest Martin Bryant book, Born or Bred, was one of the most insightful books I've read in the last few years.

i agree. Insightful. and not sensational either.

also insightful rowie for you may be the fact that IIRC the massacre was covered differently on the mainland as opposed to tasmania and those of us living in tassie at the time got different news reports

dunno if thats an angle you could use?

In reference to the alleged conspiracy, the Adelaide Institute, whatever that may be, was pedalling the theory that the man who transports cadavers around Tasmania had just recently constructed an ambulance to carry 35 bodies, and therefore was in on the rort.

Fact is, the bloke was obsessed with doing his job properly and saw it as a necessity to have such a vehicle. He designed and constructed it using his own resources.

In reference to the alleged conspiracy, the Adelaide Institute, whatever that may be, was pedalling the theory that the man who transports cadavers around Tasmania had just recently constructed an ambulance to carry 35 bodies, and therefore was in on the rort.

Fact is, the bloke was obsessed with doing his job properly and saw it as a necessity to have such a vehicle. He designed and constructed it using his own resources.

The Adelaide Institute is a neo-Nazi outfit that peddles various conspiracy theories but tends to focus on Holocaust denial type stuff.

Thanks for the responses guys. I agree SLF and Numchucks, outside of BF I have been labelling myself an 'actual' journalist, rather than a student. Only said it on BF because I have identified myself as a student in previous threads.

Im pretty close to secuting Bob Fielding who was a superintendent at the time and responsible for the Seascape siege, I also have a woman who was a cheif counsillor to Port Arthur victims, and a man who was a Tasmanian Government media liaison officer at the time who has some interesting views.

SLF, that situation with the RMIT student sounds fascinating. Will definately contact them and see what I can rustle up.

Still wouldnt mind talking to somebody who has alternate views on the shootings, or anybody who has published anything in this regard.

Again, thanks for your responses so far!

Bump.

Just about finished reading Born or Bred. Amazing read. Surely the people who push the Port Arthur CT now really don't have a leg to stand on?

The research put into this book is extraordinary, tracing back Bryants family to their arrival to Australia. Was definately wowed by the level of detail.

The transcripts with Avery are fascinating.