• Thread starter Thread starter Thommo 42

Not prepared to write us off just yet gents :thumbsu:

I'm not a fair weather and I'd prefer we didn't have so many of them.

So we're playing a bit of inconsistent footy, but things aren't decided in August.

So positives?

Davis was good and continues to provide spark, the thing I liked about him tonight was that those are the sort of games where he tends to go missing. Not tonight.

Thomas sparked us a bit, but the boys were tired. I think any thoughts of resting this kid should be put to bed.

Goldsack continues to be hard at it, if there is contested footy to be won, he will get it.

Bryan's ruckwork improved. Unfortunately, with Foley the clearance king not getting a decent tag it didn't have an impact.

Rhyce Shaw is coming into form, his run is vital and his disposal has improved dramatically.

Toovey and Licuria put their spots on the 2008 list beyond doubt, both have to go. Along with Nicholls and hopefully Richards, thats frees up 4 spots.

Clement will be better for the run, and Clarke should be well rested, though I don't agree with him being rested at all.

Then to come into the side we have the great man Buckley, Pendlebury who should really help with our clearance play, Rusling could come in to add an exra dimension to the forward line. Didak should be coming into a bit more match fitness and getting over 'the incident', Cooky looks well balanced and polished and Marty Clarke will be back asap.

Also not sure why Cox was omitted, every time he gets dropped I'm very surprised. He's impressive.

You could not possibly take ANY positives out of tonights game.

- Worst game of Jimmy Clements career
- Last game of Licuria's Career
- Hopefully never see Toovey again
- Cook - not up to it
- O'Bree - was he out there? What about his left foot around the corner short pass to a leading forward, streaming out of the middle
- Malthouse - why was Burns on the bench for so long when we are getting absolutely smashed in there
- Selection Committee - Toovey WTF, Licuria WTF, Clarke WHY? Cox WHY?7
- Heath Shaw - stop worrying about trying to get loose and set up play, get back to doing the 1%ers, taking courageous marks, beating your opponent in one on one contests.

Absolutely DISGRACEFUL. If anyone can take a positive out of tonights match, they are taking the *****

no positives. should of beaten us by 100 points.
you guys are pretenders.

Right now I am angry and I will probably think about this much more clearly later... however at this moment there is no positives!!!

We were weak as a team in the stoppages.... couldn't win a contest when it mattered and look tired and pathetic. Why does this happen this time every year!!

Deja friggen vu!!

Bryan is shit, he made Pattison (sp?) look like the AA ruckman.
Honest to god, did we just leave Foley in the centre square all by himself, did we even bother having players in the square when it was bounced.
Might as well have pushed them into the back half for all the good they did when in the middle.

No point having Rusling as an extra in the forward line when our midfield can't kick for shit.

No wonder Rocca leads the league in contested marks, our midfielders can't kick it to his advantage, he has to contest it to get it.

Call me fairweather, whatever, i don't care. Tonight stunk, not one major positive at all.
All it confirmed for me was that Mick has had long enough, he refuses to cover our deficiencies and he needs to go.

Just quietly, Medhurst retains his spot for next week.

Thomas continues to impress.

Bryan tried all night, this guy goes so hard for the ball, very desperate.

Lockyer wasn't bad, wasn't good either.

Rocca did about what he was suppose too.

its shameful that we preach to other clubs about the Collingwood army and how we follow through thick and thin, yet we turn on a bunch of kids after a loss.

fair weather supporters.

how about addressing my points?

All season the pies have been the underdogs that continued to achieve through pure will, determination and strict adherance to game plans.

It seems to me that all of a sudden we feel that we believe our own stink, and all the determination that fed our game has now taken a back seat to the egos that our overachieving has produced

only thomas showed some good things tonight, once he strings together 4 quarters he will be awesome, as for the rest of the team tonight, SHIT

the hell happened to the team that put up awesome performances against top sides...

its shameful that we preach to other clubs about the Collingwood army and how we follow through thick and thin, yet we turn on a bunch of kids after a loss.

fair weather supporters.

I know that you are right... there are positive.... the season is not over...

However early on I wish to vent the anger I brought up watching Richmond beat us comprehensively over the ground.

Later I will look on positives!

no positives. should of beaten us by 100 points.
you guys are pretenders.

I agree with you mate. We struggled to beat carlton last week, now have been beaten by a side that has won 1, yeah 1 game out of 18. If we are a fair dinkum finals team like Geelong, West coast, Hawthorn etc. we should have won both these games by 10 goals. We are not good enough and wont be for another few years to come, or until we discover decent midfielders. We will struggle aginst Melbourne next Friday night, because for some reason we can never beat them. Another nail in the coffin for the 07 season, live next friday night!.

anyway im not any pie games unless buckley comes back, if he plays out the season i wil lgo to every match he plays in

****ing collingwood, the one weekend where i finished all my work and have time to go watch them they do this crap

The only positives i saw were:

Licuria should positively retire.
Bryan is positively shit.
Toovey is positively shit.
Our midfield is positively soft and scared.
Rhyce shaw is positively shit.

Thats the only positives i can think off atm.

You could not possibly take ANY positives out of tonights game.

- Worst game of Jimmy Clements career - in the last 5 years, yeah
- Last game of Licuria's Career - Let's hope so.
- Hopefully never see Toovey again - He f***ed up several times, but even then I thought we had worse players.
- Cook - not up to it He'll be fine. Goal-kicking needs fixing, woeful action.
- O'Bree - was he out there? What about his left foot around the corner short pass to a leading forward, streaming out of the middle
- Malthouse - why was Burns on the bench for so long when we are getting absolutely smashed in there Burns was very average as well...got the ball in the C but got tackled each time he touched it.
- Selection Committee - Toovey WTF, Licuria WTF, Clarke WHY? Cox WHY?7 I'll add say NO to Bryan
- Heath Shaw - stop worrying about trying to get loose and set up play, get back to doing the 1%ers, taking courageous marks, beating your opponent in one on one contests. Was easily in the best, but you're right, hasn't been as tight of late.

Absolutely DISGRACEFUL. If anyone can take a positive out of tonights match, they are taking the *****

Positives: 5 of our 22 played ok: Maxwell, Heater, Leon, Thomas (good for a half, missing the other), Presti (good for 2 quarters, injured the rest).

The only real positive is hopefully the return of Pendles, Didak and maybe Buckley next week.

As I've said all along, we were never a title contender, and won't be as long as O'Bree and Liccuria or Bryan/Richards are in the side. Let's draft well, trade well, and in 2 years time we'll be genuine.
And let's actually draft some midfielders and stop trying to turn flankers into mids.

Positives

1. Thomas continues to look destined to become an A grade player

2. Rhyce Shaw provided a little run

3. We know Toovey is not up to it so that makes a delisting decision made

4. We can confirm how reliant on Pendlebury our midfield has become.

5. We are sure neither Bryan (smashed around the ground tonight) or Richards are near AFL standard so we have to trade for a ready made ruckman at the end of the season

Sorry thats about as positive as I can get

Positives

1. Thomas continues to look destined to become an A grade player

2. Rhyce Shaw provided a little run

3. We know Toovey is not up to it so that makes a delisting decision made

4. We can confirm how reliant on Pendlebury our midfield has become.

5. We are sure neither Bryan (smashed around the ground tonight) or Richards are near AFL standard so we have to trade for a ready made ruckman at the end of the season

Sorry thats about as positive as I can get

thanks for your efforts :thumbsu:

I thought Leon Davis was also a positive, those are the sorts of games he normally goes missing. Tonight he was really trying to get us back in it.

Didn't think Clement was terrible at all and am mystified by criticisms of Rhyce Shaw.

Another positive is that Fraser will never play that poorly again. (clearly was affected by a virus or an injury)

fair weather supporters.

Hang on mate, we just got pumped by a team that has won 1 out of 18 games this year, and the same team that was beaten by 12 goals the week before. I think all Collingwood supporters have the right to be p***** off at the moment, considering we are playing for a top 4 position. As a member, who pays for their membership each year, l don't expect to pay for crap like that. if yiou are happy with mediocrity, then thats you. You see teams like West Coast, Sydney, Port Adelaide wouldn't, thats why they are successful teams. At Collingwood performances like this are accepted to easily, that's why we struggle.

1. Thomas was great tonight. Provided alot of enthusiasm that we sadly didn't build on.

2. Medhurst got a bit of it up forward and kicked a few goals.

3. Leon had his moments.

Personally i think a positive is that the season nearly over.
Positive is that we can play with so many new players and be in the top 8.

With so many new players wheres all our money going to? We dont have expensive players like West Coast and St Kilda with players like Judd, Kerr, Reiwoldt, Dal Santo etc etc. Collingwood is supposed to be a wealthy team, spend some cash on a good forward, ruck and some midfields. I like our backline atm though but they need more speed.