Autopsy Post game analysis

Consecutive goalless quarters. Go us!
LOL forward line to be feared!

Struggled to kick 80 points a game last season and it is the same again.

We lack offensive talent, xfactor and skill.

We lack system.

What's worse none of our jnrs that have played at AFL level have shown that star quality.
Like when Pendles and Daisy debuted you knew they were going to become genuine stars from word go, Im not sure I have seen that from any of our recent draft picks.
This is not to say we wont get quality players from ours but I don't see any out and out stars Bont Wingard type etc.

On top of this we aren't even playing many kids we are fair dinkum thinking we are a finals team unreal.

Fasolo & Varcoe

I don't even know what to say. They are just the biggest pretenders ever.

We are going to have bad games, we get that. But our game style, tactics and game plan are still non existent - I don't see one thing that is constant from week to week that looks like it's a positive thing and that we are improving on or focusing on. It's not obvious what we are meant to be trying to do of achieve.
Easy on Varcoe! He didn't play tonight.

Really struggled in the back half, Ramsay and Oxley not up to it at this stage.

Thought oxley was good considering it was his fifth game? Or less.

Fact is our backline is weak in skill
Our midfield is slow
Our forward line doesnt function

Apart from that we are going great

Not one of our finest days, but the positives are there.
* Heart--We showed some, just like we did last week. It is nice to support a side which doesn't roll over and simply die. I also don't think that anyone should underestimate how important it is for a young and developing team to be able to avoid a massacre. They know that a lot of things went wrong today, but they will have some confidence that some things must also have gone okay.
* Defence--No, it wasn't a glorious day, and Adelaide undoubtedly slowed up a bit, but it is ridiculous to deny that they wanted to pile on some percentage. We kept them under 100 points, which is some cause for relief.
* Oxley--Some are calling for his head (see above). Me, I think that he's beginning to find his way around a footy field, after having a crap run for the past couple of years. I'm encouraged...too easily perhaps?
* Grundy--Put in another mammoth performance. He needed help, but had none. I don't know what happens when Witts comes back, but for now Grundy is playing his part.
* Broomhead--He needs to play every week, and I think that today showed that he deserves a spot.

All up, I've talked myself into a state of mild optimism.

Crows took their foot completely off the pedal at the end but at least we managed to do something so there's that I guess.

Nothing positive to take from this game really at all though apart from what we already know - our running ability, disposal and structures are all poor and don't stand up to any sort of pressure and we can't and probably never will be able to sustain Buckley's desired game style built around manic pressure and turnovers over the longer term because going all in on those aspects sacrifices any sort of attacking flair we might otherwise bring to the table (and teams with good ball users especially by foot pick through our defensive press like it's not even there).

The defence will cop a hiding in many reviews but I felt sorry for them with the number of times the Crows brought the ball in under no pressure whatsoever and no obvious targets to kick the ball to up the ground when we did manage to deny them in D50 for most of the night, more often than not it just came straight back in after the first contest.
Just like they took the foot off the pedal last week?
In the first three quarters, they were only good coz we were shit?

ABC radio were very positive about Oxley's 25 possession game saying he was going to be a rebounder for us. Many here seem to think he is shit.

I am actually okay with all that happened. When the commentators don't bag a Collingwood loss you know things aren't too bad. They didn't even try to play the "Bucks under pressure" card. We tried, young midfield struggled with pressure. Sometimes it's that simple guys.

As has been said by me and others, the players and the coaching staff are on the same page and we are looking united and proud of the jumper. More importantly the players were not happy with the performance and are looking to improve. Compare that to Marc Murphy having a laugh with Weagle players after the match last night.

After watching the dogs game earlier it made me even more worried about what we are (or are not) doing with some of our younger talent, and also at our lack of adventure, individual flair and attacking ability.

Bucks has had 4 years to try and fix our forward line. And it's worse than ever before, and that's with White playing 2 decent games. It's so ineffectual yet there is nothing different really being done to improve it from what I can see.

Our ball use would have to be the worst in the competition. Guess that happens when you remove good ball users and replace them with either younger inexperienced players or with recycled (which is another story for another thread.)

Terrible performance. Want to be the best transition side but sooooo many stupid turnovers and simple skill errors. And Adelaide's half backs stitched us up.

Fasolo - Doesnt do enough but the entry into the F50 was awful. Probably excused. :thumbsdown:
Nathan Brown - Very good. Took care of Jenkins and was solid all game. Will be better when Reid is next to him. :thumbsu:
Toovey - Excellent I thought. Really nullified Dangerfield while he was forward and laid some crunching tackles. Back to his best after that ACL injury.:thumbsu:
Oxley - Plenty of the pill but absolutely butchered it at times. Plenty to work with though. Need to keep pumping games into him. :thumbsu:
Frost - No good. Gets lost far too often and makes some of the most stupid decisions for a FB. Leaves his man at the worst possible time and fumbles time after time. Will be gone when Reid is back.:thumbsdown:
Langdon - Just dont see what everyone sees with this guy. Slow, kicking lacks penetration, and he ground work below the knees is absolutely terrible. Took a couple of good contested grabs but just cant see him being the marshall of the defence. :thumbsdown:
Crisp - Barely sighted in the first half. Skills deplorable. :thumbsdown:
Swan - Midfield time is up for him. Looks alot more dangerous up the ground around the goals and I feel it'll be his last year. Thumbs somewhere in the middle.
Varcoe - Disgusting excuse of a footballer. Id take Lumumba back and all his off field nonsense in a heart beat for this clown. :thumbsdown:
Williams - Another with poor skills but did OK on Betts. A meh game from him. :thumbsdown:
White - He's getting there I reckon. Start clunking em and reckon he'll be alright. :thumbsu:
Elliott - Tried hard but ineffectual. Let himself down a bit today. :thumbsdown:
Blair - Our most dangerous forward all day. Tries hard. Keeps his spot for another few weeks.:thumbsu:
Goldsack - Two poor games to start the season. Did nothing up forward. 7 possessions and only 3 tackles is simply not good enough for someone in the leadership group. Only just holding his spot. :thumbsdown:
Cloke - A typical Cloke game. He's either hot or shithouse. The latter today but the ball use towards him was again questionable.:thumbsdown:
Pendlebury - Star. :thumbsu:
Adams - Tried hard, had 23 and 7 tackles. Love the kid. :thumbsu:
Grundy - BOG for us. Was outstanding in the ruck against an AA calibre ruckman. Developing nicely. :thumbsu:
Ramsay - Shocking day for him. Poor skills, lacks composure for a back and looks lost. Probably back in the ressies next week. :thumbsdown:
Broomhead - Good for the run and looked silky as always. For his first game back, was good. :thumbsu:
Seedsman - Loved his ball use. Here to stay. :thumbsu:

Good effort to the end, some good signs including return of Seedman who showed a bit, Grundy toiled again and was not out of his depth in the ruck, Oxley got a lot of it and maybe could have been better with his disposal.

Another good day for Blair, good on him.
Adams and Pendlebury tried all day and did well.

Lowlights were Fasolo, Sinclair injury, Forward set up early, no back up ruck.

In the end if you were told we would get within 5 goals most would have taken it.

Coming off the game last week players may have been a bit fatigued and the early loss of Sinclair wasn't ideal either but the way they all never gave up regardless of whether Adelaide backed off is all I care about.

At the end of the day just like Brisbane played last week against us.

I reserve judgement until a few more games.

I am actually okay with all that happened. When the commentators don't bag a Collingwood loss you know things aren't too bad. They didn't even try to play the "Bucks under pressure" card.
I prefer it when they are almost barracking for the other side, like GWS and GC last year.

Being hated and envious was better than having them feel sorry for us.

You can't blame the forwards for this one, the panicking midfielders weren't even looking when the kicked it forward.

Also special shout out to Pies fans at the game showing respect to Brodie Smith.

Posted it on the game day thread, but think our midfield needs the most work, to hit a target in the forward line and not let it flow so easily into our defensive 50, I would hate to be a Collingwood defender at the moment. Overall though i thought the team as a whole really tried and showed some endeavour, Adelaide with the experience and age should be challenging for finals, our list is not at that stage yet.

I prefer it when they are almost barracking for the other side, like GWS and GC last year.

Being hated and envious was better than having them feel sorry for us.

Lol, fair enough. The media nowadays seem to want to push the "Coach Killer" crap with every loss for every team not making finals.

Showed today how much Sidey means for our team.
Really missed him, as he is our link player between the back and forward halves.
Can't say I'm happy with the result, but at least we didn't throw in the towel and stop trying like we did a few times last year.
Bucks couldn't really do too much from the box.
They were too good for us today.
Really looking forward to getting Reid back though.
And then, Sidey and Greenwood a few weeks later.

We used to be the best rebound team with Johnno Shaw H Leon Davis and occasionally Toovs
The backline is simply not good enough, lack of skill, composure, talent and intelligence.
DE for rebounding backmen are Ox(76%) Langdon(50%) Marley(76%) Ramsey(65%) Seeds(61%) Toovs(50%) and Goldsack(57%)
We also need more inside mids next week. The mid does not look good when two of Blair, Elliot or Varcoe in there.
Btw, IMO Jack Frost will only be an average KPD. He is lack of concentration at least one quarter a game, that is not good enough.

Just like they took the foot off the pedal last week?
In the first three quarters, they were only good coz we were shit?

Were you actually watching the game? It was pretty obvious to anyone who was that the Crows eased up a bit in the last quarter and the sting went out of the game completely, but apart from that the Crows were flat out better than we were, nothing much more you can say really.

On the flip side we've played what amounts to probably 4 terrible quarters worth of football out of the past 5 - there's no glossing that fact over no matter how you look at it or who we put on the park.

I know the score flattered us, but we did fight it out. We also looked flat and tired for a big chunk of the game.

Massive lack of Sidebottom.

Our defenders were under enormous pressure, and were outclassed. But they never stopped trying. Langdon cool as always. Thought Oxley was OK, for his 4th? 5th? game. Frost on world record pace for punching the ball.

Broomy did enough to stay in. Swannie starting to get some of 'it' back. White not disgraced.

I'm concerned about Elliott. Doesn't seem to be getting to the right places this year. Sort of stranded between the middle and the forward line.

From the VFL watchers it sounds like Witts will be back next week. Good, we need him.