Post-Richo

Once Richo has moved on who is the most likely major goal scorer with Richmond?

I know you've got alot of talented taller players coming through and no doubt you'll be a force in years to come.

I've not seen alot of Richmond this year but from what I understand, Jay Schulz isn't good enough.

Cleve Hughes apparantly looks really good?

Jack Reiwoldt apparantly looks even better?

What about Adam Pattison? He a chance or is he purely a Ruckmen?

I like Polak. I know he's crept forward for a few goals this year. He's a super mark, possibly the best in the league and would have a stronger body then Reiwoldt or Hughes.

Will Polak be given a chance Post-Richo?

Who is the most likely to become the Leading Goal Scorer?

Ripper! another vice like grip that cant kick! I would prefer it to be cleaver given he can kick, schulz used to be able to kick but forgot to be immunized against richolaria when he came to punt road.

Beautifully put rooster...lmao :thumbsu:
Don't forget everyone who freezes with the bobbing ball has also got a dose from 'the great one'.

Deledio.
Play him as a FF and pinch hit him for five mins a quarter up the ground.
As a permanent forward, would kick 70 goals a year out of his butt.
You know it makes sense.

I know you've got alot of talented taller players coming through and no doubt you'll be a force in years to come.

I've not seen alot of Richmond this year but from what I understand, Jay Schulz isn't good enough.

I like Polak. I know he's crept forward for a few goals this year. He's a super mark, possibly the best in the league and would have a stronger body then Reiwoldt or Hughes.

Schulz has had a horrible year and really should be worried but I reckon he will stay. Reasons...
Richo had a good year of getting the footy but his kicking yips are starting to be a liability if he remains our number one target.
Reiwoldt looks pretty good but does not have the right build & will be too young next year to be our prime target.
Polak will only be a pinch hitter down forward I reckon.
Hughes? I have high hopes but next year must see a massive step forward for him. Clean hands, great kick but is he fast enough on the lead?
Patto will only be a resting ruckman type forward.
To me it looks like we are going to evolve with a mult-pronged forward set up with quite a few sharing the load rather than having one guy charging towards a Coleman.
So who will bag the most sausages in 2008?
My tip is Captain Nathan Brown! :thumbsu:

To me it looks like we are going to evolve with a mult-pronged forward set up with quite a few sharing the load rather than having one guy charging towards a Coleman.
:thumbsu:
Spot on.:thumbsu:Have a look at the sides that produced Coleman Medal contenders this year:thumbsd: I like the idea of Deledio at full-forward alongside Jack and maybe Patto/Gus when resting. Then have Cleve Hughes (Post Richo) at CHF with Browny (or Edwards) and Peterson on the flanks.

Hughes finds it hard to get a touch for coburg. Jack Reiwoldt looks the likely to replace richo.

I think Simmonds could be a pretty handy forward as well, if we address our ruck problems. Just about play Graham/Patto opening in ruck and Simmonds full forward.

Went through this a few months back and from memory I had something like:
HF: Pettifer Hughes Tambling/Edwards/Deledio/Foley (rotating position)
F: Brown Schulz Riewoldt

Now although Jay is still copping a bagging from all and sundry about whether he belongs on the list, I still have a gut feeling that if he is around when Richo is gone and can be the main target in the F50 then he could well be the answer. Talls take a long time to come good and although Jay has been on the list a while and should have kicked on by now it should be remembered he is still only 22 and has suffered quite a few set backs injury wise. Would love to see Jay get a full pre season in the bag and then be given FF for 22 games next season (depending on form/injuries) without Richo sitting down there drawing the focus away. It will be the last year of Jay's contract and if he can't deliver then out he goes.

As it has been pointed out we gave Pettifer time to develop and he has turned into a valuable player, just think that if Schulz is given the same time to develop he could make a few people rather sheepish.

Deledio.
You know it makes sense.

:)Sure does make sense Tug.

If not, given we are talking 2010 or 2011, Riewoldt looms as the most likely.

Hughes has potential to be a good CHF, though don't think he will kick grrat numbers of goals.

Schulz has had a horrible year and really should be worried but I reckon he will stay. Reasons...
Richo had a good year of getting the footy but his kicking yips are starting to be a liability if he remains our number one target.
Reiwoldt looks pretty good but does not have the right build & will be too young next year to be our prime target.
Polak will only be a pinch hitter down forward I reckon.
Hughes? I have high hopes but next year must see a massive step forward for him. Clean hands, great kick but is he fast enough on the lead?
Patto will only be a resting ruckman type forward.
So who will bag the most sausages in 2008?
My tip is Captain Nathan Brown! :thumbsu:

Thanks for the replies boys.

I forgot all about Nathan Brown. No doubt he'll snag a few goals as you guys rise up the ladder.

Interesting that you guys don't have anyone who you all are pin pointing as the next big thing.

Though a few players capable of kicking 50ish goals a season would probably be better in todays game then one big spear head.

Deledio.
You know it makes sense.

Tugga, i agree tottaly, by the way is that your missus?????/?....lol

Honestly? At the moment we've got a few problems in this regard but he's a champion forward who can't kick a set shot. Nobody fills the void, how much of a difference will that make?

:o

Don't get me wrong I love Richo but I really wonder what difference it would have made to our performances over the years if he had just kicked a few of those very gettable shot on goal he has missed. He'd have had his bag of 15 that's for sure.

Richo's going to play until he's 45.
Everyone else will have long retired before then.

My gut?

Deledio.
So quick on the lead agood mark overhead and a pretty sound set shot at goal.

Forget the midfield(or use him there sporadically)
Groom him as our next FF.:thumbsu:

Had hopes for Schulz but feel he'll be moved on.

Regarding Lids.

I've always wondered how he'd go as a Hird style CHF.

He's the same size, and would fit in well for either the long shots at goal or passing to a better option.

Leaves FF to be filled, but then again, who says we really need one?

Brown/Pettifer/Reiwoldt/Lids all chipping in for 40 odd goals a season would work out well enough, and being similar size/types would make for a tough matchup for the opposition, who wont know what to do with their big backmen.

Regarding Lids.

I've always wondered how he'd go as a Hird style CHF.

He's the same size, and would fit in well for either the long shots at goal or passing to a better option.

Leaves FF to be filled, but then again, who says we really need one?

Brown/Pettifer/Reiwoldt/Lids all chipping in for 40 odd goals a season would work out well enough, and being similar size/types would make for a tough matchup for the opposition, who wont know what to do with their big backmen.

No disrespect, but has a team ever had four or five players kick 40 plus goals in a season?

Lions in 04 had Akermanis(25 games) with 44, Lynch(13) & Bradshaw(22) with 40 and Brown(17) with 39. I think that is the closest a team has been to achieving that feat.

At present, Port have Ebert 52, Motlop 40, Burgoyne 36 & Westoff 32 with 2-3 games left to play.

It's just a speculative thought, so no problem with anyone saying why not. I'm certainly not hung up on the idea.

I'd assume it would be a case of the better/form players getting more and the rest less, so averaging 40 between them. That said, the matchup problems could mean whoever gets the worst opposition backman gets to stand alone at FF, with the others playing HF, or even rotating through the midfield.

Honestly? At the moment we've got a few problems in this regard but he's a champion forward who can't kick a set shot. Nobody fills the void, how much of a difference will that make?

:o

Don't get me wrong I love Richo but I really wonder what difference it would have made to our performances over the years if he had just kicked a few of those very gettable shot on goal he has missed. He'd have had his bag of 15 that's for sure.

I've always thought if only Richo could kick straight, he could have been the GREATEST Forward ever. What has always pissed me off is that if you have a limited, finite amount of goal-kicking chances going through the one flawed forward, you are history. And that's us.

I'm a realist....everyone moves on....and I am excited only about the RFC's possibilites AFTER Richo has gone.