Potential draftees at draft camp

Manchester United
558147905zi.jpg

CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 28: James Fantasia and Neil Craig of the Adelaide Crows talk to Marc Murphy of Victoria during the National Rising Stars AFL Draft Camp at the Australian Institute of Sport September 28, 2005 in Canberra, Australia.

What are the chances of that happening? :o
NC definitely looks excited by our prospects!!!

Also footydraft.com linked us with Scott Pendlebury as our number 32 pick overall.
558142672eu.jpg

Stiffy_18 said:
Jimmy: Hang on a minute! This is not Shannon Hurn :confused:
Craigy: God, I would kill for a Coopers right now
Stewie: *scratches his head* Tell me boys, why the hell are we interviewing this kid again?

thats about right. What would make them think hes coming to adelaide when he turned brisbane down.

That bottom pic is Shaun Grigg, wouldn't mind getting him. Tall, clean, silky-skilled left footer with pretty good pace.

As for Murphy...nope. Best footballer in this draft BY A MILE.

With the recent departure of Watts I wouldn't mind getting Cleve Hughes (though we would struggle with pick 16).

Here's some midfield options who could be avalible for us:
Varcoe - Lightning quick but injured most of the year. Has some faults. 5-18
Bode - Consistent ball winner - nothing too special - bit like Sherman. 20-35
Pfeiffer - Absolute tough nut, good pace but limited in the midfield. More of a HBF. 5-15
Higgins - Very clever, good pace and uses the ball well. 15-30
Anderson - Lacks height but has the pace and skill. 30+
Jackson - Tough nut who's also reliable down back. Nothing special. 20-40
Jones - Hard at the ball, great engine, solid pace - but how much improvement is left. Big guy who may be caught out in the AFL. 10-25

Bockchoy67 said:
That bottom pic is Shaun Grigg, wouldn't mind getting him. Tall, clean, silky-skilled left footer with pretty good pace.

With the recent departure of Watts I wouldn't mind getting Cleve Hughes (though we would struggle with pick 16).

Pfeiffer - Absolute tough nut, good pace but limited in the midfield. More of a HBF. 5-15
Jones - Hard at the ball, great engine, solid pace - but how much improvement is left. Big guy who may be caught out in the AFL. 10-25

what are they??

Bockchoy67 said:

How about Tom Rischbieth? Is he worth looking at? I only watched him at the carnival and he looked handy.

Henry White said:
what are they??

Decision-making can let him down at times.

Has that break-away pace but sometimes looks like a rabbit in the headlights - lack of awareness.

Very skinny - couldn't have an immediate impact at AFL level. Would need a while to develop his body before he can cope.

Injured most of this year so will return with less experience than hoped for, and may struggle to maintain good form in the SANFL next year.

Other than that a genuine talent and would give us exactly what we need - extreme pace through the middle. Unfortunately, despite his injuries he will likely be picked before us, maybe even top 8.

McLeodMagic said:
How about Tom Rischbieth? Is he worth looking at? I only watched him at the carnival and he looked handy.

He's an interesting one - had a great first-up game against Vic Country. Died out a bit after that.

Excellent set shot at goal. Times his leads well and can take a nice mark.

However, he's 190cm which isn't ideal for a FF. Though guys like Welsh and Fevola have shown you can get away with it. Rischbieth doesn't have awesome pace but he gets the job done.

I wouldn't mind him but I reckon there are a few better options. In fact Footy Draft don't see him making the Top 60. Could be a surprise, but as I said there are better options.

Bockchoy67 said:
Decision-making can let him down at times.
We don't need another Burton
Bockchoy67 said:
Has that break-away pace but sometimes looks like a rabbit in the headlights - lack of awareness.
Or another David Gallagher for that matter.

Bockchoy67 said:
Very skinny - couldn't have an immediate impact at AFL level. Would need a while to develop his body before he can cope.
Thats OK. Reilly was a stick figure when he got drafted and he is pretty solid now. Nothing that a couple of good pre-seasons in the gym can't fix.
Bockchoy67 said:
Injured most of this year so will return with less experience than hoped for, and may struggle to maintain good form in the SANFL next year.
Again not a really an issue. We can wait for a couple of years or stick him in the forward pocket as a crumber. If he is any good that is ;)

Bockchoy67 said:
Other than that a genuine talent and would give us exactly what we need - extreme pace through the middle. Unfortunately, despite his injuries he will likely be picked before us, maybe even top 8.
Footydraft has him listed at 22. If he genuinely has flaws that you mentioned (decision making and awareness) then we are probably better off without him :confused:

Stiffy_18 said:
Footydraft has him listed at 22. If he genuinely has flaws that you mentioned (decision making and awareness) then we are probably better off without him :confused:

Everyone has flaws Stiff.

Varcoe has some great attributes, don't get me wrong, and I would LOVE to take this kid if he was avalible to us.

His decision-making/awareness, etc isn't too big of an issue. It only gets him into trouble at times - in fact it was only a real factor in his few League games. From all reports his reserves games were yum yum.

Those flaws aren't that great a deal - besides, the AFC rate him highly so I'm confident we will grab him and run away if he was somehow avaliable.

Even better is the fact he missed most of the year and the U18 Champs, so there is that slight chance Travis will be in the hoops.

Bockchoy67 said:
Everyone has flaws Stiff.

Varcoe has some great attributes, don't get me wrong, and I would LOVE to take this kid if he was avalible to us.

His decision-making/awareness, etc isn't too big of an issue. It only gets him into trouble at times - in fact it was only a real factor in his few League games. From all reports his reserves games were yum yum.

Those flaws aren't that great a deal - besides, the AFC rate him highly so I'm confident we will grab him and run away if he was somehow avaliable.

Even better is the fact he missed most of the year and the U18 Champs, so there is that slight chance Travis will be in the hoops.
He would have to go past port first ;)

I am not overly keen on footballers when they are lacking in the decision making and awareness :(.

Maybe that program that Craigy was using during the pre-season to enhance player's decision making can do the trick with Travis. Not sure how we fix up the awareness problem though. Surely he can't be bad to the David Gallagher proportions. Now that bloke had no peripheral vision at all.

Stiffy_18 said:
He would have to go past port first

I am not overly keen on footballers when they are lacking in the decision making and awareness :(.

Maybe that program that Craigy was using during the pre-season to enhance player's decision making can do the trick with Travis. Not sure how we fix up the awareness problem though. Surely he can't be bad to the David Gallagher proportions. Now that bloke had no peripheral vision at all.

He ain't a Gallagher clone...I doubt anyone could be. Blind that kid.

THe good far outweighs the bad for Varcoe and I would be stoked if we could pick him up - SA boy, quick as lightning and uses it well most of the time. Only if Port allow it of course. :(

Here's another one - Todd Grima. Very athletic FF (193cm) from Tassie. Played a blistering game against weak opposition in the Champs where he kicked 10.

However, he also played a few games in the TAC and kicked 7 on the Geelong Falcons AND Bendigo Pioneers.

Has great footy smarts and a nice touch of arrogance. Mobile, strong and finishes off well. Plus he wouldn't go home because there's no team to go to. :thumbsu:

macca23 said:
Good thinking Bockchoy!! :D

I honestly think he would be a good get.

Tall, agile, smooth, skillful, good hands, smart...has most of the attributes needed. Just needs to become more consistent. Plus he could well turn out to be a dud, but couldn't anyone?

Played in the Tasmanian VFL side and did quite well there too.

The great thing is that the kid is not only from Tasmania, but is likely to be avaliable to us if we keep pick 16. Plus he would provide compensation for Fergus, even though Grima is a fair step down from Fergus in terms of aerial ability.

Bockchoy67 said:
He's an interesting one - had a great first-up game against Vic Country. Died out a bit after that.

Excellent set shot at goal. Times his leads well and can take a nice mark.

However, he's 190cm which isn't ideal for a FF. Though guys like Welsh and Fevola have shown you can get away with it. Rischbieth doesn't have awesome pace but he gets the job done.

I wouldn't mind him but I reckon there are a few better options. In fact Footy Draft don't see him making the Top 60. Could be a surprise, but as I said there are better options.
I've said it before and I will sya it again, Rischbieth is not a KPP!
He's being ranked in the 60's because they are looking at his prospects as a KPP, but he should be considered a tall midfielder. As I've said on other threads the kid has a MASSIVE engine. He would push Burton and Van Berlo in the runs.
Don't be surprised if Brisbane or Port take him much earlier than everyone thought.

Bockchoy67 said:

Naturally if we picked up an early draft pick, perhaps as part of the Watts deal, would give us a better chance of claiming him.

i think thats why we need to get draft pick(s) for Watts (not Fisher)

i sense that there are several South Aussies eg Rischbieth,Cheetham,McEntee etc in the mix but Port have higher draft picks than us so it would be good to pick up an additional 1st round pick for Watts

McLeodMagic said:

Haha, Craigy doesn't look too impressed. I wouldn't either if I was wearing a vest like that. Just as long as he doesn't try to woo any recruits by offerring any fashion tips.

i reckon, if we can somehow get a pick between 10-12 as well as pick 17 from st kilda for fergus, we can get thomas with the first pick, and cleve hughes/ travis varcoe/ darren pfieffer with the other 2 picks depending on whos available. we would only have 4 picks max in this years draft, and to have 3 in the first round would be very handy.

johnnypanther said:
i think thats why we need to get draft pick(s) for Watts (not Fisher)

i sense that there are several South Aussies eg Rischbieth,Cheetham,McEntee etc in the mix but Port have higher draft picks than us so it would be good to pick up an additional 1st round pick for Watts
He broke the record in the beep test (he got 15.8). He certainly has the endurance of a gun midfielder. With Jericho's height (190 cm) he could be that utility type that Craigy said we are on the look out for. Apparently he also captained Sturt U18s and Reserves.

Stiffy_18 said:
He broke the record in the beep test (he got 15.8). He certainly has the endurance of a gun midfielder. With Jericho's height (190 cm) he could be that utility type that Craigy said we are on the look out for. Apparently he also captained Sturt U18s and Reserves.
Heard that too. Big Engine Alright. But not all people are picked on their athleticism. Like Danyle Pearce who was picked up by port in the rookie draft.

Just did two Phantom Drafts with the guys on the Draft Board. This is basically what Adelaide recieved.

1st pick: Travis Varcoe
2nd pick: Danny Stanley
3rd pick: Andrew Ainger
4th pick: Jace Bode/Matthew Campbell