Practice Matches

Think it was around 50 pts in the end and Hobart took off about 4/5 senior players in back end of 3rd and start of final quarter. Also were missing about 6-8 what you would imagine were senior 18 players including Cassidy.Thorpe was terrible apparently, especially after having a minor altercation with Briggs early inthe game, came off 2nd best and sulked off to the forward line to hide.

Watched Hobart train last night, first night on their home ground, still no goal posts up. They ran for about 1 hour and 20 mins, started running the grandstands for 25 minutes then did some shuttle running then a full field drill that had a bit of agility stuff in it, then they did some game based stoppage work around the ground then Brer had them do some more shuttle running stuff, I left when the lights went out and they were still running, approx 35 on the track and Mariners there watching as well. Apparently 5/6 didn't front at recovery Sunday morning so whole squad got belted for it? Didn't hear a single person whinge though and they seemed to be enjoying the session, this is a different team to last year that is for sure, appear much better in every area and have some strong bodies out there!

If you are a tiger supporter I would encourage you to get up there and support them and watch out for this Azzopardi kid, as big as Cassidy and moves live a gazelle, very quick ad crashes packs I am told, also have a real nuggety onballer whom I am told is from up north, looks a real hard nut!

I reckon Hobart will be ok!? I watched them a couple of weeks ago against some Melbourne club. Once they get a bit fitter, they will not be top 5, but competitive. Watching my magpies, they are by far rhe fittest team in the comp., closely followed by Clarence and North Hobart. I reckon Hobart should invest in a fitness coach, would help them :thumbsu:

Bit early to tell I would think. Watching the teams on saturday night, they both ran out of petrol early in the last quarter. & no wonder, the game was pretty hot early on. 1st game of the year is always hard & it takes another 2-3 games to find your footy legs. I would think all teams would have some decent fitness about them. If not, they will get found out very quickly.

Good to see the pies are fit again, a few of their blokes carried a few Kg's in last couple of seasons, amazing what a difference a younger group makes. I certainly enjoyed the game, pretty fast paced early but both teams did slow down a bit later on, maybe the adrenalin of aka mania wore off? Think you will find that Hobart have had a fitness person for 3 years but due to ever changing list they keep recruiting guys whom have to catch up, the core group look pretty fit to me and went real well last year, just the 1st year players and kids struggle, if you look at David Clark, he would have to be the fittest guy in the league bar none and his body has changed dramatically in past couple of seasons, the boys I know enjoy the fitness work they do and say it is pretty different, not much long running along the bike track ala Toddy Lewis days:thumbsu:

Every club appears to have one these days, Nth Hobart have a physio doing theirs I have heard and Browny also is quite experienced, Langford at Clarence and I think Lauderdale have some guy as well, not sure about northern clubs but Burnie coach BRETT plant said they have a guy based at the ground with his own PT business, that has to be a bonus:)

Good to see the pies are fit again, a few of their blokes carried a few Kg's in last couple of seasons, amazing what a difference a younger group makes. I certainly enjoyed the game, pretty fast paced early but both teams did slow down a bit later on, maybe the adrenalin of aka mania wore off? Think you will find that Hobart have had a fitness person for 3 years but due to ever changing list they keep recruiting guys whom have to catch up, the core group look pretty fit to me and went real well last year, just the 1st year players and kids struggle, if you look at David Clark, he would have to be the fittest guy in the league bar none and his body has changed dramatically in past couple of seasons, the boys I know enjoy the fitness work they do and say it is pretty different, not much long running along the bike track ala Toddy Lewis days:thumbsu:

Every club appears to have one these days, Nth Hobart have a physio doing theirs I have heard and Browny also is quite experienced, Langford at Clarence and I think Lauderdale have some guy as well, not sure about northern clubs but Burnie coach BRETT plant said they have a guy based at the ground with his own PT business, that has to be a bonus:)

We have a ripper of a fitness man at Glenorchy in Andrew Dean, he used to play for Woodsdale and North Hobart, really knows his stuff. Hobart had a guy who coached little athletics....really shows because he has no idea about footy, but apparently he is ok training kids for little athletics. Hobart need a footy man to train up their boys.....anyway smooth sailing at Magpie land we are going to win this years flag easy!!!:thumbsu:

Ha Ha, Love this post made me laugh:D.
I like your confidence. Good luck to Glenorchy they deserve everything that comes there way. Hope Bombers beat you out there next week though!! (wishful thinking?).

We have a ripper of a fitness man at Glenorchy in Andrew Dean, he used to play for Woodsdale and North Hobart, really knows his stuff.

Is that the Andrew Dean who works at PCYC out at Bridgewater, think he was mates with Troy White who also played at Nth Hobart many years ago and may also have been up at New Norfolk before that. It is good that the pies have a fitness person, after Newitt left they really lost their way in that regard, not sure whether Ben Reid was allowed to spend money on that kind of thing? maybe the case?

Would be good if someone can beat Clarence, they have been winning for quite a few years now and it gets a bit tiresome but they certainly deserve it I suppose.Tigers will be ok, just like everyone else I suppose, no point being champions in March and April when the important games are in September:thumbsu:

Ha Ha, Love this post made me laugh:D.
I like your confidence. Good luck to Glenorchy they deserve everything that comes there way. Hope Bombers beat you out there next week though!! (wishful thinking?).

I reckon Norky must be mates with the Hobart guy judging by his scathing attack, maybe Litle aths has the secret training ingredient? I thought the guy at Hobart did some time at the Devils, can't be that bad, wouldn't have though AFL Tas would allow someone without any idea to look after that level. As we all know fitness is only one part of the game, no point being fit if you can't get hold of the ball;)

You are on the money DC. Players always moan about Fitness Coaches. He reckons the guy at Hobart is way out dated and knows nothing about footy. As long as they get them fit...who cares! Although if their fitness coach spent time at The Devils, he must be ordinary!!!!:D