Opinion Premiership Midfield

Starting premiership midfield

How on earth are you getting Rory Laird vibes from Soligo? Don't get me wrong, both are very good ball winners (Soligo still has a bit to go to catch up to prime Laird) but Soligo ball use skills are leagues above Rory Laird. Now some of that is how we are and were organised (seeing we've transitioned in the last two years to a very kick-friendly structure*), but Soligo has always been an above average at kick retention which is rather impressive for a player who generates 43-47% contested disposal (and depending on how things go in 2026-2027, it might get to the point you can make a strong case for Soligo being an elite field kick). Laird on the other hand was a pretty typical inside midfielder, with typically low kick retention and a lot of butchery.

Hopefully Taylor is very similar to Soligo, though I have my doubts Zac will ever progress past being a half forward flanker. Seems like he's left his run too late alongside being a relatively poor runner makes it hard to see any real path for progression.

* Honestly, how shit the 2024 campaign was might be worth it for that transition and Sid Draper, because we didn't abandon what we were doing that year. We just got better at it.

If you want to rush Curtin, lock him in the gym and a running track for the next 12-24 months. He's a couple of preseasons off, body wise.

That said, he's doing alright in what is a difficult role (especially in a lineup that's stacked ahead of the ball) and is having a few moments here and there where you can tell the class is there. However, this year is just a pump games into him kind of campaign.

Still reckon Soligo is carrying something. Is continuing to have bizarrely low TOG

I was hopeful of Charlie Edwards becoming our big crash and bash midfielder but he doesn't really seem to play that way. A little outside leaning perhaps. I thought he looked good on the weekend at half back (first sanfl game I've seen this year) but I was a little disappointed they moved him out of the middle. His frame looks perfect for building serious strength and size.

How on earth are you getting Rory Laird vibes from Soligo?

Same size, same weight, both very good at winning contested ball. Soligo a better user of the footy, Laird better at finding the footy. Both are accumulators and hurt you by a thousand cuts, rather than being really damaging with their possessions.

Both don't have the ability to be an elite midfielder, but can be a very good midfielder (pinch an AA season if all goes well).

Has been our 4th best midfielder this year. I know he is still only 22 years old, so a lot can change over the next 3 years.

Club could also throw a big contract at Elijah Hollands. Idk he was a Crows fan growing up. Doubt he'd be on much at Carlton with their salary cap squeeze.

A big contract?

For a player with known "issues" at both the clubs he's been at?

Why? He isn't an establish A grade midfielder let alone elite and we have Draper to develop.

He's got a very high ceiling, his current output is good, he kicks goals and he offers power and quality with ball in hand.

A Pedlar but with a body that doesn't keep breaking down.

If Pedlar could keep fit, he'd do the job, but he can't seem to - so far.

A big contract?

For a player with known issues at both the clubs he's been at?

Obviously subject to the usual due diligence. Brad Crouch seemed to go ok while enjoying life off field. Plenty of players do. Just depends on whether they're at Oliver/Cousins levels, or at a Lachie Whitfield makes a mistake levels.

Need to let this group build. Soligo, Peatling, Rankine, Draper are the core guys going forward, with Dawson supporting in whatever way needed in the back end of his career

Unpopular opinion but I think Dawson dam Soligo should be starting on the wings, both are great kicks and good runners.

Peatling has been impressive and is a tough nut. Think Rash and Rankine could share midfield minutes. Think Draper is the one we need to fast track but while we are in finals contention, Nicks will be scared to put him in.

I like Curtin and he is developing nicely but just not sure where his natural position will be. If west coast come knocking with their first? Or even a top 5 pick and there is a good mid? I’d trade him. I just don’t know where he will end up, position wise.

Or we trade in next years and try getting a gun midfielder his year and hope that Draper and say a Sharp develop quickly to take advantage of Fog and Thilphorpe in their prime

I’m now of the view that both Rankine and Dawson are both ‘guys who can roll through the midfield’ rather than genuine frontline midfielders. I think they’re both best used in a 67/33 type split with Rankine up forward and Dawson wherever needed for the majority of the match but with occasional bursts on ball. You can probably put Rachele in that category as well.

That leaves us with Soligo, Peatling, Draper and (at a pinch) Berry as our main midfield options. It’s clearly undermanned and in massive need of an upgrade if we’re ever to do any real damage in finals let alone win a flag…and that’s without getting to the ruck position!!

Crouch is too old and slow. Schoenberg has been tried and failed. Taylor may in time play a role. Curtin doesn’t strike me as the Bontempelli/Hayden Young type but I’d love to be proven wrong.

Therefore the answer has to come through trade/FA so our list management team better be getting busy.

Phillipou really stands out as the best candidate unless you believe that NWM will make the transition to full time gun mid.

I’m now of the view that both Rankine and Dawson are both ‘guys who can roll through the midfield’ rather than genuine frontline midfielders. I think they’re both best used in a 67/33 type split with Rankine up forward and Dawson wherever needed for the majority of the match but with occasional bursts on ball. You can probably put Rachele in that category as well.

That leaves us with Soligo, Peatling, Draper and (at a pinch) Berry as our main midfield options. It’s clearly undermanned and in massive need of an upgrade if we’re ever to do any real damage in finals let alone win a flag…and that’s without getting to the ruck position!!

Crouch is too old and slow. Schoenberg has been tried and failed. Taylor may in time play a role. Curtin doesn’t strike me as the Bontempelli/Hayden Young type but I’d love to be proven wrong.

Therefore the answer has to come through trade/FA so our list management team better be getting busy.

Phillipou really stands out as the best candidate unless you believe that NWM will make the transition to full time gun mid.
Agreed. 2 of Dawson’s elite traits (his ball use and contested marking) are somewhat marginalised playing mainly as a mid. We also lack x-factor up forward when Rankine isn’t there - basically if we don’t mark inside 50 it normally rebounds the other way quickly.

Phillipou would be awesome if he can get his body right and pack on 5+ kg of muscle.

Draper, Edwards and Curtin are the three I want to see In our midfield over the next few years. Draper and Edwards have that explosive power and break away speed from the contest and Curtin has the big body and smarts that will be effective in the midfield.

Put those three players with Dawson,rankine,soligo and peatling and it has the ability to be a good midfield. I also think we should be developing a tagger and the perfect player for this is bond or maybe Berry could be used in this role.

Obviously subject to the usual due diligence. Brad Crouch seemed to go ok while enjoying life off field. Plenty of players do. Just depends on whether they're at Oliver/Cousins levels, or at a Lachie Whitfield makes a mistake levels.

I see your tricks. You just want us to load up on a big contract for Hollands so there is nothing in the bank for NWM or Phillipou.

I’m now of the view that both Rankine and Dawson are both ‘guys who can roll through the midfield’ rather than genuine frontline midfielders. I think they’re both best used in a 67/33 type split with Rankine up forward and Dawson wherever needed
I also think this but we have a conundrum - well the coaches do .
1. Laird/Milera - I see HBF as his spot
2. We cant be seen to have a Captain at HBF
3. Who covers the HBF when he goes inside

I cant for this year see Nicks dropping golden child - and while he is performing why would he . But again it leaves us keeping Dawson in the middle. I see HBF as his best spot

I don't think we are too far off to be honest if we invest more in what we have and possibly add someone with some size.

Collingwood - 2 tall mids in Pendles and Long plus 2 guns in Daicos with speed. De Goey and Sudebottom round out

Brissie - 2 big mids in Dunkley and McCluggage and 2 more zippy in Ashcroft and Neale

Hawks - Worpel, Newcombe, Ward, Hustwaite and Moore ( no big stand outs)

Gold Coast - Anderson, Miller, Rowell, Humphrey. Speed and bulk.

So with Soligo, Rachelle and Rankine we have speed along with Peatling. Rachelle and Rankine not yet there but Soligo and Peatling hold their own

Berry can be bulk and has speed.

Dawson is the only big bodied mid hence the desire for Edwards, Curtin or even Nank/Hinge to come on as a midfielder.

Then we have Draper

Midfields like rucks, are over rated.

Look at the last ten premiership teams and none of them had elite midfields, hell we had the best midfield ever assembled and never won a flag. Sydney last year had the best midfield but were beaten up by a workman like midfield in the final, complemented by a good defence and forward line.

We are three senior, shit the bed players out of the team away from being a premiership side.

The sooner this club moves a line through those from 2017, the better we will be, they never recovered.

I think we already have the cattle if you count expected development from the likes of Curtin, Draper and Rachele getting more game time as mids. We saw what can be done against Carlton when more players are rotated through there. And then our big move against Port was to go back to relying on 3-4 players again. Coaching is the issue, not players.

The big difference in our midfield between the Carlton game and Port game was we featured Rankine a lot more against Carlton and Soligo a lot more against Port.

Our best midfield mix is Dawson, Peatling, Rankine.

The big difference in our midfield between the Carlton game and Port game was we featured Rankine a lot more against Carlton and Soligo a lot more against Port.

Our best midfield mix is Dawson, Peatling, Rankine.
I think soligo has a place when he’s fit/in form (whichever one it is)

Still reckon Soligo is carrying something. Is continuing to have bizarrely low TOG

Yup, looks like he's being managed through something that he picked up against Fremantle (or in the week after).

Guess we'll see against West Coast, seeing that would be the time Jake would get a week off.

Same size, same weight, both very good at winning contested ball. Soligo a better user of the footy, Laird better at finding the footy. Both are accumulators and hurt you by a thousand cuts, rather than being really damaging with their possessions.

Both don't have the ability to be an elite midfielder, but can be a very good midfielder (pinch an AA season if all goes well).

Has been our 4th best midfielder this year. I know he is still only 22 years old, so a lot can change over the next 3 years.

So what your saying is they are different players. ;)

They may end up in the same tier of really solid 2-4 inside midfielders, but it's pretty clear they'll take different paths to get there.

Mind you, I don't know if I'd be betting on Soligo capping out in that tier. The ball winning will probably get to a similar point to peak Laird's in a year or so, and should the kicking skills hold up? He may blow right past that point. There aren't a lot of lads who can combine top tier ball winning with being a reliable field kick.

Opinion Premiership Midfield