Primary School Teachers

Scarlett Pimp

Just had to deal with a group of primary school teachers... Oh my fricking god, how annoying are these people?! Spoke down to me like a 6y.o who had wet their pants.

Seriously, why would you possibly need a degree to teach at primary school level? It's basically common sense isn't it? No wonder the TER is so low... it must be: 'ah, you're obviously too dumb to do anything servicable, how about you give primary teaching a crack!'

It saddens me to think that our future leaders are being taught by these condescending, idiotic morons.
Granted, there are some good ones out there, but the majority of them are sickeningly patronising people who act as if they are terribly important and powerful.

Hadda wait around for this!! ;)
I agree..... and you know its funny, all my primary school teachers were geeky half wits with hairy moles, buck teeth, speech impediments and nappy hair - so bizarre!!! Has ANYONE had a cool primary school teacher? Me dont think so!!

heheh the more I read your posts BB the more you come across as a female Becker! :D

i do agree that some are like that but the majority of who i know are not...
if you can say that then u obviously have no idea how much work is put in to primary school teaching, or how hard a job it really is....

Originally posted by Scarlett Pimp
Just had to deal with a group of primary school teachers... Oh my fricking god, how annoying are these people?! Spoke down to me like a 6y.o who had wet their pants.

Seriously, why would you possibly need a degree to teach at primary school level? It's basically common sense isn't it? No wonder the TER is so low... it must be: 'ah, you're obviously too dumb to do anything servicable, how about you give primary teaching a crack!'

It saddens me to think that our future leaders are being taught by these condescending, idiotic morons.
Granted, there are some good ones out there, but the majority of them are sickeningly patronising people who act as if they are terribly important and powerful.

Exactly, they whinge the government doesn't look after them. They don't whinge at the amount of holidays they get though? :confused: Wonder why

Originally posted by BluesBabe666

I agree..... and you know its funny, all my primary school teachers were geeky half wits with hairy moles, buck teeth, speech impediments and nappy hair - so bizarre!!! Has ANYONE had a cool primary school teacher?

I had one like that. Cross-eyed to boot. Problem with her was she wouldn't call out your name. She would just ask a question. Then you've got five of us in the general area trying to figure out which one of us she's looking at. Then she would get all ****ed off because no one was answering the question.

Eventually a majority vote decided someone should tell her about this problem. Guess who got voted as the lucky fellow to do this? Mooster, that's who. So I told her. "Call our names out when you've got a question. We can't tell who the you're looking at [not spoken: 'you cross-eyed bitch']."

She got misty and left the room. She came back a bit later, and started calling us by name ever after. Worked out well. Eventually she became one of my favorite all time teachers.

I had 2/7 excellent primary school teachers. These days I'd say the standard would be much lower. If you look at the people who say they are going to be a kindy teacher or primary school teacher they seem a few french fries short of a happy meal - but are kind and harmless.

It saddens me to think that our future leaders are being taught by these condescending, idiotic morons
May be true Scarlett Pimp- in your opinion!!

Then again primary school teachers are probably all intolerant, judgemental and ignorant enough to lump all
members of the one profession as having the same personality traits.

I guess you've never met a condescending check out chick or used car salesman, nurse, lawyer, computer consultant ,new media producer or whatever??

As for your statement regarding not needing a degree to teach primary school- that it's just common sense. PLEEEEESE- you have no idea do you?

Yep the holidays are great ! luv 'em !!

As to the whinging: Grrrr- I personally have never been on strike or complained about my pay or conditions.

Cheers from an Idiotic Moron (and PROUD of it!!)

Originally posted by Skilledfan
Cheers from an Idiotic Moron (and PROUD of it!!)

Well said Skilledfan.
As for the rest of you, Mr Hat knows where you live.:D

Originally posted by SPUNKY_MONKEY45
i do agree that some are like that but the majority of who i know are not...
if you can say that then u obviously have no idea how much work is put in to primary school teaching, or how hard a job it really is....

very well said rachy!

i used kinda think the same, but not know AT ALL what goes into it and all that... from what i knew, all they did was teach what they'd learned before and the times table etc.

and now, well im going out with someone who want to be a promary school teacher and i guess i can see it from a TOTALLY diff POV. these people all want more than just desk jobs etc. and most of them are really good with kids.

its what they want to do, and there's NO reason for mocking them what so ever!

Originally posted by Scarlett Pimp

I am doing a Primary Teaching degree, and I can tell you it's not all that easy. What people don't realise is that we don't learn what they learn, we have to learn how to teach them what they are learning. Hell, I thought it would be easier than it is, but it isn't. Some subjects are not overly relevant, but you get that with most subjects, yes?

And are we ALL like that pal?? Don't be an idiot and generalise like that. The people in my classes are all (well, 95%) are great people who are very easy to get along with. We are not better than anyone else. You copped the wrong end of the stick, either that, or you are a ********.

Well I bet you all had a library teacher who could read.. I certainly didnt- I spent yr6 in library listening to books that the teacher was reading to Preps- I cannot tell you how boring that was.. she couldnt even read them.. we were meant to read novels- but oh no we were STILL reading picture books.. and after our little stories we got to cut up little pieces of paper and draw little pictures- how lucky we were

*Groans* It was even put in the newsletter..

*In library the preps are reading 'Insert Picture book here'

*In library the year 5/6s are reading 'Insert same picture book as preps were said to be reading here'

And she was a b!tchy fat cow anyway.. and she was always grumpy.. and always shouted.. *groans*

And she had these old cushions in the library (They were old and were falling apart) and she went through the roll and she had something like 7 cushions.. and each week she would tick off 7 people on the list who would get these 'cushions' and then u could sit on them.. and the next week it would be the next 7 people.. oh and one person got a bean bag..

Was the most ridiculous library ever.. so glad to get away............

Although in year 5 (Where we also got read picture story books) we got to have a b!tching session about her with our teacher.. ahahaa..

:o:rolleyes::o

That is my complaint.. that would have been the dumbest library teacher on earth..

Go Roos

Conversely we could talk about some of the brain-dead morons who call themselves 'parents'.

"Why did you dare lay a finger on my child?!?"

"She was trying to cut another child's finger off."

"Who let her have scissors???"

"They were in her pencil case. She brought them from home."

"Why don't you check that kids don't bring these things in to the classroom??"

"*Count to 10*... "

The horror stories I've heard of teachers being unable to restrain a child in the classroom. One girl said she had to grab a chair and lever a child off her, then herd him into a corner with desks and chairs, all because she was not allowed to physically touch the child. He had one of her ears in one hand and her hair in the other and was attempting to do as much damage as he could.

Well from grades 4-6 I went to an excellent primary school and had a few VERY cool teachers. :) So I guess I'm an exception. ;) We even had a VERY cool principal. :eek:

i loved my primary school... especially grade 6. BEST YR OF MY LIFE! hehe, so far... id go back if i could too...

i dont think (most) of my teachers were that bad either... sure they ****ed me off, but pretty much all teachers do at some stage!

Re: Re: Primary School Teachers

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
I am doing a Primary Teaching degree, and I can tell you it's not all that easy. What people don't realise is that we don't learn what they learn, we have to learn how to teach them what they are learning.

I think that's the key... a combination of intelligence AND most importantly communication.

Academic intelligence may not be paramount as you're teaching to kids 12 and under, but communicating new things to people can be very difficult, especially those that have learning difficulties, short attention spans, or are too lazy to listen and comprehend.

In footy for example, I don't reckon Wayne Carey would automatically be a great coach, because he may not realise how different players go about learning the things that he did so easily.

Everybody has different mental and physical limitations and it would be very hard to not only find those limitations, but to teach someone within them.

Was once a country boy and I had a good bunch of teachers at primary school. My grade 6 teacher was an alcoholic, chain-smoking ex-farmer. Smart man though and an absolute legend.

My secondary school teachers though left a lot to be desired...

remembering

Hmm..My school years were a waste.

Start of Kindy = Writing words, adding and subtracting, spelling, etc.
End of Kindy = Finger painting. (shocker of a teacher)

(Skipped straight from kindy to Gr.2)

Start of Grade 2 = writing sentences, adding, subtracting, some multiplying, spelling, etc.
End of Grade 2 = Maths champion, poor English. (1 good year)

Start of Grade 3 = maths champion, poor writing
End of grade 3 = maths champion, excellent english (good year)

Start of Grade 4 = maths champion, excellent english
End of Grade 4 = same as Grade 3, no development (1 shocker of a teacher)

Start of Grade 5 = maths champion, spelling and reading champion, crap writing
End of grade 5 = maths, reading and spelling champion, REALLY crap writing (1 poor teacher, but only with me, everyone else really improved)

Start of Grade 6 = maths, reading, spelling champion, ****e writing.
Mid Grade 6* = maths, reading, spelling, WRITING champion.
End grade 6 = maths, reading, spelling champion, poor writing.

* Superb teacher, best I ever had (and only male) by a LOOONG way, until some idiot complained that the work (optional mind you) was too hard, and he was 'monitored' by the ridiculous gr.5 teacher (who was now assistant principal). He left in disgust at the end of the year, and went to a private school (well actually they head-hunted him).

...so

from primary school, I had 1 excellent term (gr.6), 2 good years (gr 2 and 3), and some shockers (kindy and Gr.4), with a disagreement (gr.5) hurting an otherwise good year.

I think I was kinda lucky then, reading others experiences.

(Although I was ALWAYS the smartest kid by so far it wasn't funny. How it all went wrong later. :(

Can't stand most teachers. Have to agree with Scarlett Pimp's point to a certain extent.

Prove us wrong, Santos! :)

Originally posted by BluesBabe666
Hadda wait around for this!! ;)
I agree..... and you know its funny, all my primary school teachers were geeky half wits with hairy moles, buck teeth, speech impediments and nappy hair - so bizarre!!! Has ANYONE had a cool primary school teacher? Me dont think so!!

I had a teacher in Grade 5 who was cool, he had long hair (in that time it was still considered anti-social) and wore tie-dye t-shirts. Very intelligent bloke who made you think and made learning enjoyable. With his image, you'd think he'd be soft hippy but he came down hard on you when you deserved it. Best teacher I ever had.

Originally posted by Bluey
Conversely we could talk about some of the brain-dead morons who call themselves 'parents'.

"Why did you dare lay a finger on my child?!?"

"She was trying to cut another child's finger off."

"Who let her have scissors???"

"They were in her pencil case. She brought them from home."

"Why don't you check that kids don't bring these things in to the classroom??"

"*Count to 10*... "

The horror stories I've heard of teachers being unable to restrain a child in the classroom. One girl said she had to grab a chair and lever a child off her, then herd him into a corner with desks and chairs, all because she was not allowed to physically touch the child. He had one of her ears in one hand and her hair in the other and was attempting to do as much damage as he could.
It's probably gone too far in some instances but going back to the right wing ideology of smacking the crap out of kids with sticks isn't a great option either. Surely there is a happy medium?

Posted on snopes.com:

Hello! You have reached the automated answering service of your school. In order to assist you in connecting the right staff member, please listen to all your options before making a selection:

To lie about why your child is absent, press 1

To make excuses for why your child did not do his work, press 2

To complain about what we do, press 3

To swear at staff members, press 4

To ask why you didn't get information that was already enclosed
in your newsletter and several flyers mailed to you, press 5

If you want us to raise your child, press 6

If you want to reach out and touch, slap or hit someone, press 7

To request another teacher for the third time this year, press 8

To complain about bus transportation, press 9

To complain about school lunches, press 0

If you realize this is the real world and your child must be accountable and responsible for his/her own behavior, class work, homework, and that it's not the teachers' fault for your children's lack of effort . . . hang up and have a nice day!"

:D

My Year 3/4 teacher was lovely - tall, blonde yum. Used to be naughty just so I'd get a smack on the backside from her (shows how old I am).

Years later she can into the bank where I was working - still cute.

(Also my Year 7 Music teacher posed in Penthouse. I know its not primary scholl, but still worth a mention :) )

After twelve years of attending P&T meetings with my son, I'd have to say I was much more impressed by primary, rather than secondary teachers. I also attended uni. with a lot of trainee teachers, both primary and secondary.

Mate of mine has been a secondary teacher for thirty years and she is of the opinion that most primary teachers are better than secondary teachers, because they are better trained. Primary teachers do a three or four year uni. course in which teaching is a constant component. Whereas, most secondary teachers do a diploma in teaching for twelve months, after they have finished their main degree.

The secondary teachers I encountered with my son at these meetings used to take the opportunity to give him a lecture, in front of me, about some misbehaviour or lack of attentiveness. No problem with them telling me this, just don't see the benefit of humiliating kids in public. I know this probably says more about my son's school performance than anything else. These nerds who taught him in High School though, provided me with an insight into why they had trouble commanding attention - I wouldn't have listened to them either.

It interests me that this issue of incompetent teachers is so rarely raised when the subject of Attention Deficit Disorder is raised. If you were a hopeless teacher, you would blame the kids I suppose.

The primary teachers I encountered had a much better grasp of the progress my son made and appeared more interested and dedicated. Secondary teachers, on the other hand, presented as people who'd done a teaching qualification as an add-on, or afterthought, rather than as a vocation. All generalisations I know, just my experience.

To be fair, the best teacher my son ever had was in Year 11. He was this Jewish fellow who taught him Philosophy. This man managed to engender an interest in learning for its own sake, for which I, and eventually my son will forever be grateful. This teacher was actually excited to be teaching my son, in contrast to others who had difficulties with him. The other teachers didn't dislike my son, they just couldn't get through to him, and he didn't like or respect them.