Private school/Public school

• Thread starter Thread starter cleveland

I went to a Private School, but honestly it didn't offer me any advantage over those that went to Public Schools. They are a waste of money if you ask me. I'd only send a kid Private, if the Public School in the area is really shite and feral.

I went to public school and I turned out fine. The only difference between myself and my private school educated work colleagues is that I tend to forget the g when pronouncing words that end in 'ing'.

Oh I hate that. I take it back, Private School wins for me.

As someone stated above, a larger percentage of people who drop out of uni are private school kids (my uni, Melbourne, probably has one of the highest percentage of private school kids in first year - this definitely drops right off). The ones that stay are the ones that can work hard.
why is that do you think, the fact that so many uni students from private schools have dropped out?
do u think its the pressure that their parents inflicted on them during their high school years?
do u mind if i ask what ur occupation is?
you seem pretty intelligent.:thumbsu:

Not sure where you get your definitive stats from, but that is a questionable one. Isn't it logical that there are a high percentage of private school drop-outs because private schools dominate uni entries (as they undoutedly do)?

The percentage of private school kids dropping out is lower than the percentage of public school kids dropping out.

Whatever the case, it is simplistic to say that private school kids drop out: ipso facto they were spoon fed a good score.

Perhaps, but it does bring into question their ability to succeed at uni.

Showing your prejudice towards and misunderstanding of a good private school education, or a good education per se. A good private school does precisely the opposite of "handing scores on a platter". That's why you pay ther money — to get so much more than a good score.

Or do you pay for the perception that the school will offer "better resources and subjects" as many people in this thread erroneously think? If all those kids truly got scores that was because of their own potential, then they should all be able to continue to succeed at what they do, at a higher rate than public school kids, because of their education. And I don't think this is the case.

Once again, a prejudice about private schools. If you acknowledge that standards differ between public schools, then surely you must acknowledge that standards and approaches differ in private schools. You can't talk about "Private schools" as a homogenous block.

No more than you can talk about "public schools" like that.

Some are great precisely because they encourage excellent study habits, foster curiousity, push students to think more deeply and genuinely understand what is being taught etc. The point about paying for your education is that you can make a choice about which school best fits your child and your educational philosophy.

It is not only private schools that do this, and that is my problem with some people's attitudes. That to teach a child to think or study or whatever else, it must be a private school. It's simply not true.

I'm talking about programs like Timbertop, Clunes, Marshmead etc. They're brilliant and all about self-learning, creativity, community values, teamwork, negotiation etc and anything but "being spoonfed".

Well, firstly, you are bringing in the absolute top private schools here.

The aforementioned programs at my school - which are available at many public schools - all taught/encouraged these things. I sure didn't do voluntary community work or take first aid courses or bushwalk & canoe on my own at the age of 15 just by chance.

greengoblin said:
why is that do you think, the fact that so many uni students from private schools have dropped out?
do u think its the pressure that their parents inflicted on them during their high school years?

I believe it's to do with the fact that private school kids are expected to do well and expected to pursue something at uni, when really it's not for them or they're just not up to it, or they don't understand how to get themselves to do the work without someone constantly forcing them to do it. This is definitely in part attributable to the parents who set these expectations.

The percentage of private school kids dropping out is lower than the percentage of public school kids dropping out.

i will take your word for it.
you are extrememly intelligent, and also its worth noting in your case public or private schools mean very little.:D

If you haven't been to a private school, and i'm talking one of the elite one's, then you're not in a position to comment on the differences.

I grew up in country SA and went to public schools until Year 10, then boarded at one of the top 3-4 private schools for Year 11 & 12.

The difference in my school experience was amazing. I went from being a pretty average student, who was intelligent but had no idea what I wanted to do, and hadn't even thought about Uni, to being really focused on getting good results, getting into a good Uni course, and basically realising the potential that I was wasting at the public schools. I think also knowing that my parents had sacrificed and saved their @rse off to send me there also pushed me to try harder.

And there is also a massive old scholars network of connections that you get in a private school, that is basically non existant in public schools. 10 years after I finished school I'm still meeting new people based solely on the connection to the school, they could be 10-20 years older than me, or still at the school, and we all have that connection. Helps a great deal later in life, not just in Adelaide, but i've met people in Sydney and London through that network. Still play cricket and footy for the Old Col's as well.

So in summary, if you think there is no difference between attending Xavier, Ivanhoe, Scotch, Prince Alfred, St Peters, Hale, Scots, Cranbrook etc, and Essendon High or Brighton High, then you're kidding yourself.

The difference in my school experience was amazing. I went from being a pretty average student, who was intelligent but had no idea what I wanted to do, and hadn't even thought about Uni, to being really focused on getting good results, getting into a good Uni course, and basically realising the potential that I was wasting at the public schools. I think also knowing that my parents had sacrificed and saved their @rse off to send me there also pushed me to try harder.

Says more about you than the school systems you were in. I got into an extremely high UAI (ENTER, TER, whatever) course straight off the bat from a public school because I worked my arse off on my own accord instead of having to be pushed to do so.

I reckon its a cop out to blame the school and not take responsibility for it yourself

If you haven't been to a private school, and i'm talking one of the elite one's, then you're not in a position to comment on the differences.

I grew up in country SA and went to public schools until Year 10, then boarded at one of the top 3-4 private schools for Year 11 & 12.

And there is also a massive old scholars network of connections that you get in a private school, that is basically non existant in public schools. 10 years after I finished school I'm still meeting new people based solely on the connection to the school, they could be 10-20 years older than me, or still at the school, and we all have that connection. Helps a great deal later in life, not just in Adelaide, but i've met people in Sydney and London through that network. Still play cricket and footy for the Old Col's as well.

So in summary, if you think there is no difference between attending Xavier, Ivanhoe, Scotch, Prince Alfred, St Peters, Hale, Scots, Cranbrook etc, and Essendon High or Brighton High, then you're kidding yourself.

Princes or Saints boy?

the bolded bit just ruined your argument

If you can afford it definately send your kids to a private school.

i went to a public school up until the end of year 9 and then went to an APS school. I was always pretty smart but my results at the public school were just average. I didn't do much work and really stuffed around. When i changed schools my attitude completely changed and i ended up scoring 98.8 on my ENTER and am now studying Commerce/Law at monash. While you can say that it was just me maturing I disagree. The private schools (talking the elite $15,000+ a year ones) have expectations that you do the best possible. And they do everything they can to make sure you reach your potential. There is a completely different culture amongst the teachers as well. At private schools they wan't to see you suceed.

All in all it is a good investment. If you are happy with your children working a trade all there life (nothing wrong with that) then send them to a public school. But if you want to give them a chance of being a doctor, lawyer, engineer then you need to bite the bullet and send them to a private school, and an elite one at that. They can still be trademen if they want but at least you have given them an opportunity.

What is everyones thoughts on private schools compared to public schools. I personally think that at a private school your child will have a better chance at gaining a better education but this can also depend on the child. I went from a private secondary school and finished my schooling at a public and noticed a huge difference.

Also would there be much difference between public and private primary schools as im trying to find a suitable school for my daughter. Is the extra money worth it?

Can i just butt in with Private schools are infact PUBLIC schools, they're the same thing. The distinction you're thinking of is 'state' or govt school.

This is a very common mistake that people make.

We have decided to send her to a private school. This school has a 3 & 4 year old kinder aswell as a primary school, so she will remain there for her entire schooling, which is good imho.

She will start 3 year old kinder next year

I would put a kid in a public school for their primary schooling, mainly because it should help them develop socially, then put them in a private school for secondary so they dont end up being *******s. Yes public schooling does that to a lot of people.

why cant kids develop socially in a private school????:rolleyes:

They can, dont roll your eyes at me, i go to a private school so i would know. Now as i was saying, most public schools away from meadow heights and broadmeadows and those crap areas, have alot of different backround kids, this will help them develop believe it or not. Whereas alot of public schools have only the snotty, pointy nose kids, and others have alot of kids that are of the same backround, which doesnt help.

Whereas alot of public schools have only the snotty, pointy nose kids, and others have a lot of kids that are of the same backround, which doesnt help.

Do you understand the difference between public and private schools? Saying a public school has "snotty, pointy nose kids" or "a lot of kids that are of the same background".....now that is funny. I went to both public and private schools and also work in the education system and although private schools get harsh treatment from the stereotypes of being 'lil rich kids', etc, they aren't 100% wrong haha

Sorry i made a mistake, i meant the private schools have alot of snotty kids, not public. Your in brisbane im guessing so the backrounds will be different.

Guessing wrong mate - our backgrounds may be different, but i'm melbourne born and bred!

However, although my schooling was all in Melbourne, through my work i have had quite a bit to do with schools throughout Australia and Asia.

errr... no its not.

If you've got teachers yelling at kids for not doing work, detentions for incomplete homework ect then even if you hate it you're going to do the work, and at least pick up some of the material.

You cant force a kid to learn well, but you can force a kid to do the work.....

Back on topic ( sorry )

I went to a very good public high-school, ( Rossmoyne ) which came in the top 10 for end of year 12 results every year. It had 1300 students, offered every subject in the syllabus and had one of the best sporting and music departments in Australia. The reason it was so good was because of the expectation put on the students. No teacher every said anything of the sort, but it was just expected that you were an adult, and here to get the best final result as possible.

Thats the kind of attitude and atmosphere which leads to kids learning, and learning lots. Its the main difference between private and public schools, and why private schools are usually seen as a better environment for learning. I was very lucky to go to a school which was public, but had most of the hallmarks of a private school.

My point ( convoluted as it is ) is that there are good public schools out there, and i wouldn't hesitate to send my kids public, as long as it was very good. I can only speak for Western Australia, but i would send my kids to Shenton College or Rossmoyne. Maybe Churchlands or Perth Modern at a stretch, but probably not anywhere else.

I know i'm biased because i went to a public school, but i cant really see the benefit of spending a gazillion dollars a day to send a kid to a private school.

rossmoyne is good but Applecross is far better

Guessing wrong mate - our backgrounds may be different, but i'm melbourne born and bred!

However, although my schooling was all in Melbourne, through my work i have had quite a bit to do with schools throughout Australia and Asia.
Its probably cause i live in the Northern suburbs is why i have that opinion.