The Shev

Things aren't looking good for us again. Our on field performances certainly haven't encouraged new members, but either has the off field efforts over the last few years. Who would want to join this club when boards are always squabbling, the heirachy isn't living up to their promises and the board is generally doing **** poor.

It *****s me to see weak and inconsistant performances on the field, it *****s me that we get tiny crowds every week and it *****s me to see crap administration who keeps digging us further into a hole, making promises and then failing to live up to them, only to inform us that we are losing millions and now we need financial handouts from the AFL.

I wish I could do something to turn this all around and make Melbourne a success again, but the most I can do is buy a membership and support my club week in, week out. The only other thing I can do is try to convince other Melbourne fans to sign up. My uncle is a keen follower and goes most weeks, but him and his three young kids aren't members. I'm hoping to try and convince him to buy a membership for this sesason. Also, my second cousin is a Melbourne fan and goes every now and then, so I'm hoping he signs up too. If every 4th member was able to just sign up 1 new member, then we would be able to get approximately 5000 new members, lifting the total to around 25,000. Simple in theory, but we need all members to try and help the club by doing some 'do-it-yourself-recruiting'.

Well said guys. At the end of the day, the only we can do is stop bitching about it and do something ourselves and make the non member supporters sign up. Imaging what 5 or 10000 new members would mean for our club. Maybe we wouldnt have the financial problems that we need handouts for.

I think maybe its time for the supporters to show the way off the field for the players to follow.

To borrow the Hawthorn slogan

Lets be PROUD PASSIONATE AND PAID UP!!!

Even 1000 new members would contribute approximately $100,000 to the club. That sort of money is very helpful in our case. Let's hope we get more members than we did last year and that our on field results help encourage these people.

Originally posted by The Shev
Even 1000 new members would contribute approximately $100,000 to the club. That sort of money is very helpful in our case. Let's hope we get more members than we did last year and that our on field results help encourage these people.

I really don't think on field performance affects memberships that much. Our membership has hovered around the 20,000 mark for the past few years despite our yo-yo on field performance. Our results do affect our attendences however.

Our course of action from here is hard to plot. If the club could reconcile with Joseph Gutnick, his supporters would almost inevitably return as well. How many people that would mean I'm not sure, possibly thousands. Even if it was only hundreds, they're re-emergence would be invaluable. I can't see Joe bailing us out financially but it's bigger than that, we simply need unity & having Joe & his supporters back is a huge step forward.

I'd also like to see more incentives for our members, I'm not sure how this wil manifest itself though. We especially need to harness the support of the MCC members who barrack so vociferously yet don't contribute financially. We need tro sweeten the deal for them because at the moment there's little in it for them.

If we make the finals consistantly then our membership will gradually increase I'd suspect, it's only natural. But the way we are going on the field, it is just going to stay around the 20,000 mark.

About Gutnick, it is true what you say. Even just his support and presence would be invaluable, because we would have lost a few members when he was given the flick. If the board can unite with Diamond Joe, even in an unofficial way, it would give the supporters a real boost I suppose. The only thing is, Joe probably wants most of the board gone before he will reconcile. However, Gardiner's actions have been promising.

With the MCC, it's not incentives for our members, it's a matter of striking a deal with the MCC. According to my old man who I just spoke to tonight about this, he and approximately 50% of MCC members are Melbourne fans, but their money doesn't contribute to the club one bit. He said we used to have links decades ago but broke them off and since then, the MCC haven't been interested in teaming up again. I think this should be a priority of our board, to try and negotiate with the MCC. If we could do this, then we would be in a much better situation. I think this, is the difference between not only survival and death, but success and failure. We'd have many more members and support, much more money and then things would hopefully fall into place from there.

This has been the news that I've dreaded for the last couple of years, our biggest problem is well known, and unfortunately the Lions suffered from it as well. We have a very strong core group of supporters (like all teams) but after that the majority are apathetic. The only thing we can do is to encourage everyone we know to buy a membership, go to as many games as possible and to do what the pies and bombers did - breed like rabbits and brainwash them at birth.

We do have the supporters out there Demonheart. On top of our 20,000 members, there would be approximately 10,000-15,000 MCC members who are Melbourne fans, but aren't members. This is because no deal is currently operating between the MCC and the MFC. If we could negotiate something like we did back in our glory days, we would have about 30,000 odd members and money coming out of our arse.

I believe we have the potential to thrive, but we currently cannot use it.

I've been an MCC member for the last 14 years, during that time I've witnesses the various administrations try just about everything to get them buying memberships. The associate membership was a good idea but the main reason is that people don't like to fork out more cash after paying almost $400. It's alot of cash, and contrary to popular belief most of the members aren't millionaires or drive Range Rovers.
We need to market our club towards new members and build a new membership base, Essendon did this extremely well but they had a successful team on the ground to help, unfortunately we don't.

Essendon had an area to focus on though. I live there and every second person is a Bomber. We don't necessarily have that.

Originally posted by Demonheart
I've been an MCC member for the last 14 years, during that time I've witnesses the various administrations try just about everything to get them buying memberships. The associate membership was a good idea but the main reason is that people don't like to fork out more cash after paying almost $400. It's alot of cash, and contrary to popular belief most of the members aren't millionaires or drive Range Rovers.
We need to market our club towards new members and build a new membership base, Essendon did this extremely well but they had a successful team on the ground to help, unfortunately we don't.

Give us your wish list Demonheart, what do you think the club could offer as a fresh incentive to non MFC members in the MCC?

Deestroy, Footyman, Dees 01, your thoughts would be appreciated on this one too.

It's going to be hard to try and snatch MCC members and make them become MFC members, because after all, why would you want to give up your MCC?

If a deal could be struck between the two parties it would be perfect, but I doubt that will happen any time soon.

The MFC is going to have to produce some consistant on field performances to make these guys want to sign up, and then offer whatever the MCC offers, but at a much better price (Grand Final tickets are a certainty for MCC members, so there's a disadvantage). This would take a few years before we could actually see a big change in numbers. And of course, it is going to have to take some hard work and commitment on and off the field. The way we have been going in recent years, this doesn't look like it is going to happen at all.

The MFC this year offered current members prizes if they are able to sign up new members. I don't know if this is common practice for all clubs but is certainly an incentive for current members to try and help out.

Originally posted by The Shev
It's going to be hard to try and snatch MCC members and make them become MFC members, because after all, why would you want to give up your MCC?

Surely one doesn't have to give up their MCC to be a MFC member? I would think that most MCC members get their money's worth with all the Cricket & Finals they get to see.

Demonheart you say you pay nearly $400 for your MCC, is that a full or restricted membership? I paid a similar amount last season for my 18 game membership & apart from priority acess to finals tix (not relevent last season of course) that was all I got.

I'd say $400 is a bargain for MCC membership considering what you get for it.

Associate MFC membership may not buy you much at this stage, but it's time for the MCC to show it's support for the club I reckon.

Just on the MFC/MCC deal, at the AGM it was mentioned that a sub-commitee had been set up, a sign that things are moving in the right direction.

With regards to marketing I would aim it at new immigrants. I would send them an offer for a small fee for a couple of games plus the normal benefits that members get. I'd also give them some info to introduce them to the game (ie rules, brief history blah blah) and try and get them interested, then the following season try and hook them up for a full membership. I'd market the club as the team that represents the whole of melbourne, sure the rest of the league will laugh at first, but if you keep it up the general public will eventually buy it. But, I'm an accountant so I know nothing about marketing.

BT, I wouldn't swap my MCC membership for anything, I've seen footy finals, cricket, world cup qualifying matches and union games. I love the test cricket but if you have two members in your house then that plus mfc membership costs over a thousand dollars, not everyone can afford that. I was lucky, for a couple of years I could afford a player sponsorship as well.

Bloody accountants! You blokes add too well!:( ;)

I dunno mate, I'm not having a go at any MCC members, just thinking out loud.

Originally posted by BT
Surely one doesn't have to give up their MCC to be a MFC member? I would think that most MCC members get their money's worth with all the Cricket & Finals they get to see.

Demonheart you say you pay nearly $400 for your MCC, is that a full or restricted membership? I paid a similar amount last season for my 18 game membership & apart from priority acess to finals tix (not relevent last season of course) that was all I got.

I'd say $400 is a bargain for MCC membership considering what you get for it.

Associate MFC membership may not buy you much at this stage, but it's time for the MCC to show it's support for the club I reckon.

Just on the MFC/MCC deal, at the AGM it was mentioned that a sub-commitee had been set up, a sign that things are moving in the right direction.

Not many people are going to buy two memberships when they can get the same stuff with one.

Originally posted by BT
Bloody accountants! You blokes add too well!:( ;)

I dunno mate, I'm not having a go at any MCC members, just thinking out loud.

It's a difficult issue, I spent many years trying to get my MCC mates to buy memberships as well, not just my demon mates but all clubs, in the end I gave up cause it was just too hard (also my mates were getting ****ty with me hehe)

I understand your point. Unfortunatley we're judged by the AFL, opposition supporters & sponsors on our 20,000 or so MFC members. Everyone knows we have more support than that but how much more, nobody can gauge.