Proudest Docker Moment

downthecorridor

Hopefully this season surpasses all before it in proudest dockers moments, but what is your proudest docker moment?

Mine was this:

I was in melbourne for work 2012 and right at the last moment I decided to stay the friday night instead of flying home in the afternoon so i could watch the dockers play st kilda. Ross has just come over to freo from the saints and the press and everyone in melbourne were giving him heaps, calling him a traitor etc. We hadn't beaten the saints in 8 tries and had a terrible away record including at etihad where the game was being played. I sat next to some st kilda supporters who were fine but they were understandably confident and self assured.

As the game progressed, I noticed to my right a few blocks over were the dockers supporters group (including seppo), who were making a lot of noise. I got up and moved over to them and sat at the back amongst a group of guys who were all sitting by themselves and separate, clearly not knowing each other. At the time it wasn't popular to be a dockers supporter let along a melbourne based dockers supporter, so hence the disparate group! As the game went on and it became clear we had a chance to win, every play and every goal in the 4th qtr resulted in group bear hugs and multitudes of high fives with these complete strangers.

Once the final siren blew, I just recall feeling so awesome in my dockers gear walking back to the hotel. I got a few jeers from st kilda supporters but also a heap of congrats from other folk who were happy to see a docker supporter on that night.

Awesome!

2013 QF. Left to go play in a place that no final had been played at in 100 odd years, not given much of a chance, yet walked away with a win. On a similar note games vs Geelong in 08 (Pav Poster), 10 (Duff IIRC with the winner) and the fight back last year down at Geelong all made me proud to be an FFC fan.

vs Geelong in 2012 for the EF as well would be another good one to add to the list. Everyone wrote us off. In fact, they wrote us off when we totally smashed Norf at Etihad without Pav to put us into 7th place a couple of rounds before the finals and therefore playing away from home against Geelong. Dennis Cometti was commentating that game and as we were slamming on 9 last quarter goals, he questioned why we would want to do that to throw away a home final against WCE and go up to the G and face the Cats. We all know what happened afterwards.

That game plus the QF against Geelong in 2013 are my absolute favourite games in our history. Of course the preliminary against Sydney to get us to our first Grand Final is a proud moment too but those two Geelong games were against all odds.

vs Geelong in 2012 for the EF as well would be another good one to add to the list. Everyone wrote us off. In fact, they wrote us off when we totally smashed Norf at Etihad without Pav to put us into 7th place a couple of rounds before the finals and therefore playing away from home against Geelong. Dennis Cometti was commentating that game and as we were slamming on 9 last quarter goals, he questioned why we would want to do that to throw away a home final against WCE and go up to the G and face the Cats. We all know what happened afterwards.

That game plus the QF against Geelong in 2013 are my absolute favourite games in our history. Of course the preliminary against Sydney to get us to our first Grand Final is a proud moment too but those two Geelong games were against all odds.

Totally agree, reason I chose the ones I did was in some way shape or form we weren't given too much of a chance (08,10- not thought to be good enough, 13- In Geelong, 14- umpiring was the worst I have ever seen). But gee we have a lot of good ones vs the cats don't we?

vs Geelong in 2012 for the EF as well would be another good one to add to the list. Everyone wrote us off.

I wrote us off. I flew over for it and I said to the bloke I was sitting next to on the plane that as long as we didn't get belted I would be happy. I was ecstatic that we did the belting and it ended up being the best $500 I have ever spent.

I'd probably name that as my proudest moment as I was there. The 'Demo Derby' and the Prelim against Sydney are right up there as well.

That foot candy sold by pav with 4:30 mins left to go in 2012 EF is right up there with hill's 100m sprint and left foot dagger at simonds. Iconic moments that you tell your kids about.

Stephen Hill running from nearly the back 50 to all the way inside forward 50 to kick that sealer against Geelong in the 2013 Qualifying Final. Don't think will ever have a better 10-20 seconds supporting Freo. Euphoria, goosebumps, ecstatic, disbelief and overwhelmed all in one. Bazil commentating that moment was, suprisingly, brilliant.

I will remember the Geelong 2013 final until I die. I had to do a bloke's bucks who I hardly knew. I took him to the tracks, watched the ponies and hooked up the game on my phone.

As Hill ran down the wing the horses thundered past, some scruffy got up and the crowd went crazy.

It was surreal.

Another good one that my family love talking about is booing Judd when he won that shit Rossco. I nice moment.

I remember thinking to myself if Judd wins it I am booing, what happened next with the entire Freo army booing out his speech was probably a little rude but at the time just amazing.

Proudest moment has to be 2012 elim final and one that doesnt get mentioned much as it wasn't a great game is the 2006 semi final, our first final win. That was the first time I ever caught the train back to Freo even though I live in the eastern suburbs, there is nothing like old Freo town after a finals win even if it costs a $70 cab ride home.

That's cool. I would literally have been close to that exact row, but the block behind where that video is taken. Brings a little tear to my eye actually. Easily the 'proudest moment' that I've been at.

Proudest moment where I wasn't at is probably the 2012 where we gave the 'script' a big F/U and beat Geelong in the final on the MCG in 2012.

Proudest moment that I was at vicariously is the Geelong QF in 2013. I couldn't go, but I made sure I got tickets for my brother-in-law who lives in Melbourne and was doing it a bit tough at the time and a friend who is a Dockers supporter to get down there. I know it would be harder to get our supporters backing our boys given the shiftful decision of the AFL to send us down to Kardi park, so I really wanted to do my part as best I could so killed two birds with one stone (give my bro a day out and get some purple fans at the game). My Bro is actually a Nth fan but he happily borrowed some purple gear, and the friend already in his gear went down and they assured me they cheered us on strong and he still talks about it being one of the best days he's had at the footy ever. Yeah, love how that all turned out.

Stephen Hill running from nearly the back 50 to all the way inside forward 50 to kick that sealer against Geelong in the 2013 Qualifying Final. Don't think will ever have a better 10-20 seconds supporting Freo. Euphoria, goosebumps, ecstatic, disbelief and overwhelmed all in one. Bazil commentating that moment was, suprisingly, brilliant.
yep this!....Got so emotional I cried :)

This was it for me too. I knew we were going to do well with Ross Lyon as coach.

Loved the fact we had the ticker to think that big and the smarts to pull it all together without a whisper getting out.

The MCG.....MCG.....MCG chant that went up at Subi as we demolished Sydney to make it to our first Grand Final was just awesome.

Mine would be the game that got me in to AFl. I had lived overseas for almost a decade and had lost interest in the sport. When I moved back to perth my girlfriend took me to the round 1 Fremantle v Geelong game.

I had always somewhat followed freo but it was always my old man who went to every game, I wasn't particularly fussed whether I did or not.

My girlfriend and her mum were Geelong supporters and her old man a Freo supporter, so when they had a last minute cancelation I figured I would go and support the poor bloke who was convinced it would be somewhat of a thrashing.

I remember the entire game being on the edge of my seat wondering whether or not we would walk away with the win, especially when Geelong started storming home.

Then came along Pav, soccering that goal off the ground and winning us the game. My proudest docker moment, and the moment that has seen me not miss a home game since :)

The walk from Fed square to the MCG before the 2013 GF. Was so great, so many random high fives and hand shakes. I was so proud for Freo and us, its fans.

Seeing the walk and footage to the G from the Fed square gathering of the thousands, tens of thousands of Freo fans was my highlight of 20 years. The result still stings in that it was a missed opportunity we very much could have won the way the game was going (3rd quarter).

But the overall pride in my team was the walk of solidarity and spirit captured and promoted heavily in the coverage, I'd never seen a supporter base match our visual force before. Not even a Vic team seemed to own the space the way we did.

Making the GF and showing so much presence and spirit and saying "were here" and having the boys play their hearts out against the toughest opponent who had a list of mostly seasoned (often triple) GF players. Just the sense of pride of us making our statement in that finals series culminated in that walk to the G and those pre-game times. All this in just Lyon's second year coaching us. Phenomenal stuff. Even though we lauded the move I somehow still think we undervalue just how significant his coaching appointment was.

We didn't win the GF as a result of it but as a CLUB we made this move of pure professionalism at the perfect time and had a lot of success very early into his coaching tenure. No way former coach gets us to a granny. Finals likely with the list. But granny no.

======

Beating Geelong 2012 EF has long been my other proudest moment. Smashing them in the first half keeping them goalless in the first qtr? Are you kidding? Keeping the previous years premiers and last 5 years most consistent team to no goals in a final AWAY while you slot 5. Decimation on the highest level in that context.

Easily comparable to the way Hawks dismantled Sydney early on 2014 (second quarter).

This thread man. God dam sweaty eyes!
I just reckon its great LD how every supporter has a moment which hooks them on the club and they become fully invested. It might be the obvious big games or big moments but it could also be just an innocuous experience where the switch is flicked and heart dyed purple.

The 2013 Prelim final against Sydney knowing halfway through the last quarter that we were on our way to our first Grand Final and knowing I had a ticket. Then driving through the Cappuccino strip after the game with the family and everyone was going mental with euphoria. The march with the purple army to the Grand Final was something to remember forever. Hopefully all to be surpassed on the first Saturday in October this year!

Beating Geelong down in Geelong during the 2013 finals without a doubt.

A big FU to the AFL for sending us down there and a big FU to everyone who had written us of.

I will never forget Stephen Hill magically appearing on the ground to shark Sandi's punch as long as I live. My younger brother and I were jumping up and down as he waltzed into goal. Not even Zempilas could spoil that one.

In fact that whole period (the preliminary and build up to the grand final) was amazing.