PS3 Questions

RedSox
Are they better than the Xbox if so whats better?
Do you need to buy extra stuff to get in the net and go live?
Can you put music on it?
I heard you can export Ipod music to it, if true what extras do you need?

Cheers gamers

Can you put music on it?

Cheers gamers

do you like oranges or apples? personal preference really, i would say the PS3 has the slightly better technology and the Xbox has a wider selection of games and better online component. most games will come on both platforms, only a few will be exclusives

nothing extra, just the internet at home and you're online

yes you can put music, movies and photos onto your hard drive. there is a story in the new Official Playstation mag on how to do all this

not sure about the Ipod, i reckon you can, and would need some sort of USB link cable

Can you put music on it?

Personal preference. Personally I prefer the XBOX, but there are lots of people who prefer the PS3.

Not that I know of.

Yes.

Very much doubt it. You cant copy music from the iPod to a PC/Mac without extra software, so I doubt the PS3 would be able to do it.

I have a PS3, I think it's fantastic. Free online play, straight in. Fifa, Warhawk and Call of Duty 4 in particular are great online. Unreal Tournament is good online, but the lag issues are terrible. Just love the whole feel of the Ps3, the operating system etc.

360 definately wins the "titles" battle for now. But look at what's on the horizon for PS3:

Metal Gear Solid 4
Killzone 2
Gran Turismo 5
Grand Theft Auto 4
Crysis (has been announced for PS3)

By April this year, the top 3 titles will win the battle for Ps3 (note: I know GTA4 will be on the 360 too).

Other games coming (some are multiplatform) such as Rainbox Six Vegas 2, Project Origin, Burnout Paradise, Devil May Cry 4, Tom Clancy's Endwar, Borderlands etc... the future is bright for Ps3!

EDIT: Yes you can put music on it, I put 3 data DVDs (backups I always make) on the hard drive... can sort it by genre, artist, title or whatever. You can play it while you go on the internet or whatever, it's great.

The feature I like most (that I didn't know about) is being able to play .avi files off a data disc. I put all of the episodes of whatever show I download onto a data DVD, then just chuck it into the ps3 and watch them all. Much better than using nerovision to put every episode on it's own disc.

You'll never get a straight answer on here mate, pretty much a 50/50 choice really. Truth is there's very little between them at the moment graphically, the ps3 has the more potential but its very much under utilised at the moment. I prefer the xbox right now, because there are just so many more top quality games on it that aren't available on ps3.

Nah, just connect it to your network

Can you put music on it?
yep
On the 360 you just connect your ipod via usb to the machine, and you can play all the ipod music on it. I imagine the ps3 is similar.

You can just plug the iPod straight into the PS3, there is also about 3/4 other card slots you can use.

PS3 is better, because basically the Blu-Ray (Which will take over DVD in years - so its better to be prepared)

I had an Xbox, and was thinking about the 360 but im glad i brought the PS3 its awesome, but make sure you have a HD TV which makes the graphics look twice as good as they do on a normal TV

The feature I like most (that I didn't know about) is being able to play .avi files off a data disc. I put all of the episodes of whatever show I download onto a data DVD, then just chuck it into the ps3 and watch them all. Much better than using nerovision to put every episode on it's own disc.

You make it sound like a new thing. I've been doing that with my Xbox for 4 years now.

Thanks for all the info. I got the PS3 with a few games and hooked into the net no worries.

THanks again

you made the right choice. I've got both consoles and definitely favour the PS3. Also, it's a good thing you didn't buy the 360 based on some of the answers here, as nobody seemed willing to point out that there is indeed additional costs for setting the 360 up online (monthly subscription fee and wireless connection if required).

can you play Playstation 2 games on the PS3?

Not on the 40gb models, but on the other three you can. If it's important to you I'd recommend importing one - mind you, imo, Ps2 games actually look worse on PS3 than they do on PS2, so if you plan on continuing to play them I'd keep your PS2, you won't get much trade value for it anyway.

did you have to get the Xbox altered to do that?

Of course. The Xbox was only turned into a really brilliant machine after it was modded.

The funniest part is that Microsoft just blatantly ripped off XMBC for the set up of the 360. They didn't change a thing. They obviously realised just how bloody good it was and didn't want to screw it up.

I have Heavenly Sword and Call of Duty 4, Both are decent:), I want to know what other games I should be looking at getting! I particually like the onlie play on CoD4:D, I have Pre ordered Battelfield: Bad Company and :thumbsu:Metal Gear Solid 4:thumbsu:... I want more games! what should i be prchasing?

Can you put music on it?

Cheers gamers

Three words, Little Big Planet. The only reason needed to get a PS3. The 360 could make you dinner and do your housework but it still wouldn't have LBP.

Since its questions does ps3 have gamerscore like xbox 360 or something similar. not hugely important but does add to how long the fun lasts.

Not in the same way as the 360.

When HOME comes out in a few months it's basically a new user interface/second life type world. From launch there will be gaming achievements, but it won't simple be a matter of completing something and earning "points" like on 360 - you will actually earn trophies and bonus features etc. because of it.

but it won't simple be a matter of completing something and earning "points" like on 360 - you will actually earn trophies and bonus features etc. because of it.

Thats a pretty standard feature on many 360 games.

As someone who's played Mass Effect and Halo 3 i thought you'd know that. Most achievements in those games unlock new features (armour, bonus abilities, etc).

Thats a pretty standard feature on many 360 games.

As someone who's played Mass Effect and Halo 3 i thought you'd know that. Most achievements in those games unlock new features (armour, bonus abilities, etc).
Not 100% sure, but I think he might have meant in the HOME world you will unlock things, I am pretty sure that with the extra achievements unlocked you will be able to buy items for your HOME world.

Not in the same way as the 360.

When HOME comes out in a few months it's basically a new user interface/second life type world. From launch there will be gaming achievements, but it won't simple be a matter of completing something and earning "points" like on 360 - you will actually earn trophies and bonus features etc. because of it.

And there will be no guarantee that any games will actually support it. Developers don't like extra work.