Dee

melbourne
ok well im probably coming ovre to melbourne at the end of march. and yeah i am looking for a pub to have a bigfooty pub night. and i was thinking of one pub, but its a bit out of the way. So yeah i was wondering if people could put down some suggestions for pubs that r in the city or on the outskirts or are easy to get to, so i can start organising the pub night.

Thanks

Bridies
Prince Of Wales - Unless you want to walk out alive ;)
Elephant & Wheelbarrow
Keepers Arms
Intrepid Fox

Originally posted by PC28
Bridies
Prince Of Wales - Unless you want to walk out alive ;)
Elephant & Wheelbarrow
Keepers Arms
Intrepid Fox

Depends on how many people would attend. I'd suggest Bridie O'Reillys. The Elephant and Wheelbarrow seems a bit small, and it might be awkward to organise a gathering of more tha 10-12 people in the one group. Downstairs gets very cramped, and upstairs you can't really join tables together to get a group atmosphere. Otherwise a very nice pub.

Originally posted by Darky

Depends on how many people would attend. I'd suggest Bridie O'Reillys. The Elephant and Wheelbarrow seems a bit small, and it might be awkward to organise a gathering of more tha 10-12 people in the one group. Downstairs gets very cramped, and upstairs you can't really join tables together to get a group atmosphere. Otherwise a very nice pub.

Agreed on the Elephant & Wheelbarrow, good but not suitable. Bridey's is a better bet they all seem huge but even they can pack out on weekends.

I like the Keepers Arms, very good pub & they only get busy when there's live premier league soccer on.

Originally posted by mantis
Dee
Are you just going for a short holiday, I will be in Melbourne from the middle of April.

DAMN! yeah just for the weekend sandie. i was going over forthe dees family day and stuff. DOH! but yeah i might be over at the end of april for the footy (20th i think) so yeah, but it all depends on work

Bridies is the best of the lot suggested so far but people on the other side of the city might not want to go all the way out to near mount road.Why dont yous just go to a quite bar in the city and kick on from there when people dont care cause they are pissed.;)

Originally posted by dogboy23
Bridies is the best of the lot suggested so far but people on the other side of the city might not want to go all the way out to near mount road.Why dont yous just go to a quite bar in the city and kick on from there when people dont care cause they are pissed.;)

a/ Its not on Mt Rd, its on Sydney Rd

b/ There's more than one Bridies!!!!!

Originally posted by PC28

a/ Its not on Mt Rd, its on Sydney Rd

b/ There's more than one Bridies!!!!!

took the words from me on both points dude.

Bridies in the city i wouldn't think would be great as it aint very big down the bottom and up the top is sectioned into booths.

the brunswick version (place of the carlton incident involving urination and stealing of bottles of alcohol) is probably more suitable, with outdoor area as well as some decent floor space on the sydney road side.

Originally posted by sigscotty

Bridies in the city i wouldn't think would be great as it aint very big down the bottom and up the top is sectioned into booths.

Bridies in the city is shocking!!

Far too small and you can't get pissed, try getting back down those stairs!!!

The one in Sydney Rd is really good, I like the outside area

Originally posted by Dee

DAMN! yeah just for the weekend sandie. i was going over forthe dees family day and stuff. DOH! but yeah i might be over at the end of april for the footy (20th i think) so yeah, but it all depends on work

Are you Greg Matthews in disguise?

Advanced Hair, yeah yeah (yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah)

:D

Hansie :cool:

Good big pub: Esplanade (St Kilda)

Good small pub: Retreat (Collingwood)

Good food pub: Napier (Fitzroy)

Good Irish pub: Dan O'Connell (Carlton)

Good fight pub (so I hear): Rising Sun (Footscray)

Good "pick up" pub: let me know.

Originally posted by Cyclops
Good fight pub (so I hear): Rising Sun (Footscray)

Hehehe.... I used to live a couple of blocks from there, never saw any fights I must say.

The pub was usually frequented by a few blue-collar workers in the evening, mixing in with the derros that live upstairs from the pub.

The bottle shop around the side is a shocker. "6 cans of Carlton Draught please" "Sorry mate ain't got any cold. Only got VB, Crown and Light Ice".

I kid you not, their beer fridge is the size of an ordinary house fridge!

Fight pub in Footscray used to be the Courthouse in Nicholson Street mall. They won't let you in unless you have tattoos on your face, head, neck, hands (love/hate or mum/dad are always good), and those stars tattooed on the ears.... pokies venue now, presumably it's been cleaned up a bit.

Give the Irish and British pubs a miss; they are tacky and full of wannebe Irishman.

I prefer South Melbourne pubs like the Clarendon or the Golden Gate.

The Swan in Richmond is usually reliable for a good hang out. Good crowd, good bands.

Haven't been for a while, but I'm there tonight. We'll see if it still meets the standard or whether the scrubbers have trickled down from the Depot and taken over. :confused:

Originally posted by Dee
ok well lioness and i r working out the list and yeah it could get to about 30. LOL

Probably get to WAY past 30 by the time we're finished. :D

Whenever this is, I have a few requests:
*NO tricky stairs lol

Well okies just ONE request then. :D LOL But it's an important one.