Put it to bed

Clearly Wallace showed he can coach today, inspired the boys to a memorable away win and effectively got across all the things which let us down the last two weeks - lack of hard running (particularly across half forward), too much handball, not clearing the centre with one effective disposal to a moving player.

We played the Wallace gameplan well today and look at the result.

We ran hard to create loose options today and magically, our disposal improved out of sight, we moved the ball at a decent speed and magically, the forward line setup worked. Not because we had crumbers, or because we moved Richo to the wing, but because we gave our forwards a chance to compete one on one without a flooded backline, plus our midfield ran hard to create additional scoring options and support the forwards.

We won't execute as well as we did today every week this year, but today was a very nice taste of things to come.

Could have won by 90+ points if we'd taken more of our chances. That will come with confidence.

Great effort boys, enjoy the win everyone.

It has to be a sustained effort. Not a one week wonder. A great effort today but wallace has been hopeless the last two weeks.

Agree, Will be a good test this week against the Dogs at the Dome. This game plan wont work on that dung heap anywhere near as well as one the expanses of Subi. A good showing here will lift my spirits for teh future no end.

It has to be a sustained effort. Not a one week wonder. A great effort today but wallace has been hopeless the last two weeks.
Agreed IITB. Has to be a week in week out thing.

I dont know what is more amazing.
The fact that the team played to the team plan so well or that IITB and others think that TWs game plan has changed over the last couple of weeks.
Th only real diference is that today the team executed the plan
It does not matter what TW says if they dont do it
Today they did
Simple

Wallace can't go out there and run for them IITB. I bet some weeks he wishes he could.

Today the players played to the gameplan (we haven't the last three weeks) and we looked a class above.

We're not a top-4 side, we're a young learning side hoping to be around the fringe of the finals. If the players don't execute the gameplan well next week or any other, we'll more than likely get beaten.

Many have claimed in recent weeks that Wallace has no gameplan, can't develop players, and that we're a rabble. Today we got the basics right and I think we put all those negative sentiments to bed.

That's not to say we're ready to do it consistently, week in, week out.

Wallace can't go out there and run for them IITB. I bet some weeks he wishes he could.

Today the players played to the gameplan (we haven't the last three weeks) and we looked a class above.

We're not a top-4 side, we're a young learning side hoping to be around the fringe of the finals. If the players don't execute the gameplan well next week or any other, we'll more than likely get beaten.

Many have claimed in recent weeks that Wallace has no gameplan, can't develop players, and that we're a rabble. Today we got the basics right and I think we put all those negative sentiments to bed.

That's not to say we're ready to do it consistently, week in, week out.

Your wisdom is so overwhelming! I am almost in tears.!

Intersting that we played a lot more open forward line with more permanent small Forwards( refer edwards!).

Where we would be without your insights??/

Intersting that we played a lot more open forward line with more permanent small Forwards( refer edwards!).

We played small half forwards, just as we have every other week this year, except today they ran hard, supported the talls, led up the ground well and held the ball up in the Freo backline.

Not one goal could be described as coming directly from a crumbed ball which came off a marking contest, but we desperately need two specialist crumbers, don't we?

I could hear you moaning 'dear oh dear' in your teacup when Reiwoldt, Richo and Polak all flew for the ball 20m out and Polak came down with the mark. Or is that ok because it worked this week?

BTW, should I assume you're not disqualified from commenting on the game because you watched it on TV, or are you posting this from Perth International?

I dont know what is more amazing.
The fact that the team played to the team plan so well or that IITB and others think that TWs game plan has changed over the last couple of weeks.
Th only real diference is that today the team executed the plan
It does not matter what TW says if they dont do it
Today they did
Simple

Today was the game plan we should have had last week. Did Foley and Lids start in the fwd line.

Where do you think all our run came from?

Wallace actually for the first time played our best players in their best positions. (Except for Richo)

Today was the game plan we should have had last week. Did Foley and Lids start in the fwd line.

Where do you think all our run came from?

Wallace actually for the first time played our best players in their best positions. (Except for Richo)
Day full of plusses ... but the biggest for mine was the inclusion of Riewoldt and Edwards ...and more importantly , how they played

For F.U....S Sake Terry

PLAY THE F..KIN KIDS ...

I love Malthouses` philosophy ... if they are on the list , What is the point in hiding them ?

Bar Richo (and the exception of Sugar today) ... our leadership group is the worst in the comp .... what we DESPERATELY need is a truck load of youthful exuberance ... and we got a good dose of it tonight

Day full of plusses ... but the biggest for mine was the inclusion of Riewoldt and Edwards ...and more importantly , how they played

For F.U....S Sake Terry

PLAY THE F..KIN KIDS ...

I love Malthouses` philosophy ... if they are on the list , What is the point in hiding them ?

Bar Richo (and the exception of Sugar today) ... our leadership group is the worst in the comp .... what we DESPERATELY need is a truck load of youthful exuberance ... and we got a good dose of it tonight

Mate, every old timer has been saying it till their flipping blue in the face.

Our biggest criticism of Wallace is that he brings a kid up for a game then drops them back the next.

Riewoldt gave us something different. Looked like he wants to make it in AFL.

Our biggest criticism of Wallace is that he brings a kid up for a game then drops them back the next.

I reckon in the first three rounds this year ... Wallace/selection commitee have made the biggest blue in Wallaces tenure.

HYDE in then out ... Same with Tivendale ....WTF ????

I can half accept losses like last week when the young blokes are playing ...(i said half) ... but when they keep bringing in this deadwood it makes me want to hire a three tonner and head up to the local chook farm ;)

How did the forward line function this week with Petrified on the sidelines ???

Ah yes , we actually had some contributors in there ;)

edwards, white, JR all looked like they want to make their mark and it spread, No doubt about it, Our attack on the Pill was the best I had seen it since i duuno when

the coaching plus that I picked up was that TW changed the setup after last weeks mess, where we found ourselves winning clearances yet never look like scoring...Go figure....Takes Richo out of F50 onto a wing and %^# me , we looked dangerous every time we went inside 50..stick with it..i like it:thumbsu:

No that's right but wallace hasnt helped with his crap matchups and playing players out of position ie King on corey jones, foley in a pocket to begin against collingwood, deledio at ff, etc.

Get the structure right and the rest will flow.:thumbsu:

edwards, white, JR all looked like they want to make their mark and it spread, No doubt about it, Our attack on the Pill was the best I had seen it since i duuno when

Have to agree with that. I cant remember seeing us be so determined at every contest. Not too mention our skills seemed to look ok.

I have one question, Changes V Dogs?

I wonder if Terry has the balls to leave out Bowden and Pettifer?

And I wonder if it would work again.

I think our young fowards in Edwards and Jack and our other young players all played and presented very well, despite conceding height, weight and experience to their opponents. They have the desperation and hunger to make it at AFL level that perhaps those who've already made it, lack.