Questionable Moves?

Add in your own.

- Spencer rucking the whole final quarter whilst clearly struggling with cramp.
- Spencer starting the game at FF.
- Johnson at FB playing on Jack Riewoldt.
- Valenti on Nathan Brown
- Frawley and Warnock playing FF/CHF.
- Dunn taken out of the forward line, back to FB in the last term.
- Newton playing as the loose man in the backline (:eek:)

Jumior Mac , starting the final quarter off the ball , where he was probably BOG..., starting the 4th Qtr on the half back flank.

Johnson at full back on Nathan Brown was a beauty.

Miller in teh ruck was straight out of the top drawer.

...an honourable loss.

When Newton lined up on the wing in the last quater and Miller on the ball i thought oh no the inevitable.
But i liked grimes in the forward line on occasions he had a good prescence.

Footy now is a shit game though, the amount of turnovers through hanpassing the ball.

Can't they just kick the thing.

Do you reckon that if the players reckon that the coaches are tanking that the players will revolt against the coaches?

i know the odd position changes and the talk tanking is fustrating, but i personally feel sorry for richmond fans, as today showed that we should have beaten them twice this year and look like a far superior team going into 2010

Its crap to lose today, but i think we are in a far better position anyway, and thats more appealing than securing draft picks

Genuinely felt a little sick in my stomach and sorry for the players busting their gut to win today after witnessing some horrendously obvious tanking coaching moves.

Most of them have been said already, but Spencer, a raw, gangly ruckman just returning to playing footy in the VFL thrusted into a game as a late replacement for Cale Morton (a midfielder) was baffling alongside Miller in the ruck, (when we had 3 ruckman in Johnson, Spencer and Martin) Newton on the wing and Warnock/Frawley in the forward line.

Say whatever you want to say but we are no better than carlton, i dont give a toss if the fans are hoping for a loss but no coach should ever be that blatantly obvious in trying to lose a game of football. Something I have prided the MFC on is their heart, passion and integrity to go out there and give 100%, but after todays showing (by the coaching staff NOT players) i am truly disgusted. Sure we'll get scully now and probably butcher/trengove/whoever but we have sold our soul and there is no other way to look about it.

Bailey should deeply apologise to our brave boys who fought it out today and would never say die, a grossly negative message has been sent out to the football world today and to hear behind me melbourne supporters cheering when mcmahon had kicked that goal to win the game hurt me deeply.

I am excited to see scully and whoever else in the mfc next year dont get me wrong, but the fact that we sold our soul in a bid to obtain him speaks volumes for the weak as **** character that dean bailey is, pathetic

feel sorry for your players today - the quite obviously wanted to win today, they busted their guts and were the better team.

Their coach and the league let them down today, those "moves" were the most blantant attempt at tanking i have seen yet.

Feel sorry for the supporters as well that bother to turn up - 37,000 people turned up to a game which - in all honesty - one club tried its best to make its players lose. a Scam, supporters of both clubs should feel ripped off

hope your players can get up against north and freo and shove it up the club for trying to humiliate them - this rule has to stop, no one is enjoying this anymore....

they will probably end the lawwhen goldy get in - as they won't want to share the early picks around.... what a horrible competition this is turning in to :(

Thats a bit harsh on Dean Bailey.

Bailey cant win either way, if We lose the PP, then the lot of
fans bagging him out right now for tanking - would be the first
to jump down his throat and bag him about missing out on quality talent,
when you see them dominating for other clubs.

We got done on the siren in unforeseen circumstances.

Dean Bailey is a man of the Melbourne people, he is a man
of the highest intregrity, I applaud Bailey in preparing our
young side into an exciting unit that it is.
Bailey would no doubt be down in the dumps right now, he
tried everything tactically to snatch a win for our ppl.

Chin up Dean, some of us appreciate the hard work you put in.

Also, whoever called Bailey pathetic, you need to have a good
hard look at yourself, this isnt what the great Dean Bailey fans
need to hear after such a shattering loss.

Thats a bit harsh on Dean Bailey.

Bailey cant win either way, if We lose the PP, then the lot of
fans bagging him out right now for tanking - would be the first
to jump down his throat and bag him about missing out on quality talent,
when you see them dominating for other clubs.

We got done on the siren in unforeseen circumstances.

Dean Bailey is a man of the Melbourne people, he is a man
of the highest intregrity, I applaud Bailey in preparing our
young side into an exciting unit that it is.
Bailey would no doubt be down in the dumps right now, he
tried everything tactically to snatch a win for our ppl.

Chin up Dean, some of us appreciate the hard work you put in.

Also, whoever called Bailey pathetic, you need to have a good
hard look at yourself, this isnt what the great Dean Bailey fans
need to hear after such a shattering loss.

yeah Dean looked shattered - he fricking walked out of the box with 16 seconds left with the ball deep in the forward line of the opposition....

he says he left with 6 seconds left - their was plenty more than that left, what coach doesn;t even know how long is left like that??

was a weird performance indeed.

yeah Dean looked shattered - he fricking walked out of the box with 16 seconds left with the ball deep in the forward line of the opposition....

he says he left with 6 seconds left - their was plenty more than that left, what coach doesn;t even know how long is left like that??

was a weird performance indeed.

I saw the post match interview, Bailey clearly thought we had
won, he was going down to celebrate with the boys, only
to have the heart ripped out of him when the game taken
a turn for the worst.

The great Dean Bailey will go back to the drawing board and make
the neccessary changes to the team in order to conjure up a win
against the gritty Kangas.

Knowone gave us a chance today, but Bailey - being the tactical
genius that he is, nearly pulled off the unimaginable.

I saw the post match interview, Bailey clearly thought we had
won, he was going down to celebrate with the boys, only
to have the heart ripped out of him when the game taken
a turn for the worst.

The great Dean Bailey will go back to the drawing board and make
the neccessary changes to the team in order to conjure up a win
against the gritty Kangas.

Knowone gave us a chance today, but Bailey - being the tactical
genius that he is, nearly pulled off the unimaginable.
Love the username GG, although I hope Grinter isn't dead yet! I also love the positivity, some moves were crazy, but if we win the game Bailey is a tactical genius who beat a team who had knocked off Essendon the week before, with half a VFL team at his disposal.

People need to get over feeling sorry for the players because they 'busted their gut'.

They will be fine, they're big boys, who get paid lots of money. They have been loosing all year, 1 or 2 more loses won't hurt them. Yes they would be disappointed but just like many Melbourne supporters they would see the silver lining (no1 draft pick). They will also be well aware of the many good players missing from the team and be extremely positive in the direction the club is heading.

Love the username GG, although I hope Grinter isn't dead yet! I also love the positivity, some moves were crazy, but if we win the game Bailey is a tactical genius who beat a team who had knocked off Essendon the week before, with half a VFL team at his disposal.

Thanks mate.

I'm new to the forum, Im actually quite appalled by the
accusations flying around at our great coach.

This is a man who brang us within a goal of knocking off
the Bulldogs - prior to their last minute loss against Geelong!

It was the brilliance of Bailey that conjured up a rather dominant
win over Port Adelaide a few weeks back (do I need to remind
anyone who Port Adelaide beat today? HAWKS!!!!)

The brilliance of Bailey was on display again last week, when we
out played Sydney on their home turf, only to just fall short..
Sydney are no push overs, baring a few bad calls, they beat
the ladder leaders last night.

Then, in possibly the Great mans best performance yet, Bailey
puts on a tactical display for the ages, a coaching clinic, prompting
even the opposition coach to praise such masterful moves, moves
which had us in front with all but a milli-second to go.

Dean Bailey 'The Great' should be applauded for his efforts, instead
he is being accused of tanking - a term which tarnishes our
great club.
After all 'The Great' has done this year, he deserves better than this.

Add in your own.

- Spencer rucking the whole final quarter whilst clearly struggling with cramp.
- Spencer starting the game at FF.
- Johnson at FB playing on Jack Riewoldt.
- Valenti on Nathan Brown
- Frawley and Warnock playing FF/CHF.
- Dunn taken out of the forward line, back to FB in the last term.
- Newton playing as the loose man in the backline (:eek:)
Yes, very questionable.. My family and I were there today as we are everyweek, and although we did not want to win, we have decided as a family not to attend anymore games this season. As most of us would agree, it is a horrible feeling going to the football as a die hard Melbourne supporter and not fully supporting you team. I've never felt so ashamed when jordie was lining up for goal and i was hoping he would kick it!! Yes i do believe that losing is the best thing for the club, but i as a supporter, i cannot attend games and not support Melbourne.

Thanks mate.

I'm new to the forum, Im actually quite appalled by the accusations flying around at our great coach.

This is a man who brang us within a goal of knocking off the Bulldogs - prior to their last minute loss against Geelong!

It was the brilliance of Bailey that conjured up a rather dominant win over Port Adelaide a few weeks back (do I need to remind anyone who Port Adelaide beat today? HAWKS!!!!)

Definitely plenty of good points in your post there Rodney ;)

Well said mate...

If we were tanking Bailey should of kept Warnock down back on Morton! :p