rain, storms, anything could happen

Guys im shipping myself. All I read is confidence, well play heaps better then the last 2 weeks, Pies on top, pies flag. It’s scaring the crap out of me. Last Wednesday Thursday I was happy as and confident we would easily win. Now what? If we run out tonight and there is 50 mm of rain on the ground and it is pissing down chooks and ducks it will be 50-50 who wins. The score could be 4 goals 5 behinds bulldogs to 2 goals 55 behinds pies. Can anyone give me any positives? I recon it does not mean crap if you’re the best team all year once the rain comes in anything can happen:(

i actually think the rain will stop by lunch today, hopefully all the wind will dry most of the water up buy the start of the game!! I think the wind will be more of an issue though, its blowing a megan gale out there now!!

10 goals might win it

We've still got the class advantage. Our best possible side has been named tonight, while the Dogs are undermanned and underdone. They've gotta play in the conditions too. If it's as windy and rainy as I've read it will be then it's much more likely either side could 'steal' the win in a low scoring game with a quick burst, but hopefully the boys are switched on and won't allow that to happen.

Don't know what you guys are worried about.

This is a Doggies side minus a fair bit of it's class. We're playing a few of our "depth" players. Injuries have beaten us.

Couldn't possibly win...

i actually think the rain will stop by lunch today,
The rain will stop by lunch.

Damn I hope you are right, and the BOM are wrong;

http://www.bom.gov.au/vic/forecasts/melbourne.shtml

Forecast for the rest of Saturday

Cloudy. Areas of rain, easing to showers around midday. The chance of thunderstorms from midday. Winds north to northeasterly averaging up to 55 km/h tending northerly up to 65 km/h during the morning then tending northwesterly 50 to 55 km/h by early evening.

Anyway you read that, IT DOESN'T LOOK GOOD.:eek:

I will guarantee a victory if we kick 55 behinds.

There, I said it.

Also, looking at the satellite images, it looks like the clouds might blow over by the time of the game - Here's hoping.

Am I the only one that thinks rain plays into our hands? We aren't a free flowing, risk taking, modern day corridor attacking team. We play the percentages, rely on solid structures, love a scrap and trust in everyone to do their bit. We demand constant pressure and harassment of the ball carrier to push the play our way where we usually force through unconventional/unattractive goals more often than not.
That's a side that is unaffected by wet weather footy IMO, or certainly more-so than some other teams, specifically the Western Bulldogs who rely on fast, clean movement of the ball.

If it's a real slog in the wet, it wouldn't surprise me if the Dogs have a lot of trouble trying to break through our press. We've traditionally only seen it beaten when sides move the ball long, quick and precisely. Doubt there'll be much of that if it's a heavy track.

That's just how I see it.

Rain, no rain who cares. We will have the better team out there tonight, Dogs are undermanned big time. Should win easily. If the Bulldogs had their full team it would be different but they don't and they won't win.

And for what its worth, the BOM have beat this "10 year storm" up big time like every other prediction they make.

So it's Luke Ball Weather;)
And Steele Sidebottom weather.;)

And Jarryd Blair weather.;)

And Dale Thomas weather.;)

And Nick Maxwell weather.;)

And Heath Shaw weather.;)

I think you get the point, we have plenty of wet weather players, who could almost be called "wet track specialists", even though they are still good in the dry, they are better in the wet.

If you're underdone, running on a surface that is wet & heavy is almost impossible. This applies to Higgins, Johnson, Lake, etc, etc.

Could the match be delayed if there is lighting.. Never seen it happen but prediction are tonight for some wild weather!!

g:\word\lightning policy\lightining policy 07 (match day playing).doc
(ii) Match Day/Training
Increased awareness of lightning risk should continue on the match day until
the activity has finished.
If the threat continues into game day the Match Day Manager should
contact or meet the Ground Manager to discuss the situation.
They should check the BOM website then contact the Duty Forecaster
at the relevant BOM to determine the situation.
The competing AFL Club Football Managers should be contacted in
order to explain the situation to them.
Regular updates must be sought from the BOM in the period leading
up to the match commencement time, involving the Ground Manager,
competing Clubs and an umpire.
-2-

Teams and officials should proceed to the venue unless otherwise
directed.
If lightning is predicted within no less than 10km of the match venue at
the scheduled starting time the game commencement time may be
delayed by up to 60 minutes.
This decision to delay or suspend play as well as resume play will
be based on information obtained from the BOM. The General
Manager – Football Operations must be contacted to discuss, the
Match Day Manager, Ground Operations Manager, Club
representatives and an Umpire will be involved.

Seeing as lightning never really seems to "hang around" one area for too long, I'd say that at worst, the game would be delayed by an hour.

If that happens, it's an hour long singalong for mine, "Good Old Collingwood Forever" sung loud for an hour.

Anyone think Medhurst may play and we drop a tall given the conditions?
People have been asking this for days, and I can't see it happening.

Who would he come in for? The candidates are;

* Dawes, our best defensive forward over the past month, who if anything, plays better in wet weather.
* Cloke; **** NO.
* Jolly; **** NO.
* Leeroy; If you want to tell him, sure.:o
* N.Brown; Who plays on Minson, Hudson when they rest forward, not Leeroy, we want him up forward.

I just can't see an option to being him in for any "tall".

We picked the side on Thursday, fully knowing it was going to be wet, so I can't see any late "strategic" changes.

The score could be 4 goals 5 behinds bulldogs to 2 goals 55 behinds pies. Can anyone give me any positives?

4 goals 5 is 29 points
2 goals 55 is 67 points

This is a 38 point win. I think this is positive.

You do know 67>29 don't you....or do you subscribe to the "losing tonight is better because it gives us the easier run" Magazine? :confused:

People have been asking this for days, and I can't see it happening.

Who would he come in for? The candidates are;

* Dawes, our best defensive forward over the past month, who if anything, plays better in wet weather.
* Cloke; **** NO.
* Jolly; **** NO.
* Leeroy; If you want to tell him, sure.:o
* N.Brown; Who plays on Minson, Hudson when they rest forward, not Leeroy, we want him up forward.

I just can't see an option to being him in for any "tall".

We picked the side on Thursday, fully knowing it was going to be wet, so I can't see any late "strategic" changes.

Fair enough then, makes sense.

I'm hearing and seeing that it is likely to be windy rather than raining tonight. If so all of Clokes errant kicks for points are going to swing in for goals. He's a chance to kick 10 goals tonight. :D